We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BW Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent two evenings at the Coronada, the room was clean but smaller than most of the BW hotels we have stayed in. There is a pool and a deck to enjoy right outside your room. We were across the street from the office. The restaurant across the street that provides breakfast is very good and the staff was very friendly. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The house keeping staff had flair to make animals of all shapes made from towels; it was fun to see what they came up with each day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the folding of the towels, they try to make your stay a memorable one. Looking forward to your next visit. Thanks for choosing Best Western for your travel needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 316 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is in old town and has the look and character feeling of years past. It is very spread out, but once you are settled in, all is well. It was clean but lacked upgrading in some areas. A free breakfast is always appreciated, and the friendly staff at the restaurant made for an interesting visit. Picture of years past with a bit of history, gave opportunity for stories from the locals.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet area to get away fro restaurant and highway noise
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks you for staying with us, we really appreciate your business. I'm glad you like the history. I truly sorry our hotel museum was closed during your stay, for renovations. It's almost completed so maybe on your next visit, I'll give you a personal tour. See you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Front desk was polite. The hotel is divided in three sections wich was a little uncomfortable because you had to walk across the street to reach the lobby. From the moment I walk in, the first thing I noticed was that it did not have a chemical, stored old smell. The room was very clean it gave me a feeling of a five star hotel! Everything felt fancy :) the bed was comfortable and did not have your typical hotel comfort. The room had a couch wich seemed new with everything else. Clean work station, microwave and fridge. The best part was the complimentary breakfast the hotel offers. Breakfast is offered across the hotel in a dinner, wich the hotel provides with vouchers. Awesome breakfast! The voucher offers cold or hot breakfast, cold cones with cereal juice and hot breakfast offers two eggs any style, hash brown, toast, bacon or sausage! Unlimited coffee or tea... I would recommend this hotel for allll business travelers and or vacation stays.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YJMVelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel. You had one of our many suites. We have 5 different kinds of suites. Maybe on your next visit ask the front desk at check in. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A friendly and comfortable motel, conveniently close to the old downtown. A little worn, but a nice warm atmosphere. Beds and room comfortable, service helpful and prompt. Very nice to be in a hotel with character that's not an anonymous part of a big chain. Free breakfast was fine, not wonderful. A fast meal if you want to head out without delay to San Diego or Tucson.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review. The breakfast is a cooked to order breakfast. I'm sorry it was not to liking. Maybe next time maybe change the way we cook your eggs. We have nine different ways your eggs can be served.. Or our home made oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins is one of my favorites. See you next time you come to Yuma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Never been a fan of the US motel style hotels but this was nice and clean and spead over a large area. A bit confusing as there are sites at both sides of the road. The room was fine and clean. Restaurant is down the street and excellent

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for staying with us We appreciate your business and looking forward to your next visit to Yuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Check in was slow and I was the only person in the lobby, check out was quick. The property is in an older part of Yuma. It is spread out across the street and such. You get a complimentary breakfast coupon for "The Landing" which I used. Breakfast was OK but it was free so to speak so no complaints. Back to the hotel, the exterior reminded me of the Bates Motel. This was just an observation and I don't mean to be negative. The room was spacious and there was a flat screen TV. The windows are very old and don't feel safe. Each room has a rod iron chair and table outside the front door which is a nice place to sit and mingle with other guests. The proximity to the road and bad windows contribute to the room being loud/noisy. Everything else about the motel not hotel was average. I am not sure about the area yet as there was a bum that walked by and a large intimidating man that appeared to have no purpose on the property that sort of sneaked up on me. This review comes across as negative but my stay was overall very pleasant. I would stay here again for $75 or less.

Room Tip: Can't think of any tips for this property.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fakapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Looking forward to your return to Yuma. We have made a alot of changes in the recent month so waiting for your comments on your next visit to the Best Western Coronado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently took a trip to Yuma and were looking forward to staying at the Best Western Coronado hotel in the historic district of town. The hotel is touted as a charming, historical property with beautiful landscaping and upgraded rooms.
Generally it was a disappointment, despite the welcoming and friendly front desk staff. In actual fact, it is a very basic motel on a busy street. There have been some attempt to upgrade the beds and the TV, but the kitchenette units and bathrooms are needing attention in both modernization and in cleanliness. There was a very small swimming pool surrounded by concrete with no landscaping. The sound of traffic was audible day and night, and the back window of our unit looked out on a blank wall.
A full breakfast was included in a neighboring restaurant, which was nice, but the bar in this restaurant was also an off track betting establishment, which did not entice us to patronize it the remainder of the day. No other restaurants are within walking distance.
Staying in the historic area of Yuma does not offer much for the tourist. There have been an attempt to revitalize the downtown, but with little success to this point, since many properties are vacant, and people are not around, especially in the evening. This establishment was at best 2 star in our experience, and should not be represented as 3+ stars. We would not stay here again, and were surprised that the Best Western logo did not provide us with the service and accommodation we are accustomed to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shimmerlinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your stay. Sorry we did stand up to your expectations. We have been renovating the hotel for the past several months, We are almost completed so please return and give us a second chance to show you the changes.We appreciate your business and looking forward to your return to Best Western.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yuma hotels
2.0 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#1 of 33 in Yuma
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point
1.9 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma

Address: 233 S 4th Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364-2231 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Yuma
#8 Business Hotel in Yuma
#10 Family Hotel in Yuma
Price Range: $92 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Yuma hotel - newly renovated, close to Colorado River, Mexico and California border. The historic Coronado Motor Hotel is near the Imperial Sand Dunes, the Yuma Territorial Prison, the Federal East and West Wetland Area and the Yuma Crossing National Heritage Area, Yuma Crossing State Park, St. Thomas Mission, and Lake Martinez are also conveniently nearby. Hotel is 5 miles to Yuma International Airport and 10 minutes to Marine Corp. Air Station, 25 minutes to Yuma Army Proving Grounds. Hotel offers government rate year round and last room availability. Affordable guest rooms are newly remodeled and equipped with refrigerator, microwave, flat screen cable television with HBO and free hard wired and wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast. Amenities include 2 outdoor swimming pools, hot tub, fitness center, 3 guest laundries, and 2 full-service business centers. The hotel also boasts an onsite cocktail lounge, the Hanger Sports Bar, an Espresso Bar, and dining room Pets are welcome for a small fee. Business travelers will appreciate the hotel's proximity to the Yuma County Courthouse, the Boeing Training Station, the Bose Factory, Dole Food and the Marine Corps Base. For superior customer service and a convenient location, make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yuma
Yuma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing