We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Standing on the corner in Winslow, Arizona stay at La Posada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“After Standing on the corner in Winslow, Arizona stay at La Posada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

There are several good reason to stay at La Posado if you find yourself passing through Winslow, Arizona. The restaurant is one. Wonderful food and service and a chance to watch the trains go by this historic old Hotel. The hotel is a tastefully restored Harvey Hotel which gives you a hint at times past. There is much history revealed throughout the facility. I first visited the restaurant a few years ago, shortly after the restoration and told myself, if I ever got back this way I would stay at La Posado. That opportunity occurred in July 2014. Absolutely no disappontments. Worth going out of your way to spend a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    343
    71
    20
    19
See reviews for
308
987
89
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great grounds, natural gardens, hay bail maze, and trains. Mary Colter designed the hotel for the Harvey House (she also did a lot of the design at the Grand Canyon). Had her act together here, you don't even know the trains are passing by. Lots of great art work throughout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rowaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is an interesting place to stay. The Hotel itself is very nice in my opinion. We have stayed in a lot of older restored/reclaimed hotels and this one is of a similar style. The place is very large with a lot of room to roam. Nice gardens and surrounding grounds. You have to remember you're in an OLD restored hotel when reviewing the place. This is NOT a modern hotel with every convenience. There is some train noise but as bad as I expected, tracks are only a few yards away and very busy at all hours. The train noise woke me a few times (we left the balcony door open a few inches) but it just gave me a few seconds to consider all the travelers that had been through the place in another era. We will definitely be back. Not much in Winslow itself but we used it as a base to visit several parks in the area.

NO microwave or fridge in the room and no or breakfast of any sort provided. Breakfast was available in the restaurant. We always bring a small YETI cooler to such places with a few drinks and snacks.

Room Tip: Of course, the closer to the tracks your room is the noisier it gets. We ate in the restaurant and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our first trip to La Posada was delightful. This next time we will be going to photograph the "Little Painted Desert". Having stayed there once, I can't imagine staying anywhere else while in Winslow. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the dining room is excellent - with a fine wine list. The waiter was very knowledgeable and was able to suggest a great pairing. Knowing that Winslow is a pretty laid back town, I was a little amazed that the restaurant would be this good. Needless to say, the room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. And we were able to take our best friend with us - a fox-red Labrador called Shotgun!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-KRIM-FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here 2 times. It is a beautifully restored place. The decor and rooms are fabulous. The owners have done such a great job at preserving a treasure of the past in Arizona. The beds and linens are comfortable. The restaurant is superb, too. All of the staff are professional and very customer oriented.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am an extremely light sleeper and I was so worried about the train noise, it was no problem. Slept through the night. Next time I may ask for a room facing the trains. They gently ramble by and they are very cool. There are a few things that make this room special. It has a door to the outside which would be great if you have pets as it faces the cottonwood grove. I liked it because you can directly to the outside without having to go through the lobby yet you are still within the compound so you feel quite safe. The room is in the "old" room wing. I noticed when walking the hall that most of rooms have a step up to the bathroom. The Betty Grable room has more of ramp. Lastly it is fitted with jet tub albeit a very small one, but still great.
The ambiance of the hotel is very relaxing. It is what you make it. There are so many places to linger and enjoy. I tried to imagine what Mary Coulter was trying to express by putting a garden wall here or a library there. Treat yourself and experience it at least once. It's an incredible value if you appreciate fine architecture. Maybe I'll see you there as I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night, great staff organized an early check in for us. The hotel is not a hotel it's a home! No overbearing staff watching every move you make! We sat in the foyer, gallery, had dinner and breakfast in the turquoise room a Harvey restaurant and the beautifully restored hotel. Be prepared to be surprised by the peaceful and historic atmosphere, amazing modern art and gift shop. A beautiful and memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendastarr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 14 in Winslow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing