We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Year In a Row!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Third Year In a Row!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Each year I drive from Dallas to Laguna Beach for the summer, and until a couple of years ago, would stay in Albuquerque because it's about the half-way mark. After visiting Santa Fe and reading about Mary Colter, I found out about La Posada and found the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. In 2012 I drove 910 miles in one day, by myself, to stay at La Posada instead of Albuquerque. Every extra mile that day was worth it. I was greeted by this gorgeous Spanish-style oasis in the middle of the desert. I love the train-watching, art, gardens, food and margaritas in the bar, dog-friendliness, and the gracious staff. Plus it's an incredible value. I've now been stretching that first day drive 3 years in a row for La Posada, and each time it's just as fun to pull into the driveway as the last. I'll be back year after year, and have recommended it to numerous friends and family that make a similar trip on I-40. Allan Affeldt's labor of love is a true gift to quiet Winslow and travelers passing through this part of the country.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lagunadallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    343
    71
    20
    19
See reviews for
308
987
89
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Was looking for a hotel to stay at on the way home from Los Angeles and came across LaPosada. What a great find. Stayed in the John Wayne room it was two double beds and the original tiled bathroom. Western décor, wooden floors not nasty wall to wall carpet. The hotel is beautiful and gardens are very nice. Also on the side of the hotel there is a hay bale maze. After dinner at the hotel restaurant, The Turquoise Room, we went outside where they had rocking chairs. You can sit and watch the endless number of trains going east and west. We were also lucky enough to see Amtrak stop at the hotel which is the train station for Winslow. What fun. Did not hear any train noise in our room. The Standin' on the Corner Park for Eagles fans is 5 minutes away. Love the hotel we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve5074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The moment I sat on the couch in our lovely room I knew that dogs had been sleeping on it. Being very allergic to dogs, I sneezed and itched all night. When we checked out next morning my husband asked about their pet policy and was told by a very unsympathetic front desk lady that for $10 a night dogs were welcome to stay in any room - she obviously felt they were more important than human patrons paying $165 a night! The 'chef owned' restaurant in the hotel was fabulous and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask if dogs had been in the room you request and select an upstairs room because of bathroom noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Teaching-Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

On a drive from Manhattan Beach, CA to Oklahoma City, OK I was searching for a non-Flagstaff hotel and thought about Winslow, thinking there was nothing there. Was I ever wrong! The renovation story and the former Harvey railroad hotel itself are absolutely charming. We were smitten when we turned into the parking lot! We were also lucky to get a room, only making the reservation four days prior. They were sold out by evening. We were promptly checked in by very friendly staff, given a brochure/map and directions around the hotel, and then perused the extensive gift shop. I will say there are no elevators, which, since we had small bags and were only staying one night, was not an issue for us. We stayed in the Lauren Hutton suite, which overlooked the front courtyard. Noise of arriving or departing guests was not an issue. The room was huge, the bathroom was roomy and beautifully tiled, and the kingsize bed that night was most comfortable. My husband had made a reservation at The Turquoise Room for dinner, so we popped into the bar off the restaurant for a drink before. Those at the bar, each had a La Posada story of how long they had been patrons and were very friendly. The restaurant food was five stars! My husband had a wild platter-elk, quail, duck, bison- which was amazing and we also had the duck tacos. Delicious! If you do stay here, make sure you order a Turquoise Margarita made with blue curaçao and tequila. Muy bonita y deliciosa! There's a ballroom which is now a spacious lounge, with game tables, lots of game selections, books to read, a turquoise grand piano and a homey fireplace. The resident, charming classical guitarist in a cozy sitting area made for a perfect end to a perfect afternoon of exploring the hotel, taking in the art gallery upstairs, sitting by the tracks in rocking chairs and waving at the engineers as the trains lumbered by. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay for a few more days to totally disconnect and relax!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKgirl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

The only reason to go to Winlsow is a stopping point on a road trip or, as in my case, visit my mother's home town. However, there is another reason - the La Posada Hotel!!! This hotel is as charming a place you will find in the middle of nowhere. Most people stop to "stand on the corner" but they should plan on staying at least one night at the Posada. This is a not to be missed hotel. The restaurant is outstanding as well. Next time you are drving on the 40, cool off one night by staying here at this historic place!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jrdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had heard about La Posada for years, and finally planned a stay. We were booked in the Mary Elizabeth Colter room (210) - one of the balcony rooms. Since she designed the hotel, we felt that was auspicious! The room was cozy and comfortable, rustic in décor. The balcony was large - there were six chairs! It overlooked the cottonwood grove. We spent a lot of time on the balcony, watching birds and critters. It was very relaxing. We also spent a lot of time wandering the wonderful grounds - so many places to sit and contemplate the beauty. We also toured the inside, reading about famous and infamous guests, and checking out the art. The grounds and inside of the hotel are really worth exploring, even if you don't stay at the hotel. But stay at the hotel and eat in the Turquoise Room at least once. Oh - the trains. There are lots of them, but they never disturbed us - we sort of like the sound of trains.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
464 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Historic railroad hotel, beautifully restored and a bit like a time warp to 1930. Rooms are unique (select from the pictures on the web page) and equipped with ear plugs. Yes, the railroad still stops at the hotel - but the hotel construction is so solid that the ear plugs are unnecessary.
As part of the original concept, when people came for extended visits, the public areas are extensive and artfully decorated. Paintings by Tina Mihon, the owners wife, has a gallery on the second floor. Architectural details abound.
The Turquoise Room is also just the fine dining a 1930 railroad hotel would provide.
Bottom line is that this hotel is a bucket-list experience.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, and named for someone who stayed in the hotel in the old days. Check the web p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 14 in Winslow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing