We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,061)
Filter reviews
2,061 results
Traveler rating
1,526
407
83
25
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,526
407
83
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturquoise roomfred harveymary colterrailroad hotelgift shopsanta fe railroadself guided tourharvey hotelsunken gardenan art gallerycurrent ownerstrain travelpublic roomstrains rollunique hotelmartini barstep back in time
Filter
Updating list...
1,815 - 1,820 of 2,061 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2010

A unique property, this hotel has recaptured much of its past glory. Originally designed by Mary Coulter, who designed some of the buildings in Grand Canyon National Park, this former Harvey Hotel captures the flavor of a grand hacienda, with a modern flair. The public areas are inviting and adorned with unusual art, mostly in southwestern style. Many (if not all) of the rooms are named after famous persons. We stayed in the Howard Hughes Room, located on the second floor in the front of the hotel. The room was large with a huge four poster bed, two large upholstered chairs, a big leather couch, and a bookcase well-stocked with reading material. The bathroom was spotless and had modern fixtures including a shower and a Jacuzzi. The food (we had dinner) at the Turquoise Room was very good.
The staff, unfortunately, is not up to the grandeur of this hotel. For example, there was no one to help us (or anyone else) with luggage (we couldn't find any elevators, so we had to lug two large bags up two flights of stairs). Even though we had dinner reservations, the Turquoise Room hostess made us wait over 30 minutes to get our table. She initially told us that she didn't want to seat us because she didn't want to overwhelm the (two person) wait staff. Then, as she sheepishly admitted, she "lost track" of us (we were in the bar where there were four other people).
Living up to its heritage as a Harvey Hotel connected to the Santa Fe Railroad, the hotel is right next to the tracks, which are still relatively busy with traffic. The trains can be heard throughout the hotel, including in the guestrooms. So if you are a light sleeper, bring some earplugs.
Overall, however, if you want to get away from the cookie-cutter hotels on the road, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rt66er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Great hotel! Tons of history, amazing architecture, cool lounge!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaBrown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This was our third stay at La Posada. We stayed in one of the newly decorated rooms. For the extra few bucks it is well worth it. A very large room with a king sized bed and a king sized leather couch. Nice LCD TV and very comfortable bed. The Turquoise Room and the martini bar are very nice. Food, drink and service outstanding. Still one of the best values around.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewMexicotraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

What a wonderful hotel. The labyrinth-like floor plan made it a challenge to find our room initially, but that just added to the charm of the hotel. When we checked in, we received a beautifully written booklet that explained the history of the hotel. The room was small for four people, but very reasonably priced for a botique hotel. The room size wasn't even an issue because of the cavernous common areas. In the evening we sat on the patio by the railroad tracks with drinks from the bar and watched the trains go by. We had a surreal moment as we were looking at the Tina Mion self-portraits as Tina Mion walked by us with her dog. The artwork in the hotel is worth a trip even if you aren't staying. Make sure you find the Nancy Reagan portrait. I wanted to take her home with me. I love that some hotels, including this one, are moving away from tiny hotel toiletries and moving towards using bulk bottles. There was a bottle of pert in the bathroom cabinet and a soft soap pump on the counter. The bathroom was ancient and the towels were luxurious. Charming. We ate at the restaurant as well and had a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flat_Earther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

La Posada is an unqualified triumph. The rebirth of this hotel is nothing short of a miracle. It's scale and design invite guests to relax in the public areas. Hang out on the veranda and watch the trains with the train geeks (among whom we fit in very well). Check out the ball room and play a board game with your kids. The rooms are comfortable and beautiful with appropriate period decor and great, deep whirlpool bathtubs. Mary Colter - original architect - would be overjoyed.
And then there's the Tourquoise Room - easily one of the best restaurants I've ever enjoyed. Highlighting locally grown produce and game, the kitchen turns out inventive and delicious meals - check out the cookbook.
If you are within 100 miles of this place it's worth the drive to stay or eat. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuzigoot_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews