We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you rent/own a park model - average if you have a motorhome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms RV Resort
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Yuma
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed one week at The Palms and our visit was what I would call average to good. The facilities in the resort are first class and the park is kept clean, tidy, and quite presentable. The paved roads were in great shape. The quality of entertainment for a resort of this size I would say was very good. This is a resort that is on the very edge of being what I would call the best in Yuma, Az.

If you are renting one of their park model/casitas then you will be very pleased. Unfortunately, where they lose points is in their RV section. We have an 38' motorhome and the space we got, and any other motorhomes we could see got as well, were quite large sites but landscaped with only 1" navy jack gravel. It was clean and weed free but it sure was generic and UNINVITING. Essentially, they are a gravel row parking lot with hookups and no privacy plantings between or behind any of the sites... If only these resort operators would understand that us snowbirds that travel south for the winter have no problem in paying more money to have some landscaping and a nice green INVITING site. It really doesn't take much to at least put some grass/greenery and a couple of trees (ala lazydays rv, tucson, az / outdoor resorts, Palm Springs, CA) in each of the sites to completely change the ambiance the resort would take on and for to want to come and stay longer. It is because of this that we didn't stay longer and went to another resort that did provide this type of landscape ambiance.

Really, there isn't much to do in Yuma, Az and a nice site to come home to I would think would encourage more snowbird travellers to stay in Yuma, Az vs. places like Palm Springs & Hemet, CA.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Davidb1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Palms RV Resort is a wonderful 5 star resort.
There was one thing that happened that changed my opinion of the resort. I thought they were very nice and understanding. Until I went up to the office to pay my power bill for the month.
The power utility reads the smart meters and sends the information to the Palms for your site. The bill includes a reader meter fee of $1.75. The Palms then gives you a new power bill for the same amount except they add an other meter reading fee of $1.75. I asked the girls at the office why the Palms would add a second meter reading fee, as they do not read the meter. They get the numbers for the power utility sent to them. As luck would have it one of the managers was walking by, and we asked him why they did this. His answer was (Because we can), and then walked away. I know it is not a lot of money but sometimes it's the principal.
I just can not understand why they would do such a thing for so little money to ruin their reputation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
9  Thank hans s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRVResort, General Manager at The Palms RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for taking time to comment on us here at the Palms RV Resort. We are strictly regulated under Arizona law in what we can and can not change for electricity. We operate within those bounds at all time and with all charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Extremely friendly staff, the most dog friendly park we've ever stayed, never ending list of amenities, very large lots with room for parking, clean and beautiful grounds. We have spent time at this park over the last 4 years and have never been disappointed. Security is top notch so we feel comfortable day and night. We walk our little dog many times during the day. The path around the perimeter of the park is perfect for those walks.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loonies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The location is good, the sites are good! The pool and other amenities are excellent! They have 2 dog parks that are fenced and nice green grass. The laundry facilities are clean. Park staff were very helpful and had treats for our dog! We loved it and will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricaardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This will be our 4th season at the Palms. We used to stay at a park across the street, the Palms by far exceeds our previous park. The front office staff are the friendliest girls we have ever met, the same goes for all the other staff we have come in contact with. The shows they bring in for entertainment are bar none.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have stayed at hundreds of parks in North America. This place is amazing.
After staying there for a few days, we knew this was home for us and decided to buy a lot.
It has everything you could possibly want in a retirement community. It is safe, clean, pet friendly and hospitable. The folks we met were all there for the same reason; to enjoy their retirement with other like minded people. Something going on every day... if not, you can make something go on.... so much to do!!
For the traveler wanting to stay in a relaxed resort for all or part of the the winter, the rates are well worth it. Can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bryan5290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

While it is more expensive than many RV resorts, it is well worth the money.This is a gated, seniors community. Many of the lots are owned and others are up for sale. The streets are wide and paved. The lots are larger, with thick gravel and a paved pad. The whole park is beautifully landscaped. They provide great entertainment in the peak periods at a good price. The pool area has a large swimming pool, a large lap pool, two hot tubs and plenty of tables (umbrellas) and chairs. There is a large craft room with a different craft offered every day, plus they have pottery and silver smithing. The staff are friendly and helpful. They have tennis courts, a volleyball court, a putting green and shuffleboard courts. They have a large ball room, exercise room, pool room, library and card room. This will be our 3rd year that we have stayed there and we will continue to go there if the prices do not go continue to rise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kasoonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yuma hotels
6.1 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
5.8 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
6.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#1 of 33 in Yuma
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Yuma
6.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Yuma
5.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms RV Resort

Address: 3400 S Avenue 7 E, Yuma, AZ 85365-6654
Location: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Yuma
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Winter Resort that is RV friendly. Pets welcome to play in our two dog parks. With Las Vegas style entertainment and hundreds of other activities each week there is plenty to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palms Rv Hotel Yuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing