We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to sleep and shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was fine. It was clean, which is very important. The staff was good. The rooms were smaller than we expected, but we managed. It was a little tight with 4 people who each had a suitcase. We had to be careful we would not walk into furniture or kick suitcases once we were all in there. No place to really eat in the room either. It was affordable and gave us some place near the Grand Canyon, which was an hour away. If you want a place to sleep and shower and know it is clean this will work. Breakfast was acceptable as well. The waffles were good, but places to sit were very limited.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Owner at Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 606 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is quite dated and in need of an upgrade. We asked for a downstairs room since my parents are in their mid 80s, however we had to go upstairs and I had to drag 3 cases up two flights of stairs, plus hand luggage, which was not nice in the heat of July. It seems that there is a policy in Super 8 not to have elevators ..... and for that reason we will avoid them in future. The room was average but there was no fridge or microwave. The aircon unit was very old, brown, dirty and noisy. Breakfast was good, with waffles, yogurt, cereal, doughnuts etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Owner at Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed the free breakfast. You did not let us know in advance that you needed a downstairs room with a mini fridge and microwave, so we did not know that we should hold one for you. When you arrived that evening, the temperature was in the low 70's and we only have 2 floors, so you carried your luggage up one flight. The desk clerk offered to have her adult son carry your bags upstairs for you, just to be kind, but you refused. She offered several times, but you kept saying no, you would manage. So you did not HAVE to drag your cases up a flight of stairs, you chose to. We checked your air conditioner but it was not dirty and it is brown because that's the color it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I expected more from this hotel. The beds were stiff. No mini fridge. It does have a laundry room for guests and a big continental breakfast. We arrived late and the guy seemed to be irritated. He had us booked for the wrong room, which he fixed immediately. All in all, I would try a different place next time around. Close connect to Grand Canyon, but kind of "down the road" from the main street attractions of route 66.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Owner at Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We normally get compliments on our comfortable beds. Not all rooms have a mini fridge and microwave, but if you request them in advance, we will certainly hold a room for you that has them. We are located 1 mile from the town, about a 2 minute drive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I expected a little more from this hotel after reading other reviews. I found it to be just adequate. It's an older hotel and looks it. There have been some upgrades - new carpet in the hallways, flat screen TV's, but the outside is dated and so are the rooms. I don't think they've had new towels in years. The pool was missing tiles, and although it is open until 9pm, there is no pool light, which just makes it creepy to swim in the dark water. The staff wasn't particular friendly, and I only once saw someone at the desk. The rest of the time they just had a sign to ring a bell for service. That said, it was a decent room and served our purpose. We came to see the Grand Canyon, and when we come again, we won't stay in Williams because it's just too far. We'd stay in Tunsayan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Owner at Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

The pool actually closes at 8 (as the sign says) but we have been leaving it open later at the request of guests. I'm sorry there was no pool light for you, but we've never needed one before since the pool normally closes right as it gets dark. I'm sorry you did not get one of the newly remodeled rooms. Williams is 1 hour by car from the Grand Canyon. Most people who choose to stay here do so because the motels in Tusayan cost twice as much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive, clean, and convenient place to stay on our visit to the Grand Canyon. The Super 8 fit this bill perfectly. This motel has clean rooms, good free wifi, and a robust and free continental breakfast. It's located on the outskirts of Williams, and is only an hour's drive from the Grand Canyon South Entrance. If you just need a good, basic place to stay without all the bells and whistles, look no further.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank SEJAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Owner at Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate it! Please stay with us if you visit the American Southwest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Cleyta A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom W, Owner at Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom W, Owner at Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,498 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area

Address: 800 E Route 66, I-40 Exit 165 Grand Canyon Exit, Williams, AZ 86046-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range: $57 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are focused on providing a clean, comfortable hotel that welcomes you like family. We truly want each guest to enjoy their stay and return to visit in the years after. Our rooms are spacious and include many modern updates. All of them have an alarm clock, flat screen TV, hair dryer, and personal coffee maker, and some also have a fridge and microwave. Our Super Start breakfast is quite popular, and includes coffee/tea, juice, cereal, hot waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, cinnamon rolls, and toast with peanut butter, jelly, and/or honey. Our staff is knowledgeable and friendly,and happy to provide you with information about our town, local attractions, or reservations for The Grand Canyon Railway! SORRY, NO PETS ARE ALLOWED AT THIS LOCATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Super Eight Williams
Williams Super 8
Williams Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing