We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little motel”
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Rancho Motel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Williams
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little motel”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in this motel on our way to the Grand Canyon. Although it's an older motel it was clean, a good location and very affordable. The staff was very nice and friendly and accommodating. Would stay at this motel again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    60
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
30
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place does not look great from the outside but is very adequate, simple and very clean

The welcome from Doug was very friendly. I felt relaxed straight away after a long journey. Very helpful for restaurant etc

Williams is a very good spot for the Grand Canyon. I left early and beat the traffic

El Rancho is the place to stay

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed there last night, so this is a fresh review. Clean, but old old old & not updated.
If you don't mind old decor and original bedding from the '80's you might not mind staying here.
There was no contour sheet on the bed, but a flat sheet the was too small. Torn & frayed mattress cover, which normally might go unnoticed, but I always look for buggies (NONE here). Sheets were clean. Thin Blanket had holes & cuts.
It was O.K. for one night, but if you can't roll with less than acceptable basics, you may want to pass.
The owner/manager was friendly and welcoming as others have noted, but we won't go back due to poor upkeep on basics @ $85.00 a night. Walking distance to restaurants.
I really hate having to leave a negative review, but if you're like me you read these reviews and choose for yourself

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katwomanCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This motel was suggested to us by a waitress at the Cruisin' Route 66 restaurant. We were told it was exceptially clean. Not only was it incredibly clean, but the reception (even late at night when we got there) was amazing! My boyfriend and I love the nostalgia of the old-fashioned and can appreciate that "old" things last for a reason. El Ranchero is no exception. Great experience! It felt like home...from the "homey" feeling of the room, to the treatment by the staff. We highly recommend El Ranchero!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
347 reviews
302 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Family owned and lovingly cared for, this budget motel was great with fridge/micro, free wifi, and very important to us, clean, clean, clean. Our room was spacious, and we appreciated being able to park right in front of it for easy loading and unloading luggage. Although we'd never stayed here before, we were warmly welcomed by the owner's son who took the time to recommend restaurants, local sights, info on Grand Canyon, etc. After a wonderful night's sleep, we stepped into a gorgeous morning heavy with the fresh scent of pine and promptly forgot the streets are 1-way, yikes! We just had time for a quick visit, but have promised ourselves a return trip cuz the downtown area was charming ~ can't wait to get to come back again !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMotelAZ, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Linda:

We would like to thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure having you here in Williams and we do hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,
The Whitney Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, nice family owned hotel, the man at the front helped us book train tickets and knew all the best spots! Wish we stayed and booked a helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon. Heading east and am going to stay on route 66.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMotelAZ, Owner at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. As a small family motel, we will keep trying to provide the best service to our customers in Williams. Come back, we enjoyed your visit.

The Whitney Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pleasant, light, freshly painted feel to the room. Thought it would be noisy but seemed quite the opposite. Drove to Grand Canyon N.P. and arrived early enough next morning to beat the crowds.
Reasonably priced as a walk up. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giltim_coro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
0.6 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Westerner Motel
Westerner Motel
#26 of 30 in Williams
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Highlander Motel
Highlander Motel
#17 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Property: El Rancho Motel
Address: 617 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2705
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rancho Motel of Williams, Arizona, located in historic downtown Williams, gateway to the Grand Canyon and old Route 66. Home of the Grand Canyon Railway - The perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort, or travelers looking for adventure. Whatever you are looking for, the El Rancho Motel of Williams is the perfect motel choice for your visit to the Grand Canyon. Just steps away from some of Williams finest attractions - The motel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, shopping, museums and the famous Grand Canyon Railroad. Located with Route 66 old time traditional ambiance and lots of amenities, the El Rancho Motel of Williams, Arizona is not only the best choice in motels, it is an outstanding valve. Pool is scheduled for upcoming renovations and not available for use at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel
El Rancho Motel Williams
El Rancho Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing