We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canyon Motel... one of our favorites!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Williams
A TripAdvisor Member
Burbank, CA
11
Reviewed August 4, 2005

My wife and I completely love this place. The location is perfect and the owners are amazing. You almost feel like you are with family...
We plan on making this a yearly place to be for us.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 717 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2005

We chose Williams because we needed a quick jumping off point to travel to our unimproved ranch in Ashfork........never did we intend to enjoy ourselves so much! We not only found the accomodations clean and adequate, the atmosphere is friendly and very comfortable. For the price of a regular room, in any hotel/motel in the area, you will not find the "extras" like a fire pit, pic nic tables, outdoor grills, etc. that you find at the Canyon Lodge! And, as if those bonuses were not enough, we found owner/managers who were willing to take the time to share their stories and make us feel like they truly appreciated our business. Wow! And we only meant to make this a one time stop..........we've decided this will be our "home away from home" each and every time we are here to work on improving our future home site.....which we expect will be many times a year for many years from now! Congratulations Kevin and Shirley; you've succeeded in restoring a very special part of local history and you'v done it with class!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arizonatraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
218
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Summer Camp is a great description of the Canyon Motel. This is not a typical motor hotel, but lots of separate cabins, rail cars and cabooses in a campground like setting. They have a huge fire pit where marshmellows are roasted nightly. The rooms are not fancy but creatively decorated. Pride of ownership is evident. In-room refridgerators are very convenient. No phones however, but a pay phone is available on-site. This is a Mom and Pop operation (Shirley and Kevin) and they are obviously committed to making your Williams visit memorable. I wish we could have spent more time at the 'campground' but had a schedule to meet. Williams is a great little old west town with lots of character, nightly 'staged' gun-fights, and is a must-see for Route 66ers.

Stayed: July 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Maricopa, AZ
17
Reviewed July 16, 2005

My wife and I stumbled across the Canyon Motel over a year ago when we were looking for a place to host a family reunion. We met with the owners, Shirley and Kevin a few times before we decided to use the Canyon Motel for our reunion. Shirley and Kevin were extremely hospitable and were very quick to address the few minor problems encountered during the week.

In the owners own words, this is a "5 Rock Motel." Kevin and Shirley were gracious enough to accomodate a continental breakfast for 40 people for a week and the food definitely exceeded my expectations. We enjoyed the train room that we stayed in and it was clean and sufficiently large for the two of us and our newborn. We were also able to use the Flagstone patio, the BBQ grilles, and the pool house for several meals, a suprise baby shower, and game nights.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Israel
27
Reviewed July 6, 2005

Great service, owners are very welcoming, rooms are very nice, reasonable prices - overall a very good place to spend a few days with your loved ones!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tempe, AZ
12
Reviewed July 1, 2005

This is the place to go to if you want something a bit rustic and not a "cookie cutter" motel. All the amenities you want are here just in a setting that you can not find easily. With 30-50 ft between the three-plex buildings there is plenty of space on the grounds. Elk come to the stream on the property after sunset - you have to be quiet. Try that in your modern "cookie cutter".

Our extended family had FamFest 2005 there with 40 people ranging from 85 years to 9 weeks - my grandson! The motel is well located so you can do The Train about 3 miles away yet still do Meteor Crater which is about 70+ miles to the east. Kevin and Shirley were great in supporting and advising out group and would even take us back! My personal question to see if we did not harm the innkeepers.

As my daughter/lawyer said "It was like a summer camp for everyone.".

For something different I suggest "Black Bart's Saloon" in Flagstaff. The gunfights in Williams at dusk are a real treat.

July 4th weekend 2005. Happy Birthday to our FABULOUS country.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2005

Our family had the best 3.5 days at The Canyon Motel in Williams, Az. With the theme being trains and the railroad along Route 66 (several cars are actually made into guest rooms) the accomdations were outstanding. The owners, Kevin and Shirley Young were most hospitable and arranged tours and gave excellent advise on where to travel too in the area. With an outstanding Continental breakfast, bbqs on the grounds, a built in fire pit, swimming pool and the actual city withing a mile and a half we had a outstanding time. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. Pretty impressive to flatlanders like us. Definetely going back!!

2  Thank TheDemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
27.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
#23 of 30 in Williams
603 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Motel & RV Park

Address: 1900 East Rodeo Rd, Williams, AZ 86046
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range: $46 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon Motel & RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Motel & RV Park is a remarkable 1940 Historic Route 66 property in the Pine Trees of the Kaibab National Forest. It has the Original eighteen (18) Flagstone Cottage type rooms as well as (2) two 1929 Train Car Caboose Suites and (3) three 1950 Pullman railcar rooms. In addition to these unique lodging selections, it has forty seven (47) full service RV spaces, seven (7) tent sites, a seasonal indoor heated pool, coin laundry, and a cool general store. It’s unique and different and definitely a one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canyon Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Motel & Rv Park Hotel Williams
Canyon Motel And Rv Park
Canyon Motel Williams
Canyon Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing