We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honestly this place is amazing - one of my top 2 hotels of all time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Honestly this place is amazing - one of my top 2 hotels of all time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

I once stayed at Cavas in Mendoza, Argentina and that was utterly incredible - doubt that will ever be beaten, however second place definitely goes to La Posada. I absolutely loved the place. Its bang smack in the middle of Winslow - not one of those "must do" towns apart from the fact La Posada is here - yes, it really is worth coming to the town JUST for this hotel. Its not that the place is overly luxurious or posh, its not about being pampered, spa style etc - its about soaking up the authentic vibe of the place, the art is amazing, the job that they have done restoring the place they deserve a medal! Its just so heartening to see how much passion has gone into recreating this place into the amazing hotel it once was. And as for the restaurant....! get yourself there is all i can say!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfascist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    348
    72
    21
    19
See reviews for
325
1,008
90
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

We were passing through on the way from CA to CO and decided to check out some of the old route 66 stuff on the way and picked this from a list of cities we would be close to for a half way over night.
There is an incredible structure to see and most has been restored to nearly original look and size internally. There is a whole new world feeling you when you walk in. Like many have said, like sleeping in a museum. There is a great deal of history and a whole story of Americana that is not being told today in schools on how we traveled and socialized 75 years ago.
A lot of the services are not there but that is OK considering what there is do deal with in the middle of nowhere.
However, DO NOT LOOK AT THE MODERN ART ON THE WALLS. And more importantly, don't let your kids see it. It is gory, horrifying and the work of someone who needs some serious mental problem rooted out. The prime example is a monstrous piece is placed behind a table setting (that is attempting to be historically correct of what was original decor including original chairs) of a New Years party which only has famous artisans who have committed suicide, all portrayed as they would have AFTER they were dead (i.e. gunshot wounds to the head, necklaces of pills, wrists slit, rope noose still on the neck) and Liberace thrown in "just for the hell of it." The art is not really even that good, just completely psycho. See more at http://www.tinamion.com/
Beyond that, we were bothered by the trains some, but the beds were so awful it was hard to really blame either one more. The room was mostly clean, but needed a "spring cleaning" to get the windows clean and get behind the furniture.
Overall a nice place to visit, even fascinating, but I wouldn't want to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HyperdeemicNurdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, NM
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Still one of he best bargains around. Great food, a martini bar, and a comfortable room in a historic Harvey House. We stayed in Room 100 next to the tracks yet it was quiet. They have some new rooms available which we looked at and they are very attractive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewMexicotraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We have stayed at La Posada many times and it just continues to get better. Probably our favorite hotel in the United States. Wonderful staff, outstanding rooms and a spectacular restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thecoyoteToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

By pure luck, we located the website for this hotel when planning a trip through Arizona. We were not disappointed when we arrived. The hotel presents as a historical building, musuem and art gallery all in one. Truly charming. The art may not be to everyone's tastes but it does provoke conversation (arguably that was the point!)

The room was not pristine in some aspects of it's maintenance but it was clean. Perhaps more importantly, the decor and layout complemented our overall experience.

We dined in the turquoise room and found the meal to be extremely good and well presented. The waiter was attentive. We did purchase some wine with dinner and, afterwards, purchased a couple of more glasses from the bar. Although we didn't at all mind the price with our meal, we were surprised at the relatively high cost a the bar - so much so it was humourous. The guitar musician in the foyer capped off a great evening.

Siiting in one of the alcoves and viewing a video on the history of the hotel, one is made aware that the hotel was built, first and foremost, to service the railway travellers. So it came as no surprise when our one night stay was interrupted by the frequent train traffic. Our room overlooked the tracks. If we were to book again, we'd specify another area of the hotel to minimize the noise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMF_Manitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed for two nights in a room that was not one of those that were recently updated. It showed its age in creaky plumbing and rather worn furnishings and decor, but we didn't care. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet (if you're used to trains) and the public areas and bar were wonderfully unique. How often can you get a history lesson and an art gallery tour just by walking through your hotel? The restaurant was excellent--although we had to wait a while to be served as it was Saturday night and very crowded, it was well worth the wait. Inventive, innovative cuisine and an excellent wait staff made for a wonderfully memorable meal. If I could, I'd move in tomorrow. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordPercyPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed here overnight to celebrate my 50th birthday. We had the Howard Hughes Room, which is huge and has its own gas fireplace with wing-back chairs, leather couch and coffee table, gigantic comfy king bed, and large, remodeled bathroom. This room faces Winslow instead of the train tracks and is on a very short hallway, so it's quiet. Several friends had called the hotel to have bottles of wine and a cheese and fruit plate delivered to the room; the hotel manager did a lovely job overseeing all of that as well as delivery of a bouquet. Friends had rented one of the balcony rooms, so we were able to enjoy cocktails on their balcony before retiring to the martini lounge (excellent service there) and then going on to dinner. The room was fantastic and well worth the money. Dinner was great (as always--we eat there several time a year) and the waitress was good-humored. The chocolate souffle was FANTASTIC. After dinner, we wandered the grounds and enjoyed the straw-bale maze and the new pergola in front of the hotel and then went to the lobby to enjoy the fireplace there. By this time, it was about 11 p.m., and a few other guests were relaxing there with books. We had a lovely breakfast, again with excellent service, the next morning. Overall, the weekend could not have been better. I would definitely go back.

Regarding the owner's wife's artwork--yes, it has nothing to do with Fred Harvey or the Southwest, but it's interesting and I enjoy the juxtaposition of Tina Mion's artwork and the restored building and antique furnishings. The building was so relaxing I could have happily stayed on for a second night and never left the grounds.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conferencetrip31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing