We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, Affordable Luxury”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2007

We loved our experience at La Posada.

Each and every member of the staff was gracious and helpful without being pretentious.

I imagined, as the owners suggested, that I was visiting an eccentric, art collecting, relative in his historic hacienda. The common rooms were so many and varied that you could find a cozy private place to read a book without any trouble.

We enjoyed the out door spaces, the sunken garden and the front (back?) lawns. We picked up some sandwiches and a bottle of wine and sat out on the lawn for the evening watching the trains go slowly by. The front desk even had a wine opener we could borrow.

Because we booked late we had to switch rooms for our two night stay. The first night was upstairs in the Rowdy McDowell room. It had a full size bed and a twin. It was 1930's decor, simple, but nice. The bathroom was small as per the period but very clean. Second night we had a king size bed on the first floor, the Roy Rogers room. Again the room was not large but adequate. Very nice Navajo rugs. Large handicapped accessible shower and a very long Mexican tiled sink. We did not hear trains on either night, maybe because we had the air conditioning on.

We loved the luxury, the history, the large open spaces, antiques, and especially the fact that we could bring our dog! She loved sleeping on the cool tile floor.

Because we were on a budget, we ate in the restaurant breakfast and lunch only and then had a carry out dessert after our picnic dinner. Every mouthful of each meal was delicious. If you are looking for ordinary (not gourmet, handcrafted cuisine) I'd recommended eating at the Frontier restaurant, a few blocks away. But if you enjoy the presentation as much as the taste, the Turquoise room is a wonderful experience.

We found so much to do in the area that we wished we had a few more days. We went to Homolovi Ruins State park and hiked, swam at McHood park, and went to the petrified forest. We did not get to the meteor crater or to see the Winslow live theater. We also would have loved to have just taken time to hang out in one of the common areas of the hotel and read. They have about 1,000 books to choose from.

We will definitely be back again. La Posada was, for us, a pet friendly, affordable luxury. I hope that it stays that way.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellykabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,856)
There are newer reviews for La Posada Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,761 - 1,767 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2007

Made it a point to visit La Posada after reading articles about the restoration and the history of the site.

Wow. I can see how this is one of the biggest historic restoration stories in the western US. Magnificent building, and it is just a miracle how it has been brought back from near destruction. Having seen it when it was closed, this is incredible.

The hotel room was small, but a nice mix of original history (original floors, doors, etc.) with new comforts (TV, AC, new furnishings). Quieter than expected given the train traffic out front.

Restaurant (Turquoise room) just excellent. Room price was less than expected, and had a surprisingly difficult time getting one - the word is spreading.

The gardens and grounds are extraordinary.

If you've gotten completely sick and tired of the cookie-cutter hotels and want to stay someplace memorable, make a point to come here.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank randgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

The negative reviews on La Posada and the town of Winslow are totally unjust and incorrect! We stayed there (two Europeans couples touring the US) for two nights in June and we can only say that we all had a great “American” experience. La Posada is a great place to stay, the rooms are cosy and the atmosphere is extremely friendly and laid back. I enjoyed the spaciousness of the place, the sunken garden and the mixture of Spanish, Native American and modern art…nothing creepy about it whatsoever.
People should be proud and supportive of those who are willing to restore, at a high level, something so historically important in the USA….this is what Europeans come to see! We are happy to say that the people of Winslow, Arizona made us feel welcome and safe and we look forward to returning. Thank you again for a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Jayhawk-6l6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Be warned. This is a long review. And is intended to give you a different opinion in the midsts of some negative reviews that almost made us miss this gem!
We had a great time at La posada and we will return before it will be out of our price-range. Yes it is still in renovation as of June-2007. A lot of it is done. Well more than 30 rooms are completed. They were working on the scenic entrance pools and entrance bridge while we were staying there. It also looked like they were also working on an entire wing of rooms. this place is huge! there is no pool. That was exactly what we wanted. No pool. No kids. The great hall and the smaller halls are all completed along with a couple of nice shops in the common area. We stayed in the Bob Hope room. It was a small quaint richly decorated room with dark wood wall cover. It is not wood paneling it is more like dark thick exotic wood and it had a very comfortable bed. It had a balcony with 2 chairs that you can have beverages in at night. It was very nice. very quiet. and we could see a Churches chicken restaurant from our balcony which will be blocked once the cottenwood garden grows in. The balcony faced the cottenwood garden where they are still working on some landscaping. when it matures it will be amazing. There is a very large "back-yard" that faces a train track. None of the trains used there horns. There was some rumbling once and a while. but it did not disturb us.There is a brick depot looking platform built for LaPosada from one of the tracks. Which suggests that you will be able to get to the resort via Amtrack eventually. The "back-yard" has many swings and chairs that you can use. The meals in the Turquoise room were beyond belief. You will not need the Chicken place!! There is a great bar in the resort also. They set up a breakfast table in the large hall filled with Coffee, Tea's, and many delicious offerings.
but we opted for the Turquoise room for breakfast. The staff was very nice and efficient. There are small nooks and rooms for you to explore. one large room has original art in it and there other nooks with video presentation's featuring the history of the resort and a presentation from the Owner/Artist that is funding the restoration. We paid $130 a night. The Days inn was $95. It was well worth the extra $35. Winslow is a ghost town. When driving to the resort We were like what the heck! the place is empty. La Posada is an oasis in a dust town. Once the renovation is finished this will easily be a $300/night hotel. Go now!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnboyMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We stayed at the La Posada for one night, and we wished our stay could have been longer. This was a railroad hotel, and of course, the trains go by all night long. In fact, that's one of the reasons we stayed here. I kept the balcony door open all night long so I could listen to them, while my husband slept like a brick. The restoration of this hotel is so loving that it is a privilege to stay there. The art isn't creepy -- watch the artist's video and you can figure out what she's doing. We found it almost whimsical. Our room was the Mary Colter room, with furnishings true to what Mary Colter would had when she designed the hotel. There is a beautiful garden for sitting and, if you like to sit and watch the trains, there are rocking chairs provided near the tracks. The Turquoise Room's food was wonderful. We first ate there last year and weren't disappointed this time. The service was elegant and charming. We had a very nice young man as our server in the evening and a lovely young Harvey Girl was our server at breakfast. Check out the hotel's web site for the menu.
Read about Mary Colter and Fred Harvey before you come to enhance your appreciation and enjoyment of the experience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goodrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

A father and daughter resting up on a long drive.
After trying to book online and getting a No-occupancy, I called directly and booked one of three available rooms.
The rooms were spartan, small and very clean. Perfect for our purposes.
The nice surprise was the bar and restaurant which seem to be the center of town. A nice crowd and the manager guess it at 50/50 between travelers and locals.
We had a room towards the parking lot (and away from the track) so I have no complaints about train noises. I slept like a brick.
The place is being remodeled, and the large art on the walls is indeed creepy, but I'd glady stay there again just to eat in that dining room. They have a great chef. the Arizona Gumbo was delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

I spent a night in the Frank Sinatra room. This faces the new front drive/parking area that now has very bright lights. This room had venetian blinds only. The room did not get anywhere near dark. I moved to the Comfort Inn (very nice room at <$) and returned the next morning to get my money back. Restaurant charges 2x what it should, but it;s the only game in town for elegant dining.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
717 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#6 of 14 in Winslow
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 10
Motel 10
#12 of 14 in Winslow
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range: $153 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing