We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ooo la, La Posada!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ooo la, La Posada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Looking for a wonderful stop in Northern Arizona? Go to La Posada! Designed by Mary Jane Colter, this her final masterpiece has been lovingly restored to its hacienda décor. Of course Tina Mion paintings don't exactly fit that bill, but the atmosphere is wonderful, the grounds are beautiful, and train noise adds ambiance! I stayed in room 107, and never heard the train, although I really enjoyed sitting out back on the lawn and watching the trains come in and out. A step back in time, La Posada is a classic!

PS - Ignore the town of Winslow - or stand on the corner get your picture taken - then hurry on to La Posada!

Room Tip: Room #107 is mid hallway, and overlooks the sunken garden. very quiet, and lovely! Plus, a jetted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    343
    71
    20
    19
See reviews for
308
987
89
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Somewhere different after so many chain hotels. This is a restored Fred Harvey treasure from the 1930s, the age of travel on the railroad. Still a work in progress, rooms revenue is going to a good cause. Comfortable and well appointed room with lots of books and a good selection of toiletries including shampoo and conditioner make for a pleasant stay. The freight trains trundle on thru day and night, a card in the room accompanies ear plugs in case guests are not train lovers, nice touch. The restaurant called The Turquoise Room serves delicious and unusual menu choices (we had elk and quail) quite expensive but well worth cost; excellent service too.
We thoroughly enjoyed this experience and will be back on another trip.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping with ambient noise (like trains) ask for a room away from track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redrockswiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our family stayed here last week during our trip to Arizona. We loved it! The building was unique and the eclectic art and furnishings were fun! We loved walking around and sitting in the garden at night. We ate dinner in their restaurant and shared four different things. The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves_the_summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We love historic hotels, and this is ranked up there with the best. We loved the history, restaurant, room, and service. Get their Signature Soup for an appetizer. Affordable gift shop, great value all the way around. We could have done without all of the owner's art hung throughout the hotel, too strange and egocentric for our taste. Don't plan on doing much sightseeing in Winslow, not much there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Diane Keaton room, would ask for it again. Whirlpools are big enough for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. The hotel feels like walking through a museum with all the displays. They had a guitar player in the front hall entertaining people as they walked into the building. You check in inside a large gift shop with gifts in many price ranges. The restaurant is right beside that. Both are worth a stop off the interstate.
The room we stayed in was very comfortable and quiet even though the train runs near enough to see the tracks.
The display of "standing on the corner" with the route 66 gift shop is within walking distance.
Before Interstate 40 was completed in the 70's it was a lot nicer in town. Sadly, many things have deteriorated. Las Posada had entered this phase and the owners have done a fantastic job restoring it and making it a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineaz306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

A summer drive across country led us to stop at this unique, renovated and historic hotel in Winslow, AZ. If you're a seasoned traveller, I'd say this is the only place to stay as, sadly, the town itself is incredibly rundown and depressed. The hotel, however, is quite cute and seems to be a passion project by owners who love design, architecture and art. Kudos to them. They do a nice job. The gardens surrounding the property are beautiful, and we really enjoyed our morning coffee sitting there, not unlike being in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenpointJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Though I love this hotel and try to stay at least once a year. I found that so many of the menu items are same year after year. I do like the wine suggestion but we don't like to eat the same thing year after year.
We stayed in the newer wing, and liked the large room. We did loose our pillows between the headboard and bed several times in the night.
I like the large size bottles of shampoo, etc including lotion, which this year is so much drier I needed the lotion more than normally.
We love watching the trains and always enjoyed the swing on the lawn, but this year it was gone.
We missed the guitar player this year as he started his vacation the day we arrived.
We will be back, but I am not sure we will be eating in the restaurant anymore as we bored with the same food every year.
They added a bookstore but they were getting some books in, so we were unable to see what they had.

Room Tip: Just remember they don't have an elevator for the second floor and you do you have walk the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 14 in Winslow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing