We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, good price”
Review of Yuma Cabana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yuma Cabana Motel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed at the Yuma Cabana over New Years Eve. We chose the hotel based primarily on good reviews on the site and the sheer fabulosity of the "Yuma Cabana" sign. The first thing I noticed is that the grounds are well kept and the reception area is well presented. This appears to be an independently owned operation and there are certainly advantages to this as everyone who worked there during our stay was very professional and helpful, especially Richard at the front desk. We were given a spacious quiet room with a large private balcony. Everything in the room was of top quality and we especially appreciated the fridge, microwave, and free DSL (wired). On top of all this the outdoor pool was heated to 85 degrees!

Stayed: December 2006
12  Thank mmmvelour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 111 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2006

If the rates weren't so cheap, I would have given this hotel an even worse rating. I think my expecations were perhaps too high after reading all the great reviews on this site. I've never been to Yuma before, so I don't know what the rest of the hotels were like, but we were quite dissapointed. First the good - the staff was really nice. The room was clean.

BUT, for starters, there was some confusion about the status of our room when we checked in - I thought we had signed up for a king room, were given different rates by the front desk staff than quoted on the phone - which they fixed - they lowered the rate, but clearly they lowered our room too, as we got a single queen room on the bottom floor not on the pool side, instead of a deluxe king room as we were promised on the phone (and given the same rate rate for.)

Also on the "bad" list: this hotel had EXTREMELLY thin walls. I could hear every conversation that went on in the hallway outside our room, and even some outside the hotel in general, I think. And I'm a heavy sleeper - if you sleep lightly, bring your earplugs. And bring your own shampoo, conditioner, b/c they only offer shampoo and conditioner in one, in a wallunit no less. And you might want to bring your own towels if you have sensitive skin - our towels/washcloths/etc REEKED of bleach. I'm not usually fussy about furniture, etc in hotels, as long as things are clean, but the 'decor' in our room was laughable.

All in all- we will NOT be going back to Yuma or the Yuma Cabana anytime soon. But - side note - if you do find yourself in Yuma, def go to the Texas Roadhouse for dinner - GREAT meal at an extremely reasonable price!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank janfrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2006

They care!!!!
As a result of my critique of the Yuma Cabana, I received a personal letter in the mail from the owner Melissa Crawford. In the letter she apologized for the issues we had with the carpet in our room and described a fix to insure there wouldn’t be a reoccurrence. I was impressed that I not only received a response. I was impressed that they cared enough to send me a personal letter. YOU WON’T FIND THAT FROM A CHAIN HOTEL/MOTEL! Ms. Crawford also indicated that her personal contact number is now in all the rooms to insure full and complete satisfaction for all their guests. I feel the letter was sincere and the Yuma Cabana’s management is serious about their commitment to their guests. Although I can’t pull my original critique, I don’t feel there will be the same issues at my next visit to the Yuma Cabana...which there will be. I would be delighted to spend my next vacation there and I recommend their establishment.

Roy

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rclymer638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2006

We went to have dental work done in Algodones, Mexico. This motel has the most reasonable rates in Yuma (my opinion). Yeah, its an oldie .. but the fridge in the room worked great, the AM coffee was free, the security appropriate, the housekeeping staff smiled and returned one's greeting of "Good Morning!" which to me means that management takes care of their employees. Its close to I-8 and many eateries. Will stay here again next trip. If you require that fresh paint odor, the chemical scent of new carpets and replace your washing machine annually, you may not like this motel. I'm almost 60 and I think its cool!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RustyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

This hotel is centrally located. There are several restaurants and fast food establishments within walking distance. Grocery store is a block away. And there is a gym next door. It's clean. It's quiet and it's affordable. Rooms on the bottom floor facing inside have sliding glass doors for easy access to your car and the pool. The continental breakfast is a prepackaged pastry but JB's Restaurant is accross the street. Other hotels at this price are shabby but not the Yuma Cabana.

BTW: I'm a local who has used this place as a "getaway" sometimes in the summer. I crank up the A/C then relax by the pool :)

  • Stayed: July 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Desertkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2005

For a quick overnight stop in Yuma, you cannot go wrong with this motel. The rooms are very large and the interior walls are brick, so you won't hear noises. Access to the rooms if via a central hallway, not a parking lot, which also seems to keep the room quiet. Each room has its own mini-refrigerator that can be plugged in if needed. The air-conditioning cools the entire room and doesn't blast a vent onto the beds. The staff will point you to Burgers and Beer for a fantastic breakfast, lunch or dinner. I bought a t-shirt to commemorate my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank BisbeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2005

This hotel is the least expensive hotel that I have ever stayed at. If you need something below 50$ and want it clean, without worrying about your safety, and need a microwave, fridge, pool, and internet access then this is the place. Dog friendly establishment with a low fee of 6$.

17  Thank AZhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yuma hotels
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Yuma
1.3 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 33 in Yuma
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Friendship Inn Torch Lite Lodge
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Yuma
Super 8 Yuma
#31 of 33 in Yuma
265 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel 6 Yuma East
Motel 6 Yuma East
#26 of 33 in Yuma
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuma Cabana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuma Cabana Motel

Address: 2151 S 4th Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364-6433
Location: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Price Range: $40 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yuma Cabana Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on a main strip in Yuma, away from freeway congestion, the Yuma Cabana Motel offers a price for value that simply cannot be beat. Perhaps the top independently owned property in Yuma, the Yuma Cabana offers 63 large, 100% non-smoking rooms that are constantly upgraded to keep a fresh and modern feel. Here's some of what we offer: Personalized customer service, rated two diamond from AAA, free HBO, free high speed internet, free continental breakfast, hairdryers, eco-friendly saltwater swimming pool, refrigerators, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yuma Cabana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuma Cabana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing