We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,074)
Filter reviews
2,074 results
Traveler rating
1,537
409
83
25
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,537
409
83
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turquoise room fred harvey mary colter railroad hotel gift shop santa fe railroad self guided tour harvey hotel sunken garden an art gallery current owners train travel public rooms trains roll unique hotel martini bar step back in time
Filter
Updating list...
1,675 - 1,680 of 2,074 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Whether you're looking for outstanding food, or lodging, La Posada is an excellent choice. My wife and I stayed there for a romantic getaway, and the fine accommodations, service, gift shop, and extraordinarily unusual art work exceeded all our expectations. We enjoyed sitting on the patio and watching the trains too (there was no train noise in our room because of the thick adobe walls). Although ours was a getaway, La Posada is perfectly situated, and competitively priced for travelers too, just a couple of minutes off of Interstate 40. We plan to come again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SceneSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a must stop for me in my annual drive out west and though its charm comes with some rust, that accommodation is the cornerstone of travel. Not everyone will agree with the art work (I liked it) not everyone with the fact that the rooms are restored and not blasted away and replaced with chinese made furniture. It is authentic. It is well run (mostly) and it is preservation of something very important, and almost long gone in travel. The association with James Turrell (artist, see Roden Crater) is another step in the vision of those who would resurrect the dying town of Winslow with art, including art in accommodation and food (the restaurant is fantastic).

Room Tip: Book the standard room. The upgrade to the jacuzzi rooms wasn't worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank island04575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband and I stopped for lunch on our way to Phx in the fall. It was the most amazing lunch we could imagine. The fish tacos and soup were delish. We shortened our Phx visit to spend the night in Winslow. We are so glad that we did. The Turquoise Room for dinner and breakfast were just as good as we hoped. Everything on the menu was so good. We are coming back with some friends soon. Don't miss this oasis!

Room Tip: Our room was in the new side and was very clean and modern. We did not hear the trains but we wouldn't have minded.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Que-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I visited La Posada 5-6 years ago and loved it. We stayed there last night and were less impressed. The price has more than doubled and the owners have installed large political and macabre art all over the public areas of the hotel. The art completely takes away from the incredible history and architecture of the hotel. It seems the owners are soon beginning construction on more space for art. My hope is that they will move the current art installations to the new space, so that the historic hotel can be shown and enjoyed in it's historic simplicity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original hotel. The new rooms don't have nearly as much character.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I read about LaPosada in our local newspaper and it was such an interesting story, we had to go there. It was all that was written and more. This hotel is one of the last 1930's Harvey hotels that serviced the train lines from East to West. Aside from the uniqueness of the Sculpture Hall, it housed an Art Museum and a Ballroom that was lit with New Mexican tinwork wall lamps. A continuous video played showing what once was and what it has become and how it was done. You cannot help but imagine the hustle and bustle of this train stop hotel when it was in it's peak as you roam the building and gaze out at the large gates that once welcomed thousands upon arrival to Winslow. The Turquoise Room is their James Beard award winning restaurant. As we ate dinner, we can see and hear the trains as they make their way across the country. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautifully furnished with Native American rugs, hand crafted lamps and a Mexican tiled sink. The beds were comfortable. The owners should be commended in re-creating this beautiful, artistic, historic landmark for all to enjoy and treasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room in the front of the hotel or facing the terrace.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews