We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong here!”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for the third time in this motel in historic Williams and for the third time in a row we had a great experience! The motel is an older building, but it fits totally with the vintage atmosphere in Williams. The rooms are well kept and maintained, there is a flatscreen tv, microwave, everything that you need. Did I mention the fluffy towels?

Oh, and the mattresses! The owner said he replaced all the mattresses when he bought the motel a couple of years ago and he wasn't cheap!
We also noticed that since our first stay almost two years ago, some of the rooms have been renovated. The owner gave us a look in these room and they look very stylish, he did a great job there! He said he is in the process of renovating all rooms, but to me, even the not renovated ones look perfectly fine!

In the little reception is a refridgerator where you can get some juice and pastries. Alain (the owner), makes very sure you're not leaving with an empty stomach. He really wants to take good care of his guests.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I couldn't believe the cleaning lady still remembered us from previous visits.

Overall this is a great place to stay and that comes from a spoiled brat like me who always avoided motels like the plague :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yessica_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 308 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hospitality and service we received from the owners and other staff are truely amazing indeed. We stayed here for three nights in two of the rather small, but nicely renovated rooms. Being in the old Route 66 part of Williams, the whole town breathes that uncomplicated fifties atmosphere, and the Highlander Motel is no exception. We had an exceptionally nice experience.

Apart from the daily shoot out show at 5 PM, some fine local restaurants and a ton of souvenir shops, there is little entertainment in Williams. But what we loved so much were the overall cosyness of the town, the moderate summer temperatures, the beautiful landscape it is situated in and the heartfelt solidarity of the people that live here. Williams is also a perfect base camp for Sedona and Grand Canyon NP. It will save you a lot of money, and a drive through the area in any direction is a treat.

Apart from breakfast, which is a selection of juices and other beverages, and cakes for you to warm in the microwave, you can take anything from the fridge in the front desk all day. As this is a vintage 1950's Route 66 motel, expect a modest accommodation, but with everything you need (the WiFi is 21st century!), a friendly face and a very nice little town around the corner. I would recommend staying here to anyone. In fact, I'd love to live in Williams, AZ. Thank you, Alan and Sandra, for bringing that to us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houtjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night this weekend. I booked it based on yelp and tripadvisor reviews. It's owned by Allen who greets you when you check in. Vince is awesome and is over the top helpful and friendly. The lobby has drinks and pastries available anytime for your convenience. He does let you know they don't open the lobby until 8am so you can take pastries ahead of time if you want them earlier than 8. Vince gives you local eating tips and coupons for discounts, he also goes over a map with local points of interest. Then you are walked to your room. The room is immaculate, I wipe everything down with Lysol wipes (at every motel) and there was not a speck of dirt on them when I was done!! There is a propane grill available to use.A small fridge and microwave in the room. The A/C works wonderful. There is a small coffee pot and all the necessary coffee/sweeteners etc also in the room. There are tables outside where people would sit and visit. We would definitely stay here again! You are treated like a friend from the second you arrive until you leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azdamac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Dissapointed after the rave reviews. The room was clean and the staff friendly, though. No hair dryer and much talking outside after hours. Very economical, though, and the rooms are in the process of being renovated.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Highlander is a sweet find in Williams. It is a few blocks away from the craze of the downtown and right beside the Safeway. We enjoyed the Marilyn Monroe room #3 and loved it. Thanks to Vince and Allan who made us feel welcome and providing us with a great Route 66 experience. The fellows even offer a selection of snacks and drinks for free. Very much appreciated!

Room Tip: Room 3 is the Marilyn Monroe room and is very sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCLutkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at this property last weekend. Our room was clean and had a flat screen TV. Overal this is a reasonably priced motel and a good value. I was a little uncomfortable with the fact that the owner and his buddies were smoking and hanging out in front of one of the rooms. It felt a little awkward for us as guests.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank btworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Highlander for one night only on an impulse trip to Williams to get out of Phoenix. When we got there, Vince was most helpful. He upgraded our room, which was clean and comfy. You can tell this is an older property but that is fine. The bed and bathroom linens were nice. Our double had one regular and one memory foam type bed so we could choose which to sleep on. There is a flat screen tv and small frig. The Safeway is close by to stop and pick up anything you might need for your trip. Vince also gave us a local map and recommendations for both dinner that night and breakfast in the morning. They have cold water, juice and sodas next to the check-in desk. Priced very reasonably and pretty quiet despite keeping the windows open through the night to take advantage of the weather. Ahhhhhh.

Room Tip: There are standard rooms and "renovated rooms" whatever that is. Not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerSamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.0 mi away
Westerner Motel
Westerner Motel
#26 of 30 in Williams
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Motel
Grand Motel
#20 of 30 in Williams
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 533 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2332
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range: $47 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highlander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is located on historic Route 66. A unique Motel that was originally built in the 1950. We have eleven rooms. within blocks of restaurant's , gift shops , local bars and grocery store.The highlander motel is a non smoking and no pets property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Motel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing