We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Food, Vegetarian Friendly”
Review of Casa Blanca Cafe

Casa Blanca Cafe
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Winslow
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Food, Vegetarian Friendly”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We walked into this Route 66 Mexican diner and were greeted enthusiastically by the server/manager. The choices were authentic Mexican (unlike the fast food taco places) and we were informed of that to begin with. When we asked about vegetarian options, she discovered which items were available and said that Chef Gabe could make up appropriate dishes for us. The cheese enchiladas with red sauce were superbly spiced as was the hot "garden" super burrito he created for us. The salsa was made fresh. The prices were moderate and the value was great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray-n-Sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winslow
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Local eater”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I live here in Winslow. There are several choices for lunch or dinner. I eat here 2 or more times a month. Good Mexican food with a freindly atmosphere. The rates are reasonalbe and you will leave full.

There is another review that says there is a male waiter who gives very bad service. I don't recall ever being served by a male waiter. Don't let that review discourage you. This is a family owned and opperated restraunt.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tedpatewinslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A rose among thorns!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

First of all, if you're reading this you have my condolences as you're looking for somewhere to eat in Winslow, Az. The restaurant options are slim to none. We were lucky to find a local that appeared sober enough to recommend Casa Blanca.The family restaurant exceeded our expectations of Winslow. Btw, if you need somewhere to stay I recommend the Best Western.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Local Eatery!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Based on other reviews of Winslow, and the culinary choices, we were apprehensive about being able to find something decent. We stopped in Winslow for the night, on the way to San Diego, and asked the front desk person at the hotel for a recommendation to a good Mexican restaurant. He recommended Casa Blanca, and we're so glad he did! The staff were friendly and accommodating, the food was piping hot and excellent, and we would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant or return to it. Prices were reasonable. This is NOT gourmet Mexican food. It's great home-style northern Arizona Mexican cooking. The restaurant itself is unpretentious, the chilled wine came in individual bottles of Gallo, but the food was plentiful and enjoyable. Give it a try! And don't miss "Standing on the Corner," the ultimate Winslow tourist site!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SammiGIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
1 review
“To die for!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

After traveling through New Mexico and dining throughout the mexican restaurants in that state i thought it couldn't be beat, but upon my arrival at the casa blanca i realised that I was mistaken. Now I'm no stranger to mexican food so I know what to look for when it comes to good, and this place has it. The chips and salsa (which are free btw) were amazing, it was authentic salsa not the stuff that foreigners are used to but the real stuff. I ordered the beef fajitas and for once surprisingly there was more fajitas than there was rice beans and it had loads of beef with the perfect seasoning including some delicious guacamole, sour cream, and tortillas. The service was great and friendly and the meal didn't take long to arrive, I definitely would love to travel here again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arishok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Blanca Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Casa Blanca Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing