We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Cloudcroft, NM
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Without a any reservations,one of America's great old railroad hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudcroftkid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    362
    75
    21
    19
See reviews for
331
1,039
91
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We live in Arizona and this hotel was selected because it was on our way back from a 6 week travel vacation, has history, & has received good ratings on-line. The hotel room (#211-queen bed) was beautiful and the food at the on-site restaurant "The Turquoise Room" fanatastic! Even bought a recipe book featuring the hotel restaurant best. The only caution - the sound travels under the doorway because floors are tiled - so you may hear a neighbor or people getting up early to leave in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Not much to add - so glad my husband learned about this hotel from our local newspaper. We had visited the Petrified Forest and stayed 2 nights at the Wigwam Motel (VERY different, but equally unique experience). Had actually reserved a third night there, but cancelled to stay at LaPosada. So glad we did. It was a wonderful place to explore. My only complaint is that we purposely took our time coming in from Holbrook, so we would arrive after the 3:00 pm check in time. Our room was not ready until after 4:00. Wouldn't mind so much, except that they charge your credit card for the first night as soon as you make the reservation. As noted in some of the other reviews, the bathroom toiletries are off the supermarket shelf items. If that's what they need to do to save $ for this beautiful place, so be it. It is truly a gem that I hope the owners can continue to renovate for others to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank black325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We pulled off the highway and followed our GPS directions to the hotel. We weren't sure it was the right area until we saw the sign. As I moved up the walk to the entrance I noticed broken windows on the left wing and started to really wonder.....once I passed through the main door, all doubt passed. Everything was wonderful. The interior was beautiful. The flamenco guitar filled the air. I felt like I had been transported to another country at another time. (Turns out the broken windows are in the wing of the hotel still under renovation.) The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Our rooms were great, nicely decorated to match the old hacienda style of the hotel. The grounds and the adjacent train yard just added to the atmosphere of the property. Don't forget to stroll around the interior of the hotel to appreciate all the nooks and crannies.
I would go back to this area just to stay at the hotel once more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srcabrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Not often, but every once in a while, you have a hotel or restaurant experience that leaves you confused about how you feel about your experience. This is the case with our recent stay at La Posada in Winslow, Arizona.
We were on a drive from California to Oklahoma to visit family, and planned to return via Colorado (Route 70). On the way out we wanted to take a little time and explore Route 66. I grew up within 60 yeards of the mother road and have always felt a special affinity for it and it's place in history. Any 66 buff will tell you that Winslow plays a role in the history of the highway so as I lay out the route and timing I thought of checking hotels there. To my suprise, up popped information about LaPosada. It seemed ideal. I wanted my wife to enjoy this trip as much as I planned to. The more I read about the re-birth of this historical railroad hotel the more I became convinced. We booked it and added it to our list of highly anticipated experiences. We were not disappointed in our expectations which were mostly focused on the history and fabulous decorating the current owners had done. They have filled the hotel with art, mostly from the region, and there is a well thought out designer's touch in every room. However, what we had not expected to have disappointment with service. It starts with the arrival. The main entrance is not well lit or marked and we arrived after dark. It took a few minutes to find our way. At the desk we learned there was no help with the baggage and that we would have to transport it from the cobblestoned parling area to our room.

When we finally got to the room we found it wasn't very clean. First of all there was a long hair in the bathroom sink. There was no complimentary drinking water and the water from the tap was, for previously stated reasons, unappetizing. In addition we found the furniture Complimentary supplies (soap, shampoo, etc. was really third rate cheap or non existant. The room itself, howeverwas nicely decorated and cosistent with the rest of the hotel which was gorgeous. After dropping our bags we strolled over to the main lobby area and took a seat in the bar. It took us a long time to figure out that we had to approach the bar to get a drink. The bartender was a pleasant older woman that seemed to need an assist but one was not available. We snagged a couple of martinis and waited for our seating in the dining room. The service in the dining room was quite good actually with a helpful waiter. Furthermore, it wasn't too very long to get served. At this point it all fell apart. I had selected a classic provencial dish: Cassoulet, and in this instance it was served with a chicken drumstick The beans used were not the traditional haricut and the substituted kidney beans were incredibly salty. Instead of french sausage there was a single link of what I thought was breakfast sausage. There was also roasted pigeon, and for added punch a thick roasted venizon shank. All of the meats were inferior in my opinion but worse, it had all been overcooked. Hardly in a position to help the heavily salted beans. We skipped dessert and left as soon as possible. Then came one of the surprises of the evening. Upon exiting the dining room after having left more than half our food on the plates out of lost desire, the surprise came when stepping into the main foyer, There we found a young man playing classical guitar for the guests and giving a recital worthy of Julian Bream. Most impressive was his original compositions we suspect designed with some influence by Tortelli, We sat and listened for quite a while. His music soothed my anger from the botched dinner. The guitarist's name is Khent K. Anantakai. He is a Navajo with a penchant for classical music. He is definitelly accomplished enough to record which I hope to someday hear about. After the exquisite and impromptu recital, we repared to our bedroom to get some sleep. The room was comfortable, and so were the beds, but the covers are those old fashioned breadspread that are likely not to be very clean after a few guests have used it.
The next morning was a reversal of the check in procedure. i.e. haul your bags across cobble stone in a rickety cart provided by the hotel. We were happy to make our escape but memorys of how beautiful the hotel was and the fantastic guitar work of Khent has faded some of our discontent with the place. You might consider that this is a good hotel to take your wife (or girlfriend) to for a romantic hideout. The hotel itself is definitely a romantic venue. You might check first to see if Khent is playing his romantic Spanish guitar. Then., if you should decide to dine in the hotel be sure to get a reservation. Then select a simple dish that the chef can't foul up too easily and when he does there is no room for argument. We think the LaPosada offers good value as romantic cultured getaway but in environs that are spartain other then rooms full of magnificent art. (Be sure to take your own toiletries. LaPosada offers none. You may also want to bring some music and a player to your room. LaPosada's TV set up is very lean indeed. Finally, there are no telephones in the room. If you want pampering and spa, obsequious service, and you want everyone to remeber your name, you should go to the Springs or Vegas. But at LaPosada you will save considerably over those two alternatives, and you will score points with your better half.

One other point: LaPosada seems to hold pets in hig

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soisurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I, both architects, sought out La Posada three years ago and were happy to find it was under restoration. We stopped back by recently to check on the progress of the restoration and were thrilled at the changes. The lovely gardens, the larger gift shop, the fine menu at the Turquoise Room all pleased us. After buying some marvelous vintage jewlry in the Gift Shop, we had lunch in the Turqousie Room. The Signature Soup is outstanding. My husband had the stuffed squash blossom quesadillas, and I had pork filled red tortillas. The meal was delicious, and first quality - Fred Harvey would be proud to know the guest are still given the finest cuisine.
Afterwards we walked the grounds, and settled into the comfortable wicker arm chairs on the back veranda. We quickly fell into that lovely state of light dozing and for 30 minutes nobody bothered us, even though we were just passing through. It was one of those lovely magical moments I will treasure. It was hard to leave but we promised ourselves to return again.
I must also comment on the kind staff, I was in the throes of a wicked head cold, and was trying very hard to limit my contact with everyone. Every single staff person I met was kind, sympathetic, and never shied away from dealing with my sneezing person.
Someday I hope to spend a night at La Posada, eat that Signature soup again, and doze away an afternoon on the back veranda.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2009

In all of my 24 yrs of business travels LA Pasada ranks number one in my book,The restaurant food is superb especially the Prime RIb.The staff gave us excellent service every time we came.
But most of all my best moment at the La Pasada was meeting and having my first date
with one of the local ladies who I am now married to and reside in Louisiana.We look forward to our visits to the grandkids and staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajuncooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winslow
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
0.0 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#6 of 14 in Winslow
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing