We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific best place for mexican food to eat in or take out”

La Fonda Tortilla Factory
Ranked #45 of 257 Restaurants in Yuma
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Yuma, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific best place for mexican food to eat in or take out”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Terrific, delicious food, nice & hot when brought to the table, tasty. Great service. We eat here all the time & when family or friends come to visit we take them to La Fonda top choice restaurant. We've been coming here for years & will continue.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank cookie31418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    19
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special....”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The food was good but not really special. Typical budget restaurant for families.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WolfVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado River (CA./AZ. border)
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican Food Ever!”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Based on reviews and being non-locals, I called them to see when they closed and to get directions. It was about 6 PM on a Friday and they said they were open 'til 8 PM, so we followed their directions (4th Ave to 11th and they are behind the big Goodwill store, on 3rd Ave). Our waitress was "Laura" and the service was exceptional, I had a bit of trouble making up my mind on the soup as I really like meatball soup but the reviews indicated the tortilla soup was noteworthy, so went with the later. After we placed our orders, we both went to the restrooms to wash our hands and when we got back to the table our soup was already waiting for us including a bowl of the meatball (no charge) so we could sample the difference! Both are excellent, in fact the best I've ever had which was delightfully a recurring sentiment throughout our meal!

We really pigged out, everything was so fresh & noteworthy delicious, even the celery in the soup... I mean when have you ever been so impressed with all the details even down to the celery!?! It was without a doubt the best Chile Rellenos, Tamales, Rolled Tacos, that I've ever had in my life. I ordered the Chile Rellenos dinner with a side order of the green sauced tamale, wife ordered a combo that included a different tamale, taco, enchilada, & rolled tacos, she was ecstatic about the flavor & freshness quality of everything too. We noticed what others were getting too, and it all looked fantastic. Gotta give a nod of thanks to the fellow reviewers here, this was the highpoint of our Yuma Trip and will now be a "must" on all future Yuma trips!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Delicious”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We've been living in Yuma, Az. for over 40 yrs. now & if you really want great authentic, delicious, and wonderful service La Fonda is the best mexican restaurant to go to. The food is served nice & hot & the tortilla's are the best as they are made there too. Food can't be beat anyplace else in Yuma, Az.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookie31418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ummmm Ummmm Good”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

This place is hard to find if not a local. The Food is Really good. Salsa is great, one of the best in state!. Good Service and Smiles all around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRICO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda Tortilla Factory also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda Tortilla Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing