We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service, Friendly , Clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service, Friendly , Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I enjoyed the Highlander because of the friendliness of Alan and Vince. I liked the decor of the gray sheets and towels. Most hotels are the basic white. The room was clean. Missed the hair dryer but-oh well, no big deal. Quiet. Would recommend The Highlander to everyone and anyone. Right on Old Route 66 and walking distance to the downtown area if you like walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    78
    48
    25
    15
See reviews for
60
128
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My son and I recently stayed at this motel. We both loved the stay. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and everyone was very nice. It almost felt like we were staying with family/friends. There are pastries & soda/water available at any time. Alan is ready to give the best places to eat, best places to go outside of the city and any other information that you need. The town itself is very walkable to just about anywhere. I would highly recommend staying at this motel. They are refurbishing the rooms one by one so be sure to get one of the refurbished ones.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Let me say that the personalities of the staff are great. Friendly and warm to their guests. Allen the owner came to the car as my wife got out and introduced himself to her and asked if we needed help with our bags. The next morning we met Sandy doing the Motels chores and she too was a delight. The entire staff goes beyond friendly and helpful to their guests.
The room was recently redone and was very comfortable. A refer, microwave, coffee maker & enough towels to not have you wanting more. ( You know the places where you barely get enough to do the job.) NOT HERE!!! The bed were new and nice, a flat screen too.
The rooms are about 400 sq ft and great plce to lay your head after a long day. AND they were spotless.
Allen is remodeling the rooms one at a time but that is not noticeable at all about the noise because he works on ithem after the guests are up & gone for the day.
This little Motel was a great surprise to me. It turned out to be a wonderful get away because of the room and Allen & his staff.
If you get to go to Williams Arizona, try this little place called THE HIGHLANDER MOTEL.
You won’t be disappointed.....:)

Room Tip: Ask the owner Allen for a newer vamped room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robinsb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was just passing through town and needed a last minute place to stay. I was able to get a room for more than half the price it would have cost anywhere else in town. The owners are very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. The room was nicer than I had hoped for, and it was very clean and well maintained. I definitely recommend staying here if you are passing through or going on vacation to the Grand Canyon or surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their newly renovated rooms if you want more of an upscale stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are coming to Williams to stay in a big, posh, upmarket hotel then I am sorry you are looking at the wrong place. If you are coming to Williams to put your head down before heading off to the Grand Canyon, well this is the place for you. I must admit, driving into the parking lot I was a bit nervous, as the place looked fairly dated and there were a few bikies and other people sitting outside their rooms having a drink and a chat. I was thinking, oh no what have I done, but was greeted warmly by the manager who asked how she could help. They were able to provide us an extra room only 2 nights out from our stay which was very helpful. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and once you drew the blinds and turned off the light a restful nights sleep was had. As long as you realise you pay for what you get and you get what you pay for you should be happy with your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sovereign_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whispering Pines, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is simple from the outside, nothing fancy but the owners and their staff go above and beyond to create a Memorable experience for every guest there. Alan and his wife Sandy are wonderful hosts who have wisely staffed this place with Vince the manager, Deanna at the front desk and Sally the housekeeper. This team is really on top of things and helped make our once in a lifetime vacation beyond our expectations. Thanks Highlander Motel !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed in this place after reading all the rave reviews. It struck us as a rather plain, tired motel. We obviously had an older, unimproved room which was small and unattractive. Upon arrival there was a group of male guests smoking, drinking and talking loudly in front of a room , in the parking lot, the only place to congregate. Not a pleasant first impression.
The staff was certainly pleasant and helpful. They offer free packaged pastries, bottled juice and water in the office in lieu of continental breakfast. They give a 10% discount at a local breakfast spot. The room did have a fridge and microwave. Being near a Safeway grocery makes this economical
The office closes at 9pm so you can't check in late

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bon1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
1.4 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#10 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Property: Highlander Motel
Address: 533 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2332
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Williams
#6 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highlander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is located on historic Route 66. A unique Motel that was originally built in the 1950. We have eleven rooms. within blocks of restaurant's , gift shops , local bars and grocery store.The highlander motel is a non smoking and no pets property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Motel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing