We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORTH A VISIT”

Yuma Territorial Prison State Historic Park
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Yuma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only remnants remain of this historic prison built in 1876, where you can see photographs of some of the prisoners who served time here over its 33 years of operation and get a feel for frontier justice.
Beaumont, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“WORTH A VISIT”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you are interested in the local history, a visit to the Yuma Territorial Prison is a must. We took the guided tour and the Docent was outstanding and very informative. Well worth the price of admission.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garymstoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    369
    50
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great history”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We came many years ago when our children were small and came this time for us! Very helpful and informative "guard" working here. The museum part had lots to see and read about and seeing the old holding areas of the prison was fantastic!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth your $6”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very interesting part of history. Totally worth your time and the $6 entry fee. Grounds and history are well maintained. Great for all ages.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelsMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go when it's hot!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

History buffs will likely enjoy this historic site. It's small but it definitely packs a big punch. A person could spend anywhere from 30 minutes to a few hours walking around and taking in all the visuals. I stayed longer than I thought I would because there were a lot of interesting displays with great stories attached to them. I got to see a Gatling gun up close for the first time so that was a special treat for me. The actual cells were the coolest part of my visit. I went on a blazing hot day and can't imagine how all those prisoners survived the heat back in the day. The graveyard is a bit eerie but certainly worth checking out as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr_St_Kav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good way to pass an hour”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Was in the area and looking for a few things to do so stopped in. Small historic site, very clean and nice view of the area. The best part was the enthusiasm of the people working there, they were very knowledgeable and you could tell they loved the park!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yuma Territorial Prison State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing