We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I'd had more time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish I'd had more time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is a gem! A beautiful piece of American history brought back to life! Rooms are small but cozy, clean an well kept. It is a place to spend time just wondering around the facilities. Take a mini retreat here. The cost was very affordable considering the history and all there is to see right there. I couldn't have been more pleased, just wish I had even more time there. The video about the recreation of the La Posada was well worth the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    348
    72
    21
    19
See reviews for
325
1,008
90
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The interior of this unique hotel is similar to a large bed and breakfast/museum full of history and things to walk around and look at. When we walked in a man was playing classical guitar in the lobby and it was so beautiful. I ended up buying his CD in the gift shop and it was nice to listen to on the drive the next day. They have a nice shop with all kinds of jewelry, handmade gifts.

The rooms are quiet and have most of the things you would find in a regular hotel. We got the standard king bed room. There wasn't a phone to call the front desk which we thought was weird. It had a nice big flat screen TV.

The restaurant was SO delicious. They definitely are a hidden gem in this small, sleep town. We were in heaven after finding some pretty bad options on the road.

I would say though that if you like the privacy of a regular hotel and are young and want to venture out and do things in the town, a) this town isn't a good place to stop and b) this hotel is really quiet and you can hear everyone's conversation in the rooms next door to you. So that was the only thing that kind of bothered us but overall we were so glad we stopped here. Beds were comfy and the hotel is pet friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The renovation of this hotel is amazing. We spent a big part of our visit strolling the lobby and halls. It is a way to connect with the glory days of train travel and to stay where many famous people have also visited. Our room was far enough from the train tracks so the train noise during the night was not a problem. It is just a short walk to the corner in Winslow made famous by the Eagles.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony or away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollie-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you care at all about preservation of our country's treasures, you must see this hotel, learn about its history and appreciate the way it has been lovingly restored to its original beauty. The rooms are pleasant, each with a history of its own. Dining is a delicious experience.

Room Tip: We'd heard about the train noise, yet we didn't experience that to any discernible degree. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We moved to AZ this year and we were considering lots of places for our anniversary in Sept. Our friends kept talking about La Posada and how much they enjoyed the hotel and restaurant. We like unusual and special places and this definitely fit the bill. If you love history, railroads, music or southwestern art this is the place for you! When we checked in we were amazed at this wonderful eccentric old place. Our room was very spacious, everything was very modern and yet held all of the charm of the original hotel. We loved the grounds and watching the trains roll by while we relaxed in a lawn swing. The owners have done a great job of restoring this wonderful piece of history. We had dinner and breakfast in the Turquoise Room, again exceptional.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper request a room away from the railroad side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

While on a family visit to Prescott, AZ, we drove all the way to Winslow just to have dinner and to see La Posada for ourselves after some friends had raved to us about their delightful stay there. It was worth the long drive!
The restaurant, The Turquoise Room, was just as excellent as our friends had described. Not to mention the beautiful resort itself! From the moment we drove up to the entrance, we knew that this was a magical place like no other. Fascinating architecture, outside and in, as well as the exquisite art and decor throughout. We would have loved to have stayed for days just to enjoy viewing all the treasures but since this was just a day trip and our time was limited, we were sad to leave. On our next trip back to Arizona in May, we are definitely planning a return trip to stay in the hotel and enjoy more superb meals in the restaurant.
(By the way, since we're fans of the band, The Eagles, it was fun to visit the nearby tribute to their song "Take It Easy" which mentions Winslow - but there's nothing good to say about the rest of the town.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

La Posada is a warm, wonderful environment, with visual delights around every corner. The historic hotel, which had been all but destroyed, has been lovingly and intelligently restored by its visionary owner, Allan Affeldt, who is tirelessly working to create a powerhouse of a hotel, as well as a stronger community in Winslow. Did I mention that the restaurant has exceptionally good food? As well as an adorable Martini Bar? That it was deigned by renowned architect Mary Colter and opened in 1930? That the trains run by and stop just outside the back door?

Room Tip: Each room is different, and you can choose from variables such as distance from the trains (for quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaSAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing