We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Museums”

Museum of Native American History
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Bentonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Native American History invites you to "Walk Through America's Past," where we will give you a glimpse into what life was like for America's first inhabitants. The museum is divided into five different time periods that will guide you through the constantly changing lives of the Native Americans, as seen through their artifacts . Our displays feature relics that date from over 14,000 years old to historic times. Come visit our museum and enjoy seeing some of the finest treasures ever created by early craftsmen.Schools and groups are welcomed, call to make reservations. Handicap Accessible
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I grew up in So Dak and have been interested in the American Indian culture for a long time. I have been to many Indian museums and the one in Bentonville is the best I have seen. It has the biggest collection of artifacts: pottery, arrow heads. stone knives and tools, etc. They are very well organized and presented.

Thank LeeB750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear LeeB750,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our museum. For someone with experience with studying Native American culture, it means a lot to us to hear such praise. You are always welcome back and we hope to see you again some day.

All the Best,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"arrow heads"
in 49 reviews
"indian artifacts"
in 27 reviews
"head dresses"
in 17 reviews
"crystal bridges"
in 71 reviews
"extensive collection"
in 24 reviews
"projectile points"
in 14 reviews
"central america"
in 9 reviews
"great collection"
in 24 reviews
"audio tour"
in 30 reviews
"private collection"
in 10 reviews
"all ages"
in 38 reviews
"gift shop"
in 43 reviews
"free admission"
in 21 reviews
"own pace"
in 16 reviews
"no charge"
in 15 reviews
"on display"
in 22 reviews
"chronological order"
in 9 reviews
Filter

631 - 635 of 855 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

After a visit of the Norman Rockwell exhibit at Crystal Bridges, we were looking for something to burn a few minutes and happened upon this fantastic find! But plan to spend a few hours, not minutes, as this is the best Indian museum I have visited, including those "out West"! Everything from the museum design to the awesome collections--arrowheads, tools, pottery, weapons, clothing, etc, etc--all in wonderful condition and professionally displayed! I say go here first, and if you have time, see Crystal Bridges (also awesome!)

Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Tom A,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and thank you again for your kind words. We're so glad to hear that you had such a great time at our museum as well as here in Bentonville. Perhaps we'll see you again some day, you're always welcome back.

All the Best,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just a great experience from the time you park your car to the time you walk back outside. Tons to take in, rare artifacts you won't see anywhere else, great gift shop, great architecture on the building. It was a 100% awesome experience to come here.

Thank Jonno N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Jono N,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It really is helpful as a way for us to get the word out about our museum. We also want to thank you for all of your kind praise, it means a lot to the entire staff to know that all the work we put into it is appreciated.

All the Best,

Stephanie Brown
Director
MONAH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A well displayed, broad range of Indian artifacts, would recommend as a good history lesson for children of all ages. Free admission but small contributions welcome on the way out.

Thank Soxgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Short films explaining eras, loads of artifacts to see and self-guide tour wands for went you want to know more about a display, just punch in the number. Went through pretty quickly, it was our first stop after 3 hr drive and kids had too much pent up energy.

Thank Stef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monah202, Manager at Museum of Native American History, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Stef M,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I know it doesn't seem like a lot, but it really does help us get the word out. It's too bad you didn't get to spend more time with us, but we can understand how small kids can be after a long time in the car. Maybe we'll get the opportunity to see you again some day if you ever find yourself back in Bentonville.

Thanks again and Best Wishes,

Stephanie Brown
Director
Museum of Native American History

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Native American History also viewed

 
Bentonville, AR
Bentonville, AR
 

Been to Museum of Native American History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing