We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go For The Pie”
Review of Ed & Kay's Restaurant - CLOSED

Ed & Kay's Restaurant
Restaurant details
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go For The Pie”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stopped for Sunday lunch on the recommendation of the Stern's Road Food. Beat the after church crowd so it wasn't too busy. The food was good and ample. The potato salad was especially notable. Although the meringue pies are over the top, we had PCP (pecan, pineapple, and coconut) and apple. By far, the PCP was the best. Good, friendly service and we met Kay who was greeting her customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau, Missouri USA
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home-made PIES and plate lunches”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wonderful home-made eating! Their PCP pie is our favorite -- pineapple, coconut, pecan. Can't leave it to try their famous meringue pies. Many home-cooked vegetables on their plate lunches. A rare place to find home-cooking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WayneMcPherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Juliet, TN
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Try The PCP Pie. Seriously.”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My mother moved to an assisted-living facility in Benton recently and we heard about Ed & Kay's from some local friends. You know how sometimes a place will LOOK like it has real home cooking, only to disappoint you when the food arrives? You will NOT be disappointed here. They have a huge number of menu items, the portions are large, and it really does taste like mom made it. They are famous for the height of the meringue on their pies, but my new all-time favorite is the PCP pie. That stands for Pineapple, Coconut, and Pecan. I will never visit Benton again without stopping by for at least one slice!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lightbreadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Our new favorite place in Benton”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our first time will not be our last. Ed and Kay's has great food and pleasant atmosphere and what can I say about the pies that haven't already been said. Hubby had a cheese steak which he thoroughly enjoyed. I had the chicken fried steak with fried okra and cream corn. It was just like my Mother used to make. We split a coconut pie and I KNEW my Mother was in the kitchen then! Only negative was the jalepeno cornbread which was a little dry. All in all, a great place to eat

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JVLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great home cooking and pies!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Great home country style cooking. Food is always fresh and the people there are great! The pies are out of this world amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VETJET1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing