We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chicken-fried steak and more!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ed & Kay's Restaurant - CLOSED

Ed & Kay's Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Heartland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great chicken-fried steak and more!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

There's nothing fancy or pretentious about the place, but the food is very good Southern cooking, and the staff and service were great. I had the chicken-fried steak with cream gravy, green beans, fried smashed red potatoes and cornbread. My sister had the breaded pork tenderloin and loved it too. The servings were large enough that we just got my 85-year-old mother an extra plate and shared our food with her. (Yes, they allowed this, which some places won't.) We also shared a good-sized slice of lemon pie with the gigantic meringue topping. My first choice was the coconut cream, but they were already out of it as well as the chocolate cream.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The food was very good. Portions are huge. The biscuits are very big and tasty. The outside of the building could use some attention, but like they say, "Don't judge a book by its cover."

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, AR
Level Contributor
114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“GROSS!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Some of the worst food I've ever had. The pancakes tasted like they had some kind of chemicals in them.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bev_cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfort Food for the Weary Traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This restaurant has been in the same location for 35+ years. This is a hometown restaurant with momma's cooking! Pan fried potatoes, chicken fried steak, and homemade pies (the coconut pie has meringue that is no less than 6 inches tall) . Exit 116 on I-30, Benton, Arkansas for a meal that will last you for miles.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caddo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
340 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“wholesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a fun diner with good food and great pies. The lunch specials are good, the burgers are good. and the pie is so pretty. Really a good place to go eat, the atmosphere is relaxed and you can enjoy your food there.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkipCoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed & Kay's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing