We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You've got to be kidding me.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown Mug Cafe

Brown Mug Cafe
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Winslow
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You've got to be kidding me.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Read some of the other reviews on this place and thought, why not? Interior was as described, pretty worn, but that's ok if the food is good. It wasn't. I got the chicken enchiladas with green chile. Now I love green chile, and it's my goal in life to find who has the best. This green had no flavor or spice to it at all. The chicken was overcooked and dry, all in all pretty bad. My wife had a taco salad, which was shredded lettuce the usual toppings but little else. At the bottom of the shell was a scoop of beans. Pretty boring, and not sure why others find it so good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank poco01x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    10
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum Me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The last time we were in Winslow looking for dinner, we drove by this little place several times before deciding to give it a try. We were wonderfully surprised by the friendly people and the wonderful food. Once again, we were not disappointed. We will return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelHappyRRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Don't let the borderline shabby appearance turn you away. Yummy soft tacos, served by pleasant wait staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RN4tykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We walked here one evening from La Posada. The food came out quickly and the staff was friendly. There's not much to choose from in Winslow but this is good place for an inexpensive meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What you would expect (and a bit more)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed open late for our party to arrive. Solid mexican food for the genre. (Not high-end). Great value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 112PCS112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Mug Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Mug Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing