We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoping for Improvement”
Review of The Standard - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Standard
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
YUMA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hoping for Improvement”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Like other reviews have said, service is a serious problem here. Lovely space but at night, coming in, you can't tell if the restaurant is even open. No one at desk, waited several minutes before I saw another soul.
Steak salad was fine. Calamari app was a bit chewy but good. French dip sandwich--the most basic thing on earth--was just bad. Never brought au jus even.
I won't be back and probably would steer others away.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
440 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Geocaching Event Party”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

2/8/2014

Very nice new restaurant. The food was very good, atmosphere nice.

Some of us were thinking that the food was pretty pricey.
According to the Geocaching log page about 212 people showed up for this Event dinner. I would not recommend having another event dinner there. $$

Cap & Virginia

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“There's better!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean interior. Service?? What service? Sat at the bar for 3 1/2 hrs and was asked twice if I wanted anything. Received my good order and had to wait 15 min for ketchup. REDICULIOUS is what this place is.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canuck554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ZERO Stars”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is terrible. Awful music. So crowded can't walk anywhere. Drinks are weak and overpriced. I hope they shut this place down soon and turn it into something worth going to.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SStalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food in a good atmosphere”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The menu is extensive, the prices fair, and the food was well prepared. The restaurant is housed in an historic downtown Yuma building, and that adds to the excellent atmosphere. The wait staff is efficient and friendly, and were prompt to respond to our requests. We enjoyed our visit and plan to eat there again. We dined there late in the afternoon and experienced none of the negatives mentioned in other reviews.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standard also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing