We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,100)
Filter reviews
2,100 results
Traveler rating
1,556
414
84
25
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,556
414
84
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turquoise room fred harvey mary colter gift shop railroad hotel santa fe railroad self guided tour harvey hotel sunken garden current owners an art gallery public rooms train travel unique hotel martini bar step back in time eagles song
Filter
Updating list...
1,848 - 1,853 of 2,100 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel was a wonderful surprise! As an old Harvey House Hotel, we so enjoyed the beautiful renovations complete with annotated guide to the history of the hotel, beautiful guest rooms, grounds and a wonderful restaurant. The staff was friendly and I even enjoyed the gift shop which had beautiful artistic gifts without the ususal, cheap Southwestern souvenirs you usually find.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This is the third time I have been to La Posada and it is still one of the most unusual and wonderful places. The restoration of the Mary Coulter building continues and it is beautiful and unlike any other hotel I have ever seen. This time I stayed in a room on the first floor which was larger than the rooms on the second floor. It was nice nicely done and comfortable. I would recommend anyone interested in historical places and beautiful places to stop make a visit. The gardens are also a lovely place to have a drink and relax and the Turquoise Room is still a very good restaurant.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank degkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

No real problems with this place. I did want a room with 2 beds but only one bed in room, they gave us a rollaway bed and that made the room a bit cramped.
Train line right beside the hotel. This did not worry us unduly.
The couple across the hall did worry us though. They were at it all night like rabbits. I saw the girl in the hall the next morning and she looked very happy.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancegoodthrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

After a week in Venice being spoiled with beautiful surroundings and terrific food, I had no idea what a jewel awaited in Winslow, Arizona. After a purposely slow walk in as we took in all the beautiful colors and smells of the courtyard in front, we checked in and wandered room to room taking in all the art, architectural details and history of La Posada. Besides the beauty, it was very quiet and the team working there was really attentive and accommodating. When I thought that it couldn't get any better, we had an incredible dinner in the restaurant, which I won't even attempt to describe. Needless to say, it was a wonderfully unexpected surprise.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

A unique property, this hotel has recaptured much of its past glory. Originally designed by Mary Coulter, who designed some of the buildings in Grand Canyon National Park, this former Harvey Hotel captures the flavor of a grand hacienda, with a modern flair. The public areas are inviting and adorned with unusual art, mostly in southwestern style. Many (if not all) of the rooms are named after famous persons. We stayed in the Howard Hughes Room, located on the second floor in the front of the hotel. The room was large with a huge four poster bed, two large upholstered chairs, a big leather couch, and a bookcase well-stocked with reading material. The bathroom was spotless and had modern fixtures including a shower and a Jacuzzi. The food (we had dinner) at the Turquoise Room was very good.
The staff, unfortunately, is not up to the grandeur of this hotel. For example, there was no one to help us (or anyone else) with luggage (we couldn't find any elevators, so we had to lug two large bags up two flights of stairs). Even though we had dinner reservations, the Turquoise Room hostess made us wait over 30 minutes to get our table. She initially told us that she didn't want to seat us because she didn't want to overwhelm the (two person) wait staff. Then, as she sheepishly admitted, she "lost track" of us (we were in the bar where there were four other people).
Living up to its heritage as a Harvey Hotel connected to the Santa Fe Railroad, the hotel is right next to the tracks, which are still relatively busy with traffic. The trains can be heard throughout the hotel, including in the guestrooms. So if you are a light sleeper, bring some earplugs.
Overall, however, if you want to get away from the cookie-cutter hotels on the road, this hotel is for you.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rt66er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews