We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We got in around sundown and got a room here. The heated pool and hot tub made up for the meager breakfast offered. I would stay here again but only if I had the coupon that we found the next day in a travel magazine that would have saved us $20.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GkfromWisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    146
    134
    57
    54
See reviews for
219
146
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Only one hour drive to the Grand Canyon and steps away from the Grand Canyon Railway.Room was clean and spacious - bed comfortable - The pool and hot tub were perfect temperatures. Only draw back is that we were in the second building and had to walk outside to get to the pool area. Staff were friendly. Good value for your buck. We had breakfast at the Pne country Restaurant which was delicious. Would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Son and I stayed two nights to tour the Grand Canyon. Nice, clean rooms (bathrooms slightly dated but functional), about 100 yards from the train station, 150 from the center of town. Not just friendly, but HAPPY employees. Continental breakfast was basic but good (it's free, remember... so don't whine), and it's hard to find any fault with the place. I'm not sure how anyone can complain that a small hotel can't handle 100 bikers at once... it's Howard Johnson Williams, not the Hyatt at LAX. The only other local motels on par are at the train terminal (more expensive) and Holiday Inn (outside of town and not within walking distance of anything). You get what you pay for, and it's definitely worth paying for this. I highly recommend Pankaj Patel and his staff for your next visit. I'm already planning my next trip, and I haven't even finished unpacking yet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 night visiting the Grand Canyon. A 2 queen beds room that we got was big and clean. A good location not far from HW. A staff was friendly. A breakfast area was small but not crowded. A breakfast was average. We would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had no reservations, stopped here and paid < $100 for a clean room but the best thing was the heated swimming pool and hot tub!
This is in a good location, we walked to town to shop and eat. Train is in walking distance and so is Mcdonald's.
For Williams this is a cheap clean room in a good location.

Room Tip: I always ask for a top room away from stairs, elevator and ice machine. Keeps foot traffic down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The best thing I can say about this hotel is that the room was perhaps 'adequate' for a one night stay but I wish we'd found somewhere else in Williams. There were just 4 tables in the breakfast area which, considering there were over 100 Harley Davidson riders staying there the same night, was totally inadequate so we ate elsewhere. The best thing about it was that it was convenient for the Grang Canyon Railway (which was fantastic, by the way).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williams hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here on the way up to the Grand Canyon, good value for the money, large clean room and just a short walk from the center of Williams. It became even better value when we paid four times as much to stay in a smaller room in Tusayan the following night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Address: 511 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing