We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Das Bratwurst Haus

Das Bratwurst Haus
Ranked #29 of 251 Restaurants in Yuma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yuma
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

This tiny restaurant is hidden in the old downtown area. It was actually doubled in size for this winter season. Barbara (the cook) and her husband are the owners and take a personal interest in their customers. Not fancy .... no deorator decor ... just very good freshly prepared food. They have added high tables and stools - but much of the seating is basic wooden tables and old fashioned benches. The menu is not long but has a wonderful variety to choose from if you enjoy German food. Good choices of German wine and beer available. The desserts are fabulous - especially the fresh Black Forest Cake - made the way it should be. (no cherry pie filling here) We winter in Yuma and return every week or two during that time. We often take friends with us and every one always wants to return ... now that they know where to find the place. Tip: the spatzle and the red cabbage are superb sides. If you want a starter: try a pretzel with the brie/onion dip.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbirdYuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    13
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
569 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“The beer was great - I wish the food was also”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

From the reviews we read, we had high expectations today. We went there at lunch time and they we quite busy. Service was slow but we weren't in any hurry. We ordered dinner meals. Wife had Rouladen with potato salad and sauerkraut and I ordered the Zigeuner Schnitzel with potato pancake and red cabbage. Although nothing was bad, everything was totally bland. My wifes Rouladin was tough and she had to use a knife. Rouladen should be fork tender and served with a rich gravy. The red cabbage tasted out of a jar and we weren't surprised when we saw commercial red cabbage for sale at the counter. We were very disappointed and probably won't return. As a point of reference I traveled regularly to Germany for almost 10 years and am very conversant with German food. And this is not German food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luvglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our only must-eat place when we are in Yuma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We visit Yuma twice a year for dental care in Las Algodones, usually in our RV. Even if we didn't rent a car to make all that work, we'd taxi to this great place for a memorable dinner. The owner is hands-on and is a third generation purveyor of excellent German cuisine. Think you don't like it? This place might change that opinion. They seem to have a snowbird-based schedule and close from May or so to November, I was told the locals just don't provide enough support in the warmer months. As a result we always call before making our trips to make sure we'll be in Yuma late or early in Das Bratwurst Haus' season. Not really crazy about Yuma in general, but a meal of anything on the menu and some top-notch German draft beers gives Yuma something world-class to offer. Authentic, delicious, non-greasy...probably the best German food in the SW. Simple decor, including family pictures and personalized beer steins people leave for future visits.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessiesDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food! Interesting seating set up.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Everytime we have dined here the food is very good, the owners take great pride in the quality of their food. They seem to be working out the restaurant set-up still, tables are of a different variety, and there are cushions scattered all over the benches to help with how hard they are, not very comfortable. But they do have a new outdoor patio that looks nice. They also make all of their own desserts, the apple dumpling is outstanding!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank jenmedia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

You do have to try it!
Authentic, very good price, the best German food I had ever outside Germany!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markus2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Das Bratwurst Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing