We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life saver in sand storm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Tony's Pizza & Pasta Emporium

Captain Tony's Pizza & Pasta Emporium
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Winslow
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lunch and dinner for the family at low cost.
Cut and Shoot, Texas
Level Contributor
858 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Life saver in sand storm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stopped in Winslow for the night amid sandstorm warnings. As it was very windy, I asked hotel desk lady to recommend a pizza delivery place. She said "Captain Tony's". We ordered the pan captain's feast: black olives, onion, pepperoni,green pepper, Italian sausage, meatball chunks, cheddar and mozzarella. Parmesan and red pepper packets were included. Although pan style, the crust was light and flavorful with the ingredients well spaced on the 8 slices of our medium size. Great suggestion and enjoyable meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Badgelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza/$.49 Bottled Beer Thursday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Right off of I40 among all the chain lies this little unassuming gem.Growing up in Chicago i am always a critic of pizza joints, particualrly in the southwest. No argument here. Excellent thin crust.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank StevesRisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice local pizza joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a really nice place to eat in Winslow. They have a really nice and fast pizza buffet/salad bar. The staff is really friendly. There are some video games and pool table (for 1-3 quarters) in the back for kids, or kids at heart, to play.

The price is very good, especially on the buffet, and it is one of the better places to eat in Winslow.

It is just off the freeway, which is convenient for travelers on I-40

I hesitated to give it 5 stars, because it is just pizza and such, but it is a bargain, and nice, and friendly. Don't expect it to be super fancy, but it does taste much better than Pizza Hut, and it is a nice place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Standing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average food but they deliver”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The pizza was good but average. The benefit was that only 3 places delivered to my hotel and this was one of them. I would order again from them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dhaynes67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Does not honor coupons from the captain Tony's website.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Found this place on TripAdvisor and went to their website to print coupons thinking it would be a better place to stop on our trip than fast food. Printed the only coupons on the site but when we got there they said they were only for the New York store :/ They tried to give me a special close to the coupon but was still $10.00 more. The wings were large and good but the hand tossed pizza was super doughy and soggy like it wasn't quite done. For the money it would have been easier to stop at fast food on the road or drive the 50 miles to flagstaff instead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank friggincoldnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Tony's Pizza & Pasta Emporium also viewed

 

Been to Captain Tony's Pizza & Pasta Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing