We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sttep Back into the 1940s”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, CT
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Sttep Back into the 1940s”
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We stayed at the La Posada for one night, and we wished our stay could have been longer. This was a railroad hotel, and of course, the trains go by all night long. In fact, that's one of the reasons we stayed here. I kept the balcony door open all night long so I could listen to them, while my husband slept like a brick. The restoration of this hotel is so loving that it is a privilege to stay there. The art isn't creepy -- watch the artist's video and you can figure out what she's doing. We found it almost whimsical. Our room was the Mary Colter room, with furnishings true to what Mary Colter would had when she designed the hotel. There is a beautiful garden for sitting and, if you like to sit and watch the trains, there are rocking chairs provided near the tracks. The Turquoise Room's food was wonderful. We first ate there last year and weren't disappointed this time. The service was elegant and charming. We had a very nice young man as our server in the evening and a lovely young Harvey Girl was our server at breakfast. Check out the hotel's web site for the menu.
Read about Mary Colter and Fred Harvey before you come to enhance your appreciation and enjoyment of the experience.

  • Liked — The sense of history.
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    356
    75
    21
    19
See reviews for
328
1,030
90
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long beach, ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

A father and daughter resting up on a long drive.
After trying to book online and getting a No-occupancy, I called directly and booked one of three available rooms.
The rooms were spartan, small and very clean. Perfect for our purposes.
The nice surprise was the bar and restaurant which seem to be the center of town. A nice crowd and the manager guess it at 50/50 between travelers and locals.
We had a room towards the parking lot (and away from the track) so I have no complaints about train noises. I slept like a brick.
The place is being remodeled, and the large art on the walls is indeed creepy, but I'd glady stay there again just to eat in that dining room. They have a great chef. the Arizona Gumbo was delicious!

  • Liked — it was right where I needed to stop for the night and rest
  • Disliked — small rooms, old equipment, long walk to front desk (no help with baggage)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

I spent a night in the Frank Sinatra room. This faces the new front drive/parking area that now has very bright lights. This room had venetian blinds only. The room did not get anywhere near dark. I moved to the Comfort Inn (very nice room at <$) and returned the next morning to get my money back. Restaurant charges 2x what it should, but it;s the only game in town for elegant dining.

  • Disliked — Rooms are not keeping up with the outdoors renovations. No elevator. No black out shades.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

The La Posada is an beautiful, historic structure run by amateurs and surrounded by the dead or dying city of Winslow, Arizona. Sad to say that this fantastic representation of early 1900’s architecture may never reach it’s full potential because of it’s ownership and location. There is only so much one can do short of moving the place. The restoration (refurbishment to be more accurate) is nicely done, with the notable exception of the macabre art work that fills the hallways. We found it to be very depressing, and not in good taste for younger guests. Unfortunately the artist seems to be the wife of the owner, thus lodging a complaint would have been pointless. In any event, the artwork alone is enough to keep us from returning. The rooms were adequate, and fairly nicely done. We did not get the “suite” we had reserved and paid for, but elected not to raise an issue as there was so much to complain about if we had gotten started. The help seems entirely indifferent to our presence and not terribly helpful. The wait staff in the Turquoise Room dining facility was excellent, but the food was a huge disappointment…especially for the price. We had so looked forward to the meal based on what we had been told of this place. They allow pets, and we observed the owners Doberman cross howling at two pit bulls that arrived on the arm of a fragile, elderly woman and man who looked entirely inadequate to manage them in a pinch. Just to contribute to our dinning discomfort, we were serenaded by the hounds as they howled at each other much to the embarrassment of the wait staff (and no doubt at the expense of their gratuity). The La Posada should be viewed and photographed just before or after a lunch or breakfast in the Turquoise Room. I would not stay in Winslow overnight, and was amazed that our SUV still had all four tires and wheels in the morning. Would not suggest anyone stay at the hotel, but I would suggest that a competent, professional hotel person purchase it. It deserves a real period restoration, a barbed wire fence around the parking lot and a little help in the kitchen. This could be an outstanding getaway property.

  • Liked — Car was not vandalized.
  • Disliked — Dogs
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OldTexasCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

La Posada has obviously been lovingly restored. The restoration video shown in the lobby explains that the hotel -- once the gem of the Santa Fe rail line -- was eventually converted into bland offices. It is mostly back to its original self now, and the public spaces are quite beautiful. It's a real breath of fresh air after so many generic chain hotels, and the price is surprisingly low.

The hotel's restaurant -- the Turquoise Room -- is somewhat pricey but really excellent. I enjoyed both dinner and breakfast there, and the food was original and tasty.

Unfortunately, I did have some problems with the room itself. It was quite small, but that is to be expected in an older hotel. The bathroom was updated and quite nice, but the whole room had a slight, vague sewage smell. Also, I squashed several bugs during my stay. But the biggest problem was the noise between rooms. I could practically hear my neighbors breathing, and I could clearly hear every word that was said, every suitcase unzipped, every toilet flushed ... Knowing they could hear me, too, I felt self-conscious and uncomfortable in my room.

That said, I would certainly consider staying there again (but only for one night). If you can't stay, at least visit the restaurant and then have a look around!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ashley627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

When we called for a reservation a few weeks ago, the only vacancy was #105, the Harry Truman room. It's quite large - probably a result of merging two of the original, smaller rooms - and handsomely decorated. The small bathroom is equipped with a jacuzzi tub, which we did not use. The king bed was comfortable, the shower provided plenty of hot water and the TV worked. What's not to like?

105 is the first room on the ground floor in the west wing; so, in this very spread out facility, it's one of the closest to the entrance and front desk and next to the ice and vending machines. It also shares a wall with the laundry, which creates some interesting, but not disruptive, sound effects.

I prefer the balcony rooms on the second floor, but I think, when they are not available, 105 is a worthy alternative.

  • Liked — Room has a very pleasant ambiance
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belladonna_Took
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2007

It helps to know the La Posada story before you book the hotel. As a former Harvey House, it is obviously connected at the hip to the BNSF railroad. Yes, the trains go by all night (ask for a room on the street side). Yes, the Turquoise Room is ecclectic---but the food is delicious and the service outstanding. Yes, the art is unusual but it certainly isn't "creepy" (chacun a son gout). Don't stay here unless you want the unique experience that goes with it. The bottom line: the restoration is so lovingly perfect, and the staff so nurturing, that you almost feel you are living in the 1920's. Enjoy La Posada for what it is, and be thankful it isn't a Holiday Inn!

  • Liked — Rooms have all modern amenities
  • Disliked — Potential train noise if on the depot side of the hotel
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnowmassCOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing