We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Family Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Our family planned a surpirse 60th birthday trip for my husband with a trip to Williams, AZ. The main focus of the trip was to board the train to the Grand Canyon, but we also needed a place for all the family to stay. Most of our group had motorhomes, but a few did not. The Canyon Motel & RV Park was the perfect spot. Not too far from town, but far enough to enjoy the outdoor camping thrill. The RV spaces were nice, wide pull thru's so we did not have that tight cramped feel that you sometimes will get with bigger parks. It not only had RV spaces, but it also had rooms for those of us without motorhomes. You had your choice of a standard room, a refurbished railcar (which has three rooms for rent) or a caboose (there are two) to stay in. In our group there were a total of 25. We had seven of the RV spaces, one motel room and one railcar room. Out of the 25 of us there were seven children from the ages of 4 to 15. The children were able to stay busy by riding their bikes, using the play ground area of the park and walking the trails, while we adults could relax around our campsites. We all enjoyed the walk thru the upper part of the campground seeing the wood cravings and the pines. We appreciated all the work that has and is being done to make the area so comfortable and nice. We also took advantage of the indoor swimming pool. We are desert rats and do alot of dry camping so this was a wonderful change for us. Although we did not use the barbeque area with the fire pit, we thought it was a nicely added feature to this park. I thought the staff were wonderful, not only in helping us organize this party by getting our spaces together, but with the ease that they made our check-in. We had a wonderful stay and will return again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonniethetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 715 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

For the price, I would have expected a bit better. Yes it did have a certain nostalgic charm, but everything was a bit worn looking. Our room was clean, but the bed was hard, with a big belly in the middle. The patio furniture was two patched up lawn chairs with a old cable spool, which was falling apart from the bottom, for a table. There was an in room coffee maker, but if you wanted any more, you could buy it at the office for .75 per cup. No continental breakfast came with the room, a rarity these days, but they would sell you coffee, danish or a bowl of cereal. Try it once for the nostagia, then spend the same money for a better experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poco01x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This was the perfect location for our first family reunion. 23 of us traveled from the Los Angeles area and from southern AZ. Williams is located in the cooler climate of northern AZ and is the "Gateway to the Grand Canyon". The Canyon Motel offers a unique setting in that the rooms are actually old stone "cottages". There is plenty of space to spread out and enjoy the cool mountain setting. There is an indoor swimming pool and the "all purpose" recreation room (available for a fee) was a great place to meet for meals and meal preparation. The rooms are old but they are clean and the friendly staff is ready to assist. There is a playground available for the kids and the nearby forest is a playground in its self. We were able to watch some elk feed one evening.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFFREY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My partner loves technical stuff, so I was very happy to book this motel following the advice of our mutual friend. Actually, the piece of advice we received was to book the rail car, or caboose, room. However, when I gave a call to The Canyon Motel, I was informed that caboose lodging depended on the weather. When we arrived in mid-April, we were given a choice - the room that had been booked originally if spring was to be cold, or the caboose. We chose the caboose (which cost $4 dollars extra) for the first night - just to try it out. It was very cozy, but a bit too small for two persons, so we moved for the following two nights to a cabin or something like that. The location is very convenient, a 50-minute drive to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon, and Williams itself is a very nice town with an excellent restaurant at the local Holiday Inn - do try it out! Also, The Canyon Motel people are extremely nice and helpful in any possible way. Thank you for making our trip so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle_etrangere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Driving Hwy 40 can sometimes drain you but we found a place in the "gateway to the Grand Canyon" city of Williams, AZ....the old Route 66 vintage "Canyon Motel" (and now with an RV Park). A Pullman car with suites, two caboose with King Size suites and stone-faced bungaloo's too! They have a pool, barbeque-picnic area (adjacent), rec room and bath house, etc. Owner's Kevin and Shirley Young were great people.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankEdmonds_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We took our two teenage girls for a quick Easter Holiday since they were out of school. After the long drive we were greeted by the owners of The Canyon Motel. They were so welcoming, told us of all the local attractions, and set us up with a wonderful motel room that had been beautifully renovated. The hotel was built in the 1940's but the rooms we had still had the quaint feel of the old days with the rejuvenation of cleanliness and comfort. I was amazed as we took at peek at the old rail car and caboose that have also been renovated and turned into motel rooms. So cool. Spacious bathroom, clean and tricked out for that old time railroad feel. My kids loved it. The history of the area was detailed to us as the Young's talked about old route 66 and how Williams came to be. We absolutely loved The Canyon Motel.. We also met great visitors from Germany who had come back specifically to the motel from their stay in previous years! That said a lot that they would come back and bring their other family members to enjoy the hospitality of Kevin & Shirley Young and the Canyon Motel. I highly recommend staying a few days with them, enjoying the beautiful area, jetting down to the Grand Canyon, exploring the area, and being able to return to the comfort of the Canyon Motel... it was a most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayitsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed at the Canyon Motel while visiting the Grand Canyon over New Year's weekend. We would have liked to stay in a rail car, but as they're not winterized, we stayed in a king room in one of the flagstone cottages instead. Our room had charming decor and was very clean and cozy (but not cramped) with plenty of character to boot. The fridge, microwave and coffee maker came in handy (the previous reviewer who had to pay for coffee must not have taken advantage of this feature), and the dining table was very handy. My partner broke her arm at the Grand Canyon on the second day of our stay, so our checkout was delayed somewhat and the office staff was very gracious about allowing a later checkout time. Also, she was able to shower comfortably in the bathroom - even in a plaster splint with a garbage bag tied over it! The motel isn't in the very center of town, but it's just a short drive away and very convenient to I-40 and the road to the Grand Canyon. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
27.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
#23 of 30 in Williams
596 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Motel & RV Park

Address: 1900 East Rodeo Rd, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range: $62 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon Motel & RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Motel & RV Park is a remarkable 1940 Historic Route 66 property in the Pine Trees of the Kaibab National Forest. It has the Original eighteen (18) Flagstone Cottage type rooms as well as (2) two 1929 Train Car Caboose Suites and (3) three 1950 Pullman railcar rooms. In addition to these unique lodging selections, it has forty seven (47) full service RV spaces, seven (7) tent sites, a seasonal indoor heated pool, coin laundry, and a cool general store. It’s unique and different and definitely a one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Canyon Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Motel & Rv Park Hotel Williams
Canyon Motel And Rv Park
Canyon Motel Williams
Canyon Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing