We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful taste of 1920's Arizona and the Santa Fe RR Harvey House experience”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Truly one of Arizona's great architectural treasures!! A place that every one should stay in for at least one night. The historic La Posada Hotel and Railroad stop for the Santa Fe railroad is a piece of Arizona's history that combines Harvey House hotel history with the Santa Fe RR with Mary Colter (the architect for Fred Harvey and the builder of the La Posada) with American Indian history (Winslow is near a preserved Anasazi ruins) and several other tangents. Mary Colter also designed the Santa Fe RR dining car's pottery dinner service - the highly prized Mimbreno pieces (using actual designs from the Anasazi Minbres indians of south-western New Mexico) sought by collectors today, as well as several structures on the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. The La Posada was visited and influenced by several famous people in American history of that time, including Charles Lindbergh, who designed Winslow's nearby airport, and Thomas Molesworth, the Cody, Wyoming furniture designer who traveled to Arizona in the 30's to purchase Navajo rugs for his cowboy-themed interior designs for the rich and famous. Mary Colter designed the hotel with a rich Spanish landowner's sprawling hacienda in mind. The hotel, once converted to Santa Fe RR offices and then nearly torn down, was lovingly and accurately restored and preserved by a buyer from California who saved the grand old lady from destruction. From the Spanish themed long hallways and the archways connecting halls to the main room, to the wrought iron fixtures, to the terracotta tiles and sandstone flooring used liberally throughout, you can feel like you are actually standing in the hotel in the 1920's. For you Eagles fans, right down the street is the "Standing on a Corner in Winslow Arizona" park. The hotel also includes at least one dining area, I think a little pricy but easily forgiven considering the setting. I've stayed there several times, once with my younger son. We were having breakfast at a table near a window facing the tracks when a train went by. I was amazed at how quiet it remained!! Mary must have planned for the heavy beasts and built her structure accordingly, because there was barely a whisper of the otherwise roaring train as it passed by just a few hundred feet away. And one of the best parts, the rooms are relatively inexpensive. I think it's been under $100 per night each time I've stayed. I seem to recall in the $89 or $99 area, maybe less. The hotel also has several "quiet" areas where one can sit and read a book or visit quietly with friends or family. There is a great room off to one side with a fireplace that contains several pieces of original or period pieces of appropriately designed furniture. There is at least one long and wide hallway with lots of seating and an outdoor courtyard with shade trees and lots of seating. it has been pretty easy for me and my family, each time we've visited, to find plenty of privacy and solitude.

Do I have anything negative to say about the place? Only this, and please forgive me because this will directly insult the people who have done so much to make the La Posada experience even possible..... Like a bad coat of paint, this once fine old lady has been covered up with gaudy, cheap and tacky kitsch to the point that one can barely picture the once beautiful structure I defined earlier. Like putting cake makeup and thick red lipstick on an old wrinkled face, and hanging gaudy costume jewelry from the ears and neck, this hotel is now littered with cheap Mexican touristy items and the walls are almost completely obscured by inappropriate paintings. By inappropriate, I do not pass judgment on the quality or value of the paintings. I say they do not belong on the walls of such a historic place. They are horribly out of place. A few, in the early days of restoration, could be tolerated or even appreciated - as they are by the wife of the man who has done the fine work described above. The La Posada is, for all intents, their home. That they even let us share in their home is an honor and privilege not to go unrecognized. But I think they have forgotten their mission, defined in a CD that they sell (well worth the money and a view of the earlier La Posada I described above) that shows his pride and proudly boasts of their accomplishments of preserving the La Posada. Like a frog in water that is slowly brought to boil, I fear that the owners and managers have added clutter to the walls over the years to the point today that the La Posada is buried under layers of ugly make-up and thick red lipstick and they don't even know what they have done! I beseech them to take a step back and look at what they have done!!! There is great joy in visiting the historic structures from the historic American west. The Gadston Hotel in Douglas, the Copper Queen in Bisbee, the Hassayampa Inn in Prescott, the El Tovar at the Grand Canyon. The La Posada is one of these fine historic places, but it is getting harder and harder to see her for what she is, under all of the clutter of what she has become.

Room Tip: We've stayed upstairs each time. The rooms have authentic wrought iron bed frames and period fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsfnewriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,154 - 1,160 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Winslow, Az seemed like a good stop over between Canyon de Chelly and Phoenix. What a surprisingly delightful discovery. La Posada has been lovingly and tastefully restored to its former state and then some. There are beautiful works of art at every turn. The Turquoise Restaurant is not to be missed and serves food that is a work of art as well. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay as well as learning about the remarkable woman architect who originally designed this place, Mary Coulter. If anywhere near here, this is well worth a stop!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeyJude228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The room was nice and a good size for four of us. We were very disappointed with the service in the Turquoise restaurant. Although I added a tip to the bill of over 10% my credit card slip was returned to me to be increased.i was not impressed, the tip was discretionary and we were happy with what we left nod did not appreciate being challenged.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the La Posada Hotel for our anniversary. Very happy we did too! If you are into railroad history, architecture and Route 66 Harvey Hotel memories, then you will enjoy this unique hotel. While you would not normally choose Winslow as a detination, it is worth spending a night at this unique hotel. Everyone is friendly and knowledgable and eager to accomodate. If you love trains, you can watch and listen to about 100 trains a day passing close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a 2nd floor room and ask which famous persons have stayed in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped here en-route from Sedona to Santa Fe. There may be other places to stay in Winslow, but none like the La Poseda. It is a period hotel and therefore completely different to most of the accommodation in that area. The rooms are well equipped, the public rooms are very interesting and the gardens are well worth looking at. On top of this Turquoise Room and the Martini Bar are some of the best examples of restaurants and cocktail bars about. The La Posada may not be to everyone's taste but it is certainly well worth a visit, especially if you like railroads!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Not only is the La Posada a must stop for any Route 66 traveler, it's so good that it could be a destination in itself. Make sure to take the time to explore the gardens and grounds, and then go inside and tour all the public spaces inside. The Turquoise Room restaurant is superb. We had a second floor room that was very nicely appointed with wooden floors and some original details in the bathroom.

If you are interested in this property you probably know this already, but just in case, it is indeed hard up against a very active railroad with huge freight trains coming through all the time. That's a feature, not a drawback -- after all, the railroad was why this establishment was built in the first place. It does mean that you can't open your window to enjoy the cool desert night air without a heavy noise penalty. Closed, the window does a pretty good job of keeping the RR noise down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I make it a point to get to Winslow at least once every 6 mo to 1 year just for the pleasure of staying at La Posada and eating at the Turquoise Room. It is a throwback to what travel must have been like in the heyday of the railroads and Harvey House Hotels. The architect, Mary Jane Colter designed several structures on/in the Grand Canyon in addition to numerous Harvey House Hotels. Her story alone is fascinating. Staying at this national treasure today is a perfect blend of 21st Century technology and old world charm. The hotel and guest rooms are regularly refreshed blending antiques and modern amenities. This is a destination hotel unless you are driving cross-country and then it's worth any detour to get there. The river and swimming hole nearby is beautiful and the Painted Desert and Meteor Crater are short drives from hotel.

Room Tip: Spend some time selecting a room online -- I have stayed in 4 or 5 different room and have enjoyed e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brukze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
723 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#7 of 14 in Winslow
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel 6 Winslow
Motel 6 Winslow
#10 of 14 in Winslow
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E Second St, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range: $153 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing