We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Desert”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel met my expectations and I was glad to have stayed here. We stayed one night (Nov. 14). It was a quiet time of year in this area and the hotel was very nice without the crowds of warmer seasons. Beautifully decorated and well restored. I love all the period decor and did not like many of the macabre artwork. It's so out of place with most of the property.

What I liked: The staff (Johhny, Danielle, Lee and Sheila!), the room (Anne Morrow Lindbergh #223), Khent, the guitarist, getting lost, the Turquoise Room (dinner and breakfast), Samantha, our server for breakfast, the location, the gift shop, the ambiance

What could be better: Alan, the owner - He really should be more gracious with guests. His shyness actually comes across as uncaring and jaded. Perhaps his passion for La Posada is greater than his sense of hospitality. I realize that a great effort has gone into the property, but a host's attitude is as valuable as the rest of the staff's graciousness. Even if he fakes being nicer, it might leave a better impression for those that show their appreciation to him.

I'm sure much has been said about a lot of Tina's artwork, but her messages in many of her pieces are out of place in such a beautiful environment. Perhaps an off-site gallery would be a better place for the much of the negative and sad artwork that's on display inside this beautiful building.

I would like to stay here again in the future. I do hope that many of the plans that the owners have in mind do come to reality. But perhaps more thoughtfulness should be considered when it comes to the host’s interactions with guests and the choice to perhaps relocate some of the disappointing artwork. Overall though, the uniqueness of the property make it an outstanding Gem in the Desert.

Room Tip: If you have a fair amount of luggage and don't like to use stairs (there is no elevator), you sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

A former Harvey Hotel designed by Mary Colter. Each room is delightfuly different and the common areas are filled with historical pieces. The Spanish exterior adds to the ambiance and you can step out back and watch the trains past by. You truly feel that you have stepped back in time.

We stayed in room 241, which would not recommend. It overlooks the maintenance area and was noisy. Also, there is not an elevator and limited to no assistance from the staff in getting to the upstairs rooms.

We have stayed here before and will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the historic La Posada Hotel in Winslow on the way to Canyon De Chelly and Monument Valley. It is one of the last Santa Fe railroad Harvey House hotels and has been beautifully restored by the present owners. It is a virtual museum, and you must allow a few hours to wander throughout the hotel. The rooms are average and generally small but comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel is outstanding, one of the best in Northern Arizona. There is a small cozy comfortable bar area. The gift shop is also outstanding. Ladies in the period dress of the Harvey Girls act as guides throughout the hotel and the grounds. La Posada is a must for history buffs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtrjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

La Posada Hotel & "standin on the corner in Winslow, Arizona" are the main attractions to bring anyone to Winslow. Reservations for best rooms at LaPosada are very hard to get, so book early if you want a balcony or larger room. Our smaller room was just fine for 1 night; only problem was the TV control -- but the sleeping was great. Big draw to stay here is the wonderfully renovated architecturally historic building. Sitting right next to the railroad lines, renovation has included good sound-proofing, but there are many places to sit & watch the trains go by. Dining & bar was excellent (bloody mary cocktail is A+) & prices were consistent w/ hotel room prices (e.g. not cheap, but not excessive).

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you can't climb stairs -- choose the ground floor rooms. Go to the web sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had lunch at La Posada, one of the last Santa Fe railroad-related Harvey Houses. The food was delicious. We highly recommend the house specialty soup - a combination of black bean and cream of corn. The waitresses are dressed in period-appropriate black and white uniforms, complete with ruffled aprons. After lunch stroll through the lobby to see the pictorial history of the Santa Fe RR and the local area. Then take a 2-block detour to see the sculpture and mural commemorating The Eagle's song, "Take It Easy." You know..."Well, I'm a standing on a corner in Winslow, Arizona; and such a fine sight to see. It's a girl, my Lord, in a flatbed Ford slowin' down to take a look at me..." Well, there's a guy with a guitar actually standing on the corner and the girl in the Ford is in the mural. Right across from the Rte 66 museum. For nostalgia buffs, this couldn't be better!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second visit to La Posada. We give kudos to the owners who have done much to recreate the grandness of this historic property. T. Dion (owner with her busband) has much of her artwork on display. The rooms are each unique and very well appointed. We had a disappointing dinner in the Turquoise Room. It will be reviewed separately. Our breakfast was very good. If you are in NE Arizona and are interested in the history of the 'Harvey Girls' and the railroad, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Select a room on the West side on the ground floor. There are no elevators and it is cumbersome to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiseppeGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It doesn't get any more authentic than this, the Spanish-style La Posada in Winslow, Arizona (yes ~that~ Winslow, Arizona, made famous by the Eagles song). The closest stylistic comparison that I know of would be Spain's paradors (e.g., converted monasteries, etc.) that Generalissimo Franco turned into premium tourism lodgings in the early 1970's. La Posada stands up to them on every level!

This was one of the last great railroad-connected hotels that Fred Harvey built in the early 20th century to lure starry-eyed Eastern travelers to the great West. It also happened to be along the famous old Route 66. It was lovingly restored in recent years. There seems to be no end to its attractions, and it feels more like a small town than a hotel.

First, the primary reason for its existence: its lodging rooms, two of which we had occasion to inhabit on two stays. They are very comfortable and filled with period antiques and expensive Navajo rugs. The decorations are varied and feel so very Southwest. I don't know that I've stayed in another lodging, outside of a B&B, whose rooms included fully stocked bookshelves. The bedroom doors not only have the standard peephole, but also have a louvered opening about eye-high that you pull two sliding covers apart to expose. This not only can allow air to breeze in, but allows you to speak to whoever knocked on your door without having to shout through the door. Quaint, and the only time I've ever seen this.

The remainder of the property is like a wonderland. Think Disney World or Gaylord's Opryland mega-complex in Nashville. Much smaller, of course, but way, way more charming. There are multiple small museums inside. Some have running videos, others have permanent collections, others are visiting exhibits. They range from authentic Native American and Western items to modern art. You can lose yourself for an hour or two.

Even the hallways are like museum displays themselves. The art in them is so varied and unique that each time you walk them it is a treat all over again. Authentic Navajo rugs, some costing many hundreds of dollars and all for sale, line the lodging room hallways. There are also classic photos with short biographies of famous entertainers and others who have stayed at La Posada over the years.

The huge gift shop is chock-full of compellingly tempting items, some ticky-tacky but most the real deal. More Navajo rugs line a connected hallway. For registered hotel guests, the shop has a corner with free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and apples for the morning wake-up. Nice touch.

The restaurant, The Turquoise Room, is independent but located inside La Posada. What a great, complementary relationship. Think Conde' Nast Gold award and a James Beard nomination. Yummy food and truly interesting variety, with daily specials. Breakfast has just as much to brag about as dinner. You don't want to skip it. The coffee is gourmet quality.

When we entered the hotel, I heard what was obviously live music playing. A guitarist was sitting just inside the hallway, picking tasteful classical and classic tunes; this set a dreamy, romantic tone to the place.

Did I mention gardens? There are multiple and quite varied beautiful gardens scattered around the grounds. Not only are the flowers and garden art exquisite, but most have outdoor seating where you can take your repast or just sit to enjoy therapeutic serenity. Art is everywhere, including a hammered metal donkey, giraffe and, get this, a camel!

The only full-disclosure aspect that some might consider a negative is that the railroad tracks are located about 100 yards behind the hotel. This is quite logical given that the railroad was its original reason for being, and no doubt the passengers appreciated the short walk. It was not a negative for me; in fact, it made it feel even that much more authentic. But light sleepers might want to request a room on the street side of the hotel.

People walk all around this hotel taking pictures. It's that kind of place, so no one bats an eye at the occasional flashes. Already I'm musing about another opportunity to visit. Hmmm, maybe a train trip....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzmanlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
720 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#7 of 14 in Winslow
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 10
Motel 10
#12 of 14 in Winslow
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range: $153 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing