We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Summer Trip”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Summer Trip”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My cousin and I had been on a 5 day road trip from Denver, Colorado to Los Angeles, California and had stopped here on day 3. This was by far the highlight of our stays on the trip.

The staff were incredibly friendly, the rooms were exceptional, and the food at the turquoise room was excellent.

Some people complain about the trains waking them up, however we slept through the night without hearing a peep.

I highly recommend this gem of a hotel.. you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garlandz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    354
    75
    21
    19
See reviews for
328
1,027
90
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

While the owners have spent millions on restoring this property it is severely lacking in many respects. First, front desk. They had the "I can care less attitude and did a good job of projected that when we checked in. Big surprise, the property has no elevators. They had given us a room on the second floor but having a disability I had no way of getting our luggage up what appeared to be a full flight of stairs. When I asked about ADA compliance they looked at me as if I was from a different planet. They offered to carry my luggage up the stairs but that's about it. There are stairs all over the property. Starting with the majority of the first floor guest rooms and certainly all the rooms on the second floor. I was given a choice of taking a room on the first floor, at a higher price, or forgoing my reservation. Even the first floor room I was given was up four stairs. When we checked out the next morning I asked the front desk people, a different crew about ADA compliance. They showed me a list of as called compliant rooms. One out of 53 in the hotel. Really! How they can claim ADA compliance is beyond me. Historic property exemption or something.
My advice, if you want to go through the property and museum plan to spend a day. Don't stay overnight. Skip staying in Winslow. If I seem less than taken with this property, you're correct. A waste of money.

However, the property does have one redeeming feature. Located on the property, but not owned by LaPosada is the Turquoise Room featuring the cuisine of renowned chef John Sharpe. Don't miss having lunch or dinner at this restaurant. Make a reservation so you can get seated without waiting forever. It's well worth.

La Posada, NO! Turquoise Room most emphatically YES!

Room Tip: Avoid this property if you have disabilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LVSCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Loved our stays in the historic La Posada. It is on Route 66 in Winslow Az. Designed by female architect Mary Jane Colter in a Spanish hacienda style. This inn has a wealth of historical information and detail. A former Fred Harvey hotel along the tracks of the Santa Fe rail line fell into disrepair as train travel diminished. The inn was purchased and I has been restored and added on to creating a fabulous retreat. The Turquoise Room restaurant is an additional treat! Delicious southwestern food served with a flare of detail and presentation. If you are "getting your kicks on Route 66" this is a MUST.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and both were beautifully appointed with amazing craftsmanship and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here on route from the painted desert in Arizona to the Grand Canyon. We couldn't have been happier. We were going to stay in Holbrook, but decided last minute to stay at the La posada. What a great choice. The hotel was absolutely beautiful with a rich history. The restaurant was excellent. They grow all of their vegetables, spices and herbs on the premises. The restaurant was a little pricey but worth it. The hotel was only slightly more than the hotels in Holbrook, but definitely worth the money!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnpn1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Arriving from a long dusty trail, La Posada is like an oasis. With a rich history, exhaustingly detailed in the museum that occupies the ground floor. However, it's a hotel as well; and in my opinion it fails here. The rooms are 'quaint', i.e. tiny, cramped, overstuffed with irrelevant stuff that belongs downstairs. As a guest room it fails because of grossly inadequate lighting, terrible bathroom, lack of electric outlets .... I could go on, but I'm sure you'll see the trend here. The front desk staff could not have been more indifferent if they'd tried.

But then we went into the separately owned La Posada Restaurant that occupies that small part of the ground floor that's not filled with old junk. What a difference! Great, really great, staff sublime food, and an all-round exquisite experience. The only downside was knowing we had to go back up to that cold, cramped, dark hole of a room.

Room Tip: If you decide to suffer this hotel in order to savour the fantastic food, be sure to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My family (two adults & two children) only stayed for one night, but it was memorable! The hotel itself and rooms were very comfortable. Lots of places to explore inside and out - if we had stayed longer we would have found it easy to relax and lounge around the hotel. Rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. We stayed in the Doublemint Twins room which was next to the art gallery (which had some rather funky paintings that my kids likely had some wild dreams after viewing!). Turquoise Room restaurant was the best meal we had on our Four Corners trip! We didn't get to see much train action since there apparently was a backup in another state, but it was interesting to see nonetheless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
322 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We traveled through Winslow back 13 years ago and stopped into La Posada and ate at the Turquois Room and vowed that one day we would stay there. The chance finally came and we were not disappointed. The stay was fabulous. We fell even more in love with the place and didn't want to leave. There is just something peaceful about it. Mary Colter sure did a fine job all of those years ago.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing