We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Displays”

Museum of Native American History
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Bentonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Native American History invites you to "Walk Through America's Past," where we will give you a glimpse into what life was like for America's first inhabitants. The museum is divided into five different time periods that will guide you through the constantly changing lives of the Native Americans, as seen through their artifacts . Our displays feature relics that date from over 14,000 years old to historic times. Come visit our museum and enjoy seeing some of the finest treasures ever created by early craftsmen.Schools and groups are welcomed, call to make reservations. Handicap Accessible
Arkansas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Displays”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This museum was included as one of the sites to visit during the 2013 Arkansas State Master Gardener Conference in Rogers. We hadn't heard of this museum so we didn't know what to expect. One of us is really into Indian artifacts and the other isn't. However, both of us thought this museum was excellent. The displays are just excellent. The audio tour is very interesting. It is self paced so you can spend as much or little time as you wish. Not only is there no charge to visit the museum but the audio tour is free as well. We highly recommend you include this museum when planning a trip to the NW Arkansas area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 50StateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear 50StateTravelers,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. That Gardner's Convention was so busy, I know you must have seen so many things during your stay in NWA, that's why I wanted to make a point of thank you for sharing your thoughts about our museum. We're so glad to hear that you and your friends all enjoyed your visit, and I hope you had a wonderful Conference.

Best wishes,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    91
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“highlight of our Bentonville trip”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

we thought this would be a quick stop but we stayed 2 1/2 hours. fascinating information presented clearly. self paced with hand held audio guide. beautiful building, comfortable. As a school librarian I hope lots of students will benefit from a visit. it is completely free. what a gift to all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbaraFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear barbaraFortWorth,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review. We're so glad to hear that your enjoyed your visit so much. In fact, we do get many school groups who visit so the teachers are able to make it quite an educational experience.

All the best,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Some museums you wonder why you went in when there is nothing of interest. This one is exceptional in the quality and variety of its contents. Yes - there may be a surfeit of arrowheads - who knew there were so many different kinds!? - but there is plenty more to keep you interested. It is well laid out and should keep you busy for a while. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pacuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear pacuthbertson,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our museum. It may not seem like a lot, but we do appreciate it. Thank you as well for your kind praise. We're glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves, and you're always welcome back any time you may find yourself in Arkansas in the future.

All the best,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good historical insight”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was very interesting, being from abroad, to follow the history of the Native Americans. There was enough to see and absorb and the staff were very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pictureseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Indian Museums”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I grew up in So Dak and have been interested in the American Indian culture for a long time. I have been to many Indian museums and the one in Bentonville is the best I have seen. It has the biggest collection of artifacts: pottery, arrow heads. stone knives and tools, etc. They are very well organized and presented.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeB750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear LeeB750,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our museum. For someone with experience with studying Native American culture, it means a lot to us to hear such praise. You are always welcome back and we hope to see you again some day.

All the Best,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Native American History also viewed

 
Bentonville, AR
Bentonville, AR
 

Been to Museum of Native American History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing