We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not for value conscious consumers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not for value conscious consumers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Not for the value conscious consumer. We had confirmed a room but received another one with 2 beds though i and my wife prefer sleeping in one. the wifi connectivity was slow. the shower was a joke since the overhead was only 5 feet tall making u bend down to wash your hair. the receptionist had a cold attitude, . nothing to write about the breakfast too. in short for the amount paid, this was an overnight stay i would not bother going back to this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Reji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    59
    62
    17
    19
See reviews for
45
75
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Motel was a very pleasant surprise. We arrived at the worst possible time, it was below freezing and in the middle of a snow storm. My adult daughter and I stayed for two nights. We have visited Williams Arizona before, back in 2010 and we stayed in one of the more expensive Hotels. This time we were a little more conscious of our spending so needed something cheaper but still wanted quality. There are some things I wont settle for less. Econo Lodge provided us with all we wanted. The room heated quickly, the beds were comfortable, everything was clean and the service from Reception to Housekeeping was excellent. The housekeeper even asked us if we wanted clean sheets on our bed after our first night. We would definitely stay here if we were to visit the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrabassett Valley, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We wanted to stay near Flagstaff on our shoestring budget. We saw all the Trip Advisor ratings and within our budget, it looked like all the ones we could afford would be a bit under par. We saw a coupon for this Econo Lodge in Williams and decided to take a chance and explore a nearby place outside the city. We were greatly surprised and blessed to get such a nice room for such a budget price! The staff was extra friendly and the room was very clean and the bed seemed brand new! Everything had a fresh coat of paint. We liked the gas heater in the room. It really was better than the typical fan type that are in most hotel/motel rooms and kept us very warm. The breakfast was very good too. We were very happy with our experience in Williams. It seems like a quaint little town with lots of character. In the morning we woke to about 3 inches of snow!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is one that looks old, but well kept. Bathrooms fixtures are new, and showers are clean. Beds might not be that of a 5 star hotel, but you can still have a good night rest after being all day at the Grand Canyon. It's also in the famous Route 66, so if you have been driving through it, this is a good place to rest. Their breakfast is like any continental breakfast, but is clean and fresh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alrivera01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I and our 2 young boys (ages 6 and 3) stayed here after driving to Williams to do the Polar Express train.
This hotel is too far to walk to the train station in cold weather, but is right on the main strip. An awesome "old west" style town is directly accross the street. My kids had fun playing in the snow there.
The hotel is exactly what you would expect from an old Route 66, 2 star motel. Nothing fancy about it. But the beds were clean and there was hot water, so we were only there for about 10 hours. It suited our needs. I probably wouldn't stay here for a long trip, but is a great place to crash for 1 night while visiting the town. It is outdated, but the important part is that it was clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank impresiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

this is the worst motel i had ever visited ever....the place the room that we got was in shambles.even the bathroom door would not lock. the problem started at the check in itself i booked a room with 6 people for the choice motel website and when i reached the place the lady at the front desk told that i can take in only 2 persons in the room and i will have to pay extra for rest of the people..i tried to explain her that the room has 3 beds only a mad man would book a room with 3 beds for 2 persons but she would not understand my friend who has worked in motels before said that he can explain and so the front desk lady said he could not speak on my behalf as he did not book the room and told him to get out..can you believe he told him to 'get out' how can she say so?? he is my friend this guys need some serious training in how to handle guests who come to their place, she cannot insult anyone like that. then this guy hugo comes he says he is the manager their and told me he can do whatever he likes...will you tell your guest that??are you president of united states or what?? that is so rude first the lady and then even the manager.and thanks to you choice motels will loose all my business now..i already cancelled by rewards card with them..whyndham guys at days inn are much better..please stay away from this place if you are visiting grand canyon believe me you dont want to spoil you vacation just because some guys can stop being rude...you dont get a vacation everytime and you dont want to spoil it......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rukmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_az079, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We thank you for your business and we explained to you and your 5 other friends as best we could. It was difficult due to everyone having an opinion. Fact is you reported two guest for that stay in our room. The website says that room accomodates up to six people and if you are to add the other guest you would see a price adjustment. Yes, we do have an extra person charge like all other hotels and chains. We do provide an excellent value with free wi-fi and waffles and cereal and toast and fruit. Thank you again, Hugo C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williams hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is the only place I would stay in Willaims, AZ and I have been roaming this state for 10 years.. The owner and their staff keep this place neat, clean and ready for the next visitor. Just an hour away from the Grand Canyon, Once you have encountered the Grand Canyon, come back to Williams. There is so much in Williams to see.
Endless shops throughout, you will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJohn092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
0.5 mi away
Westerner Motel
Westerner Motel
#27 of 30 in Williams
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#20 of 30 in Williams
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Williams Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Highlander Motel
Highlander Motel
#16 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Motel
Grand Motel
#21 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Address: 302 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2606 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, table with chairs and clock radio. Microwave, mini-fridge, and coffeemaker are available upon request. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off East State Route 66, and are near attractions such as Arizona State Railroad Museum, Kaibab National Forest and Bearizona Wildlife Park. Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway is your best choice within the southern terminus of the Grand Canyon Railway of Arizona. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, vacation, sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Phoenix or Tucson. At Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Williams
Econo Lodge Williams
Williams Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing