We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look for other options!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Look for other options!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

We chose this property due to it's proximity to the Grand Canyon and convenient access to Williams and the Interstate 40 Highway. It did meet these needs.We booked an executive suite when this became an option to our request for a king-sized bed. On arrival we were told the executive suites did not have king beds nor were there any avaiable in the regular rooms at the time. The hotel restaurant was closed upon arrival and did not open until 5 PM. The wireless internet connection did not work. We contacted the front desk several times asking for assistance who recommended we go into town to an internect cafe to check our mail. This was not what we wanted to hear. Travellers should also be aware that the walls and ceiling do not provide the sound-proofing we have come to take for granted in our travels. We had difficulty sleeping as we could hear the neighbors TV clearly in our room and the upstairs neighbors heavy footsteps during the night as they made several trecks across the floor. On a positive note, the indoor pool and spa area looked very inviting although we did not use it.

  • Liked — Invitging pool area
  • Disliked — lack of sound proof walls and ceiling
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    293
    291
    123
    82
See reviews for
423
254
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

This was a good room for the price and the area. We were five in the three queen bed, two room suite. There was plenty of room for the five of us. The best feature of this hotel was the restaurant. Excellent food, great service. All of the staff, hotel and restaurant, were super friendly and helpful. Even the guests were friendly. The only drawback was there was no elevator in the hotel and we had to haul luggage for five people to the 2nd floor. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SMFarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

Really worn - needs a face lift. Town could be so much - it still has
the old motels on Route 66. I can just see how great it could be to stay in the vintage motels on the outside with updated, great beds on inside. The town looks as if it is trying to ride the wave of the 1950's - and is not willing to spend the money to make it the wonderful town it could be.

I would not visit Williams again - it is nothing there to do or see, and rooms are bare bones.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank storkrn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williams hotels

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our way to visit the Grand Canyon. I thought the hotel was alright. Nothing special. It kind of seemed like an older hotel. The room and bathroom were both clean. It was quiet while we slept. Breakfast was pretty good. A good place to stay if you aren't looking for luxury lodging, and need a clean and decently priced place to stay.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — old
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akamommy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2007

It did seem to be the best bet in Williams. Other than it's location to the Grand Canyon (and the Grand Canyon Railway), this dreary little town has little more to offer.

I arrived just after a tour bus pulled in but I was checked in within a couple of minutes. The room was clean, adequately furnished and with the usual accoutrements. I had none of the problems (sound of running water etc) other people have complained of and had a perfectly good night's sleep.

I didn't use the voucher for the adjacent restaurant as it didn't seem particularly veggie-friendly (mind you nowhere else in town did either!).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing really, it was the town I didn't like!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jb012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

We stayed here for one night on our way to the Grand Canyon. Had already had a long drive so were hoping hotel would be ok at least. We were checked in straight away. We had a big, clean, comfortable room. We spent an hour in the pool and sat in the jacuzzi which was fab. We then had a drink at the bar and dinner (which is part of the hotel). I did not like the restaurant layout but the food was great as were the waiting staff. There was a buffet breakfast the next morning but I am not a fan of buffet style meals so I didn't go but my husband enjoyed his brekfast. Checkout took a couple of minutes. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

If you've never been to Williams AZ, this place is the Four Seasons in town. Other than the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel (less than .25 miles away), I wouldn't let my dog stay at any of the other hotels . This Holiday Inn is the perfect place to stay. We got the 2 bedroom suite, my 7 and 11 year old got there own queen size beds and the wife and I had a king. TV in each room, table w/ chairs, fridge, and coffee mate. For $115 a night it was totally worth it. Really clean, super sized pool and spa. Restaurant isn't the greatest so try one of the others in town. If your taking the Grand Canyon Railway to the rim, upgrade to 1st class. I took the advice of reviews from this website and they were right on!!! Thanks.

  • Liked — Very large rooms and beds, didn't feel cramped in the room.
  • Disliked — Restaurant wasn't the greatest.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjai15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area

Property: Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Address: 950 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2075 (Formerly Canyon Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Hotel in beautiful Williams, Arizona known as the Gateway to the Grand Canyon. As you will see the Ramada Williams is the ideal location. Conveniently located just off interstate 40, just 56 miles south of the majestic Grand Canyon. 40 miles east is Flagstaff, home of the University of Northern Arizona and the Snow Bowl slopes. To the south (60 miles) is Sedona, Arizona famous for the Oak Creek Canyon and the spectacular views of its red rock formations. There is much to see and do in Williams, Take a stroll along the Historic Route 66, enjoy a horse drawn carriage ride, watch a true re-enactment of a cowboy shoot-out, shop at one of the unique shops where local artisans sell their wares. Or enjoy one of the local restaurants (many with live entertainment. The Ramada Williams, boasts the famous "Doc Hollidays' Steak House. Just a 1/2 mile away from the Canyon Gateway Williams is the Grand Canyon Railway, departing daily to the Grand Canyon, giving a spectacular and ever changing view from the comfort of your train car. In November be sure to mark you calenders to the train and experience the magic of the Polar Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Williams Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing