We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this old Rt. 66 motel and the friendy service!”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved this old Rt. 66 motel and the friendy service!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Highlander Motel is on the old part of Rt. 66 in Williams, AZ, and has been there for decades. It's part of the Rt. 66 culture, and is well worth a stay. Having spoken to the owner/manager, Alan, on the phone to make my reservation, I was looking forward to meeting him as he was so friendly and helpful. After a glorious day at the Grand Canyon, I was a bit later than I estimated to arrive, so called to let him know and he assured me that it was no problem and that he'd see me there. When I arrived and walked into the small office, he was there and said, "You must be Julie!" and just proceeded to be one of the friendliest and most welcoming folks I'd met.

I was in Rm. 12, which is the far end of the 12 rooms at the motel, and appreciated being on the end, as this was to be my first night of a long road trip and I wanted a quiet night's sleep. The room was fine, and the queen bed very comfortable. The room was old, but quite clean and had been renovated over the years. Rustic furniture, a fridge, microwave and plenty of room with a TV and small, comfy armchair to relax in if you wanted to. The bathroom had been renovated and other than a large crack in the wall that needed spackling, was great. There is a counter with large mirror, and clothes rack outside of the bathroom that had a coffeemaker with tea and coffee things. The folks staying in the room next to me were locals who were really friendly and stayed there off and on when they had work to do on property they owned nearby. They loved Alan and staying there, and for the price, it was a really nice stay. I asked Alan about a nearby restaurant and he was honest in letting me know that it probably wasn't a good choice due to some issues, and recommended the Red Raven restaurant down the street a bit, which was a great choice. He also directed me to a good Rt. 66 store since I had a friend who'd asked me to bring her a "tacky Rt. 66 ashtray!"

Though older and inexpensive, this was a good value for the money and the room reflected the old Rt. 66 feel. It was very clean, a good deal and a great way to start my cross-country journey. Alan will take good care of you; he has great pride in his motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julienicolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    82
    48
    26
    17
See reviews for
63
130
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights.Highly recommended Very friendly landlord (from Belgium-speaks good english) gave us some great tips on places to see too.Good breakfast of fresh orange juice &an assortment of various cakes cakes

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tontush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at this simple motel in May a year ago. Made last minute reservations and headed up toward the Grand Canyon. Not ever having stayed in Williams before I wasnt sure what to expect. This simple older property is no frills. It is clean, quiet and comfortable. Easy to get in and out of. The staff are friendly and helpful. They know the area and are candid about local restaurants etc. So close to the Canyon, its a quick easy ride. If all you want is a clean place to spend a night or two this will do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILive2ravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a very pleasant one-night stay. I caution those who are picky that this IS an old facility and not in the least fancy. That being said, our room was spotless, and the owner went out of his way to make us comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights because it is!!! Alan was extremely helpful, accommodating, and friendly. He gave us loads of solid information of the 'better' places to go, especially if you don't have a lot of time. We stayed in a room which has not been renovated and was still fantastic but Alan is renovating others at the moment and they will be unbelievable! Really close to restaurants (discount deals at the better ones) best place we stayed in the US! Thanks Alan.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Whatever you need during your stay, you will get it! thanks to Sally the rooms are spotless and you have everything you need, refrigerator,microwave a good bed to sleep inn. They are still renewing the rooms so if you don't like the less modern room ask for a new one who has hardwood floor and and very modern interior and it only cost you between $10/20 more, so it's up to you what your needs are. Brandy that does the reception is such a sweet girl, you feel directly welcome you get also complementary juice,water and pastry! Then Alan who's the owner makes time for every costumer either you want a chat or information about the neighborhood or sightseeing, he tells you everything you need to know, it safe's you a trip to the tourist information! and for the Europian costumers, he speaks several languages. Overal it's the best motel I ever stayed in and will diffinetely go back! No doubt about it

Room Tip: Room 8 is in the back, it's a smoking room but you don't smell a thing! And it's very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We used this motel for our two day visit to the Grand Canyon. The motel was adequate and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Our room could of used some fixing up but everything worked and was fairly clean. Four stars because the price was very good for summer in the Grand Canyon area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyfisherdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Property: Highlander Motel
Address: 533 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2332
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highlander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is located on historic Route 66. A unique Motel that was originally built in the 1950. We have eleven rooms. within blocks of restaurant's , gift shops , local bars and grocery store.The highlander motel is a non smoking and no pets property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Motel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing