We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A time capsule of motor-hotel Americana”

Casa De Coronado Museum
Ranked #30 of 52 things to do in Yuma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum showcases the history of tourism in Yuma, the growth of Yuma and the development of the Best Western Motel over the last 75 years. It houses exhibits of tourism pamphlets and brochures about Arizona and Yuma, travel guides, furniture and appliances from the early 1900s, and historic photos. It is located in the cottage that used to be the original lobby of the hotel as well as the home of the Peach family. The Peach family were immigrants from Czeckoslovakia who came through Ellis Island to eventually settle in Yuma in 1912. John Peach was a tailor and Marie was a buttonhole maker. They opened Famous Cleaners in 1916 and also managed the Vindom Hotel downtown in exhange for boarding. In 1920 they purchased the Virginia Hotel and Marie opened the only ladies dress shop in town. In 1932 the bought the rights to tear down the old Southern Pacific Railroad Hotel for the lumber in order to build the Peach Auto Court on the outskirts of Yuma
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Food available for purchase
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Definately a place to see! Decor, furnishings, historic "amenities" and actual motel operation documents curated in the original "Casa" de Coronado which served as the motel office and owner residence. Collection is interesting, and especially unique. It is a substantial and fills the entire "Casa". It is displayed for easy viewing. You'll be glad you asked for a personal tour. While there, a look at the historic photo collection (of Yuma) displayed at the Yuma Landing Bar/Restaurant next door is a must. Followed by a delicious "beverage" and breakfast, lunch or dinner.

1  Thank dex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Casa De Coronado Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dex,
Thank you so much for your review on our museum. it is greatly appreciated. I love it when people really appreciate history. I'm a firm believer that we have to know our past to understand our future. See you on your next rip to Yuma, Don't forget Yuma Centennial celebration in April.
Yvonne Peach
G. Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our group of 15 from Hidden Cove Sr. RV Park visited the Museum. Yvonne Peach, the owner, was gracious and very entertaining with her stories of early Yuma and her family memories of starting the first motel in Yuma that is now the Best Western. Everyone who attended was well pleased with the artifacts in the museum and enjoyed the tour. There's so much that we could hardly see every thing in the five room cottage, the original house of the Peach Family.

We ate at the Landing Restaurant, next door, which is the restaurant for the Casa De Coronado where they serve free breakfast to the people who stay at the Motel. There are about 200 pictures of old Yuma in the Landing Restaurant.

We give the Casa De a Very Good to Excellent rating. Go! You'll enjoy your visit.

Clydene Cannon - Hidden Cove Sr. RV Park - Tour Organizer

2  Thank Clydene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Casa De Coronado Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Clydene,
I really enjoyed your group. It's nice when a group can tour the museum either before or after they eat at Yuma Landing bar & Grill. As you seen they are tided together by history and by the hotel. Glad your group had a good time. Would be glad to take you though anytime.
Yvonne Peach
G. Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

History buffs will love this museum it is full of the good ole days, when you packed your car and hit the roads for a family vac. A must see when you Yuma, Yvonne Peach the museums currator will give you a guided tour and explain the history behind every item housed in the museum, excellent site to see.

2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Casa De Coronado Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Chris,
thanks for writing this review. sorry for the delay I couldn't get in to response Glad you enjoyed it. As always all anyone has to do is call and I'll give a tour. Thanks again.
Yvonne Peach
G. Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If your family ever piled into the family truckster for a great American road trip, this little museum will bring back all kinds of memories from the golden age of "happy motoring." A trove of vintage Best Western advertising, plus blasts from the past like a "Magic Fingers" vibrating mattress mechanism. Take a look, it will make you want to start whining "when are we gonna be there" and pinching your sister because she's on "your side" of the back seat.

Thank YumanBeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P, General Manager at Casa De Coronado Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

YumaBeing,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Glad you enjoyed the museum. Hope to see you again. We are always changing thing. So just aske for a tour whenever you like.
Yvonne Peach
G. Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa De Coronado Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing