We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4-Star Hotel at 2-Star Price”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“4-Star Hotel at 2-Star Price”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a 1929 railroad hotel (no trains anymore) designed as a fantasy Mexican hacienda that offers rooms and dining comparable to Scottsdale at 1/3 the price or less. But it is WAY, WAY OUT in Winslow, Arizona, so unless you are driving to Phoenix from Colorado or Santa Fe or beyond, or vice-versa, it is not a destination unto itself. Five years ago, it was. Its restaurant, "The "Turquoise Room", was back then "best restaurant in Arizona" and one of "the top 3 best restaurants in USA". Travel articles back then advised making a special trip from Phoenix to stay at La Posada overnight just to eat in their incredible restaurant -- if you could get reservations! We did, and 5 years ago it really was worth the trip. But that was then and this is now. The hotel and restaurant are still very, very good. Mind, this is Winslow so golfing, pool, or room service are not to be had here (or anywhere). But if your driving trip takes you near Winslow, definitely stay. It is no longer a 5-star destination unto itself as it was a few years ago, but I would fairly give it 4 stars today and if you are on Highway 40, this is quite a place to stay.

Room Tip: Each room is different. Sometimes, depending on who is at the front desk, they may let you see sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    362
    75
    21
    19
See reviews for
331
1,039
91
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Have your camera ready upon checkin as this hotel is so unique it feels like you're staying in a museum. This was a hotel experience like no other! There's so much to see and you're free to roam around the massive premises. They give you a self tour booklet when you checkin but we were so enthralled with our surroundings and just going in whatever direction that caught our eye that we didn't get to read it until we had checked out. The many artifacts and artwork are amazing!! Each guest room is dedicated to a famous person. We stayed in the Gene Autry room on the second floor andmit was very comfortable and quiet.

It's hard to describe the guest rooms. If I walked into an old room at a Super 8 I'd turn around and walk out, but these rooms are a mix of old and new, very clean, with an extremely comfortable modern bed, full size shampoo, conditioners, moisturizers and hand soap. Navaho rugs and huge ornate mirrors alongside tiled artwork.

Dogs are welcome with a $60 deposit but if your pooch is well behaved, doesn't disrupt other guests, and does no damage, you'll be reimbursed $50 at checkout.

Don't stay at a chain hotel when visiting Winslow, AZ or surrounding areas. Stay at La Posada......guaranteed you won't be disappointed with the experience. We stayed here the night before visiting the Grand Canyon. It was a bit out of our way but we enjoyed the experience very much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSRoadrunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

In looking for some place to stay between Albuquerque and Sedona we stumbled across the La Posada Hotel and are very glad we did. We enjoyed everything about the hotel from the interest facts, to the artistic displays, to the interestingly named rooms. We wish we were staying more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

To celebrate my husband's birthday, he and I flew from NYC to Albuquerque and stayed over night in a hotel at the airport. The next morning we stocked up on supplies and hit the road!! We didn't have any reservations for the night… we were due to arrive in Sedona the following evening and were not sure how many miles we would cover.

We pulled into Winslow at 8:30 pm. Much of the town was dark and appeared closed, as we were making a second pass through we saw a beautiful lights decorating a row of trees and pulled in. It was La Posada Hotel. This property is adorable, it is unlike any place we have stayed! When we got to the front desk we were given a map of the hotel, discussed our room options and price with the pleasant gentleman who worked at the front desk. We picked the Bob Hope room for it's balcony.

Since it was late the restaurant was about to close, the concierge called the dining room and notified them that we were coming and to hold a spot for us.

The hotel restaurant is called the Turquoise Room I can not say enough about how amazing the food was!!! I plan to go online and purchase their cook book!! I am a vegetarian, so I often only have one choice at restaurants….the Caprese Salad or Sandwhich. At the Turquoise Room I was able to get a vegetarian platter… and it was fantastic!!

The hotel itself is quite large, with many common rooms that you can hang out in and wander through. There are fireplaces, chairs, interesting collections of art and objets everywhere. There is also a very nice gift shop where local pieces are sold. If it is local, it will be labeled with the artist who created it.

The rooms are cozy and decorated in warm colors. There was an entire bookcase of books incase we wanted something to read! We slept great!! This was a great place for one night, very relaxing and charming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedOlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Definitely not a chain hotel experience and that is almost completely a good thing. We were visiting the Painted Desert and Petrified Forest which is about 30 minutes east of Winslow on Interstate 40. The owners are still working on the property in order to return it to it's once proud status and condition after many years of neglect. Don't let that statement deter you - my party had three rooms and all were in great condition along with most of the interior spaces in the hotel. Most of the needed work appears to be finishing the grounds and gardens and upgrading some of the exterior elements. The second floor rooms are larger from all descriptions. My room was #246 (the Bill Engvall room) which is a Deluxe - the largest and most expensive ($169 rack rate).. Its large, nicely decorated and king bed was very comfortable. It has a sitting area with leather chairs and a pull-out sofa sleeper which my daughter used. One of our party's rooms was #245 (the Billy Al Bengston room) which was funky since it has the bathtub/shower directly opposite the king bed. This would be great for young, romantic couples or OK for a single as my brother-in-law was on this trip. Odd but kinda fun and different - much like this place in general.

The Turquoise Room restaurant is very nice, good selection of meat dishes including game such as venison, bison, elk, and quail. More expensive than I would typically spend but service and flavors were very good for all 5 adult meals we ordered. Also have a pretty reasonable kids menu.

Hotel has a large sitting room (old ballroom) on main floor with different areas/nooks for people to look at historical info, owners paintings, other art, books and magazines and a fireplace. Also, a large play table with big wooden blocks and shapes for kids to entertain themselves. No video games, pool or gym. This place harkens back 100 years to a slower pace and that's not a bad thing.

History of the hotel itself and surrounding area is plentiful with photos, maps and literature posted in many displays in entryways and halls. Very interesting especially for those into railroad, indian culture and settlers. This dovetails nicely if you are exploring the nearby National Parks and other areas of interest.

Overall it was a really nice place to stay. We were there one afternoon and evening between Christmas and New Years. Gardens are pretty stark but that is to be expected in winter in this area. Photos of grounds in spring/summer make for a much more colorful exterior. Note that Winslow is a town struggling to regain economic vitality. Lots of rundown homes within a few blocks of the hotel and limited dining options. What can you say, the hotel can't change everything but is likely the economic anchor for the future. The town has created 'the famous street corner' recalling the lyrics from the Eagles hit "Take it Easy" back in the 70s, complete with statue of a young man and a flat bed Ford truck. Good photo op.

Like other reviews will mention, I found the owners "art" hanging all over the hotel to be completely out of tune with the history and decor of the place. It actually detracted from my stay which was unfortunate. You are forced to view her large and loud paintings as they are wide-spread and intermixed with other decor and art in many common areas. It's unnecessary and out of character with the other fine attributes of the hotel. The owners will likely never take this stuff down but they should. They are trying to be the saviors of this old Harvey Hotel and that is commendable. The Mion paintings do nothing to aid in this mission as most people are turned off by it and that is not going to help the viability of the hotel nor the town of Winslow. If you have to have it displayed, put it in it's own defined area and let the guests choose. That said, it is worth a night or two if you are in the area or passing through and want more than a Motel 6 or Best Western can offer.

Room Tip: Second floor not good for handicapped access, not sure if ground floor rooms offer enough maneuverin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarrettK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

What a nice surprise to find such a beautiful hotel and restaurant in what feels like the middle of nowhere! I heard about La Posada from a neighbor who regularly drives from Northern CA to Santa Fe. We arrived after spending two long days on the road with our dogs. It's hard to find nice places to stay with animals and we were thrilled to know this beautifully restored hacienda welcomes pets. We were greeted by a helpful and friendly staff and soon learned it was perfectly fine to take a draft IPA and split of sparkling wine back to enjoy in our lovely room. We were looking forward to dinner in the The Turquoise Room, as it came highly recommended. We both had delicious meals with a southwestern flair. The signature black bean and corn soup was amazing, as was the sweet corn tamale, and both my chicken and my husband’s bison dish were superb. The best surprise was that they served a chocolate soufflé for dessert – also hard to find these days. It was such a wonderful meal that my husband declared it to be our anniversary dinner which we hadn’t had time to celebrate a few days earlier. I’ve since learned the history of this former railroad hotel designed by a female architect. I want to go back so I can enjoy the art, the architecture and the gardens…and of course another fabulous meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently spent one night here en route to the Petrified Forest. This is a stunning property that has been exquisitely restored and was fantastic value. The location, next to the railway line, pleased my husband greatly. One can imagine this place in its heyday as a popular spot with the stars and passenger trains coming and going all day. The furnishings and decor were tasteful and redolent of the style and graciousness of the era. It was worth the trip to Winslow just for this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh_Doran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winslow
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
0.0 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#6 of 14 in Winslow
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing