We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of interesting artifacts”

Museum of Native American History
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Bentonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Native American History invites you to "Walk Through America's Past," where we will give you a glimpse into what life was like for America's first inhabitants. The museum is divided into five different time periods that will guide you through the constantly changing lives of the Native Americans, as seen through their artifacts . Our displays feature relics that date from over 14,000 years old to historic times. Come visit our museum and enjoy seeing some of the finest treasures ever created by early craftsmen.Schools and groups are welcomed, call to make reservations. Handicap Accessible
Huntsville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lots of interesting artifacts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visited with my parents, making a group with ages from 1-70, and everybody enjoyed it and found something of interest. We were surprised to learn that the new mammoth skeleton in the lobby is made of actual fossilized bones, not replicas. The ancient history segments have a minimum amount of evolutionary theory, and are updated with recent information on DNA studies. The arrowhead hunt was a nice added bonus. The bathrooms are very nice and there is a water cooler for refreshment. The gift shop offers many unique and handmade items as well as interesting books on a variety of topics.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaOlivePlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Mama Olive Plant,

Thank you for writing us such a lovely review. It may not seem like much, but word-of-mouth is still our best form of advertising, and online review such as with TripAdvisor really do help. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    91
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I visited this museum in August 2013. What a pleasant surprise it was! So many beautiful artifacts in every gallery! Well-organized with informative narratives on each display! I spent about 2 hours enjoying this museum and look forward to another visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Sharon C.,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. As I always tell people, it may not seem like much, but these TripAdvisor reviews really do help us get the word out about out little (big!) museum. If you're ever in the area again, keep in mind that we are always adding to the exhibits, so there's something new to see each time you visit.

Thanks again,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Museum of Native American History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have visited this amazing Native American museum three times. The artifacts are beautifully displayed and clearly identified. The museum houses a large collection of pre-colombian artifacts to present day items. The management is friendly and available to answer questions at length. It is always a pleasant and informative experience to visit the Museum of Native American History. It is a must see when visiting Bentonville, AR.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Aurora B,

A three-time visitor! We're so glad to hear from you and to know that you enjoy visiting us so much! And your review reemphasizes what I tell people: that we are always acquiring new and exciting exhibits, so there's something new to enjoy each time you visit.

Looking forward to seeing you again,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I have been visiting Rogers every summer for the past ten years. We have driven by the large tee-pee in front of the museum many times but had no idea why it was there. Last summer Crystal Bridges did a book talk on "Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis" which I thoroughly enjoyed. After reading the book, and doing a Google search, I was thrilled to learn that there was a museum nearby with Native American artifacts and a few of Curtis' photographs. What a delightful find. Since our first visit, we've gone back twice to take other visitors. The museum is FREE, but you can make a donation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmdlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear cmdlow,

We're glad to hear that you finally stopped in! We hear that a lot from locals; any good excuse to bring you in is a good excuse. You're right that we are one of the only museums in the area to display Edward S Curtis prints, and we're a great place to view them. Thank you for bringing your visitors by, and we look forward to having you visit again!

Best Wishes,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TULSA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden jewell of a museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

A surprising well done and friendly museum hiding in Bentonville. Crystal Bridges gets all the attention, but this Native American Museum is very well done, educational and friendly to visit. It is off the beaten path, you have to know to look for it, but it well worth the effort.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Robert S.,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review for our museum. You're right that we're "off the main drag" in town, but we are working hard to be better known and easier to locate in town. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again next time you're in Bentonville.

Best Wishes,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Native American History also viewed

 
Bentonville, AR
Bentonville, AR
 

Been to Museum of Native American History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing