We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel with lots of history”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at La Posada from 11/6/13 to 11/9/13 in the Alice Faye Room, #114. The room was on the small side, but navigable for the 2 of us, and was located in the west wing of the hotel on the northern Rte. 66 side (farther away from the trains). It was very clean and the tile floors had rugs for more comfort underfoot. The bathroom was a good size and this particular room had a whirlpool tub, which we unfortunately didn't get to use.

Yes, the disturbances from the passing trains are less apparent in this location, but as other reviewers have said, if you are a light sleeper, you will still hear and feel the trains passing by. Use earplugs or a take a Benadryl to help you sleep if you are easily roused by noise. Other rooms in this wing that will experience less of the noise are #'s 112 to say, #120, because they are to the north of the building. I never made it over to the eastern wing, but I can assume that the rooms on the second floor above us are similarly numbered so, #'s 212 to maybe 218 would be a bit more audibly train-proof.

We found the hotel to be very beautiful and full of historical photographs and literature about Fred Harvey and the metamorphosis of the hotel from its early days to what it is now. Every one of the personnel were pleasant, informative and helpful, whether it was a question about the hotel itself and the facilities available to guests, to questions about area attractions like "Standing on the Corner" and where to get a good breakfast outside of The Turquoise Room.

Things to know:
1) This part of Winslow appears very run down and desolate when you are driving through, especially if you arrive after dark...it's almost a little scary. Daylight, however, improves this visual a bit, as you can now spot some of the new art galleries, antique shops, restaurants and small parks. It appears that efforts are being made to revitalize this part of old Route 66, but apparently things are evolving slowly, as they always do when cash-flow is an issue.

2) La Posada does have: in-room TVs, hair-dryers, air conditioners, iron and ironing board, ceiling fans, free morning coffee & tea available in the gift shop (which has lots of cool stuff), a computer you can use in the gift shop (to check in with your airline, for example), daily papers to read, a very large lounge area with fireplace and comfy chairs, a bar and restaurant (The Turquoise Room, a separate entity from the hotel), great prices for the rooms (which stay the same year-round, $119 to $169/night).

3) La Posada does not have: an elevator, in-room coffee makers, in-room telephones, short walks into the hotel or to any of the guest rooms (if you have difficulty walking or climbing stairs, this might be of concern for you).

4) We found this to be a great central location for lodging if you are planning to visit the Petrified Forest/Painted Desert (~ 1hour away), Grand Canyon Railway (1.5 hours away), attractions in Flagstaff (1 hour away) or The Meteor Crater (35 minutes away).

We will stay at La Posada if we are ever out this way again...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCaptain93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,856)
There are newer reviews for La Posada Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the La Posada Hotel in Winslow on October 24th to celebrate a birthday. Phoned hotel for room choice - reservationist are very helpful. We chose Lauren Hutton room (#242) - large king deluxe w/whirlpool. The room was spacious and well-designed. We did hear the train at night so if you are a light sleeper this may not be the room for you.
Before arrival I watched a video about the hotel's history. I definitely recommend you do this as well as view the video at the hotel. The reason for staying here is the architectural significance (Mary Colter-designed) and the historical significance. We enjoyed browsing the hotel, its many galleries, the gift shop, enjoying a drink in the Martini room, and eating in the Turquoise room for both dinner and breakfast. Check out review of Turquoise room. Our martini and manhattan were perfectively made.
Other than the visitors center - a must go - and the remembrance park with beams from World Trade Center there is not much to see. Some museums were closed when we arrived so that could have been part of the problem. We walked the center of town and had our pictures taken at the corner ...that's about it. We did enjoy watching the trains go by and this made up for the lack of town activity.

Room Tip: Do not choose #242 if light sleeper. All rooms are nice; however, a ground floor away from the trac...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apricot_Alma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Small town with not much there but this lovely character filled hotel. No need to venture out as the hotel has so much historical and cultural aspects to it and to explore. The room was nice albeit a little too close to the rail way line which is my only complaint. The ballroom with the fireplace was a lovely retreat to just sit by the fire and read or chat to other guests. The turquoise room restaurant was amazing, the food was sensational for both diner and breakfast. The unique food was so good that I purchased the cookbook. You must also walk to " standing on the corner" which is only a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the railway line as you can.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Built in 1930 as a resort destination for the Fred Harvey Co alongside the Santa Fe RR tracks; remodeled over the past 10 years. Extensive public areas + gardens + library, game room, bar, art gallery with Mion oils. West wing rooms mostly original. Rate for 2 $140 as of Nov 2013. Great food includes locally inspired dishes & flavors. Lots of art all over, including Zapotec and Navajo weavings, large paintings, etc; some for sale some not. Free WiFI open network; good mattresses, very very clean, live guitar music in lounge in evening. Built "green" in 1930! with natural ventilation; now has room AC units too. Good base for trips to Hopi & Navajo rez, Meteor Crater, Petrified Forest, Sunset Crater, Hubbell trading post, and more.

Room Tip: West side rooms more historic value; south side has more train noise but good for train spotters; no...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed only one night at La Posada but could easily have spent another day exploring the hotel and grounds. It is fascinating...one of a kind and shouldn't be missed. It is an old, restored building, and my room with a king size bed was fairly small, but it was lovely and comfortable. The gift shop is full of wonderful treasures not to be found anywhere else. If I lived in Winslow, I would be there often. We had cocktails and appetizers in the martini bar but did not eat in the Turquoise Room just because of the timing of our stay and our other travel plans. The staff is very welcoming and attentive. Don't pass on the opportunity to stay at La Posada if you are traveling in the area. It's a real gem.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank LookingforGilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was thanks to the US government shutdown in October 2013 that we discovered this gem of a hotel. (We did not stay overnight; this is a review of the restaurant only.)

Because we could not visit federally owned Indian ruins (e.g., Montezuma's Castle), we drove east from Flagstaff to the state-run Homolovi ruins, near Winslow. This once-bustling town, renowned in song and story, suffered when Route 66 was supplanted by I-40. It is still served by Amtrak, successor to the old Santa Fe, the reason La Posada exists. It was the last of the railroad hotels built by Fred Harvey and was designed by an eminent female architect. In recent years, it has been lovingly restored, and it is worth a stop just to walk through the public areas and the high quality gift shop.

We had lunch from a menu that features southwestern Mexican and Indian-inspired dishes. All were excellent, if a bit pricey. Although there are no longer any uniformed Harvey Girls (look it up) in attendance, service was efficient. It was really a hint at how well-heeled travelers once learned about the west by rail. The tracks are just outside, and trains (mostly freight) rumble through regularly. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarveyL759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Historical building renovated, not really restored but retains the flavor of the Mary Elizabeth Jane Coulter era along the Santa Fe Railroad. Although trains go by often,we did not hear the whistle blow while we were inside. It was fun watching folks disembark at the hotel and imagine years gone by when train travel was de rigueur.

Turquoise Room restaurant offers outstanding Southwest cuisine. The squash blossom appetizer was superb!

Great park with Indian ruins nearby.

Worth a trip back in time.

Room Tip: Ask for room on second floor with balcony if available. Don't let the lack of balcony deter you...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
717 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#6 of 14 in Winslow
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 10
Motel 10
#12 of 14 in Winslow
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range: $153 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing