We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay was ok except for the room heating..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
American Regency Inn
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Lexington, KY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“stay was ok except for the room heating..”
Reviewed December 3, 2010

The room heat is a gas heat and it felt as though it wasnt warm though the heater seemed to be switched on through the night....It felt chilly all the while.. rest was okay(microwave/fridge/tv/clean bath room/hot water etc)..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsriram22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    15
    26
    46
See reviews for
37
36
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalunya
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Read First in English, then Spanish
Lee primero en Ingles y luego en Castellano.

We stayed in this hotel for one night prior to the visit of the Grand Canyon.

The booking was made by mistake, since the idea was to stay in a hotel called about the same, ... Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66, motel very similar name, and with very good review, which is located few meters from them, and at least outwardly, also looked better.

The fact is that we stayed in this inn Rodway at route 66.

PROS: Location is on the main street and close to shopping and dining sites. I found a clean and comfortable, although it looked very outdated and old-thread that gives a somewhat seedy feeling. Free parking (as everywhere in Williams).

CONS. For what it is, it seems rather expensive. For a much lower price, it is better to stay in a Motel 6 not far from there, which in this case, it will be more or less the same. The air conditioning in the room was rather noisy and there were some other device also bothered a bit noisy at night.

TO SUM UP. Ok for one night if you can not find anything better.

------------------------------------------------------

Estuvimos alojados en este hotel para una noche previa a la visita del Gran Cañón.

La reserva se hizo por ERROR, ya que la idea era alojarse en un hotel que se llama casi igual,...Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66, motel de nombre muy similar, y con muy buena critica, que está ubicado a pocos metros de estos, y que al menos exteriormente, también tenía mejor aspecto.

El caso es que nos alojamos en este Rodway inn at route 66.

PROS: Ubicación está en la calle principal y cerca de sitios para comprar y comer. Me pareció un lugar limpio y cómodo, si bien tenía un aspecto bastante caduco y pasado de rosca que le da un ambientillo un tanto cutre. Aparcamiento gratis (como en todos sitios en Williams).

CONTRAS. Para lo que es, me parece bastante caro. Por un precio bastante inferior, mas vale alojarse en un Motel 6 del pueblo, que para el caso, será mas o menos lo mismo. El aire acondicionado de la habitación era bastante ruidoso y había algun otro aparato también ruidoso que molestó un poco durante la noche.

RESUMEN. Ok para una noche si no has podido encontrar nada mejor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lastmetalhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williams hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

It doesn't offers very much but the just to have a good stay. In addition the motel is in the main street near restaurants, shops, laundry...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRuFa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This pokey motel was the most expensive on our 5 week trip and one of the worst. As soon as we went into the room we were hit by the smell that was coming from a drain in the bathroom floor. It improved when we covered it with a wet towel but overall the bathroom felt dirty. There was an ancient gas wall heater with a noisey pilot light that worried me and although a non-smoking room, the ash tray fixed to the wall outside out door meant we had to take a deep breath and run the barrage of smokers corner when we went out. Breakfast was worse than poor. This motel is in the centre of this lovely town but then so are a good many others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JENKSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLodgeWilliams, Owner at American Regency Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2010
Yikes, what a terrible experience. However, this guest DID NOT stay at the Rodeway Inn & Suites, Downtowner Motel. There are several motels in Williams with similar names. We do not have gas wall heaters, pilot lights of any kind or drains in the middle of our floors. All our rooms have been completely remodeled and are very modern and comfortable. We are sorry for your bad experience and would love to have you stay with us on a future visit to Williams and the Grand Canyon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Our family stayed for a few nights while visiting Grand Canyon. Location superb. Facility showed aging (e.g., doors and windows ill-fitting). Daily maid service nice except daily vacuuming not done. Periodic deep cleaning never seemed to be done (e.g., wall in bathroom had smears, soiled napkins under bed). Beds uncomfortable and felt low-end.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zkatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Was passing through Williams for one night with the family on route to Grand Canyon - don't get this confused with Rodeway Inn downtown route 66 - I read up on this motel and read good comments -I think it was the wrong hotel. The room was clean enough - old and had been repainted - that didn't bother me - it was February and there was no heat - big draft at the bottom of the door - it was like sleeping outside - the next morning when I went to my car I could see other people with big heavy jackets on inside their room because they were so cold - got to the hotel late and needed to put our head down so we stayed - honestly it wasn't worth $20.00 a night never mind $54.00

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grizzly1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Check-in was ok, no surprises.
The value, I know it now, was not adequate to the rate paid. I guess all hotels in the area are living out of tourism, but all rates are quite high. Anyway this one was strange. Everything was looking like it was going to tear apart as soon as you touch it. But the room seemed to be clean. There was a fridge and microwave, as well as coffee maker, so that was a plus. However heating system was I think gas fired and hard to regulate. It was also very noisy, so had to turn it off at night, but then it became cold.
Speaking about the noise, tha't right, the trains are passing through the area and their wistles are quite loud, but I think it's the same in other motels too. We got the rooms above the reception, so just beside the road, so this was also quite noisy, due to the bikes coming through.
Breakfast was miserable and about 7AM, everything was gone.
We also found some vesp under the pillow. Internet connectino was quite ok.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank --Roman_PA--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Westerner Motel
Westerner Motel
#26 of 30 in Williams
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#21 of 30 in Williams
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Highlander Motel
Highlander Motel
#20 of 30 in Williams
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
9 Arizona Motor Hotel
9 Arizona Motor Hotel
#24 of 30 in Williams
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
M Star Route 66 Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Regency Inn

Property: American Regency Inn
Address: 334 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2606 (Formerly Grand Canyon Gateway Inn, Rodeway Inn at Route 66)
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your American Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing