We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveler rating
336
237
101
44
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
237
101
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rail car rv park the cottages indoor pool bunk beds fire pit in town northern arizona the wi fi coffee maker downtown williams road trip short drive caboose railcar flagstone motel
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 757 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in Railcar #3. Friends with an infant stayed in Railcar #2. All 3 Railcar rooms share a nice deck with comfortable seating (Railcar #1 is very small, queen bed only). #2 & #3 Each came with a queen bed, flat screen TV, refrigerator and clean bathrooms (floors appeared recently updated). #2 also has a nice sturdy futon while #3 also has a newer queen sleeper sofa. If traveling with a portable crib Railcar #3 has a slightly better layout. Also had friends staying in the small cottage type rooms very near the Railcar. It had a king bed and a twin sofa sleeper. Cleaning staff was attentive. We're already talking about doing the same next year.

Indoor pool area is ok. Patio type furniture for those not swimming. Continual ventilation in the poolroom would have been an added extra.

Room tip: Railcar #3 has a toilet room. The tub/shower is separate, the shower area is in the room by the total room but it can be made very private with room curtain usage Railcar #2 has fully enclosed bathroom.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 1930's train. I don't think it had been cleaned since they brought it!! There was a wasps nest on our door which the 'handyman' sprayed with insecticide when I complained and told us that they always nest on this door!!! We were expecting compact and bijou but not old and dirty which is what we got and the bed has to be the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in! All in all, I wouldn't even recommend this place to an avid train spotter it was awful!! And expensive!!!

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 68sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were in Train car #1. It was small and rather dark but had a shower and microwave and mini fridge. Towels were skimpy, free coffee service not good and the heated indoor pool was not warm enough for my husband's daily swim. Check in was fast and pleasant but overall, there is not much to recommend. It is in a noisy location, with the expected train noise and highway noise but there is also noise from the RV park, in our case, unattended barking dogs in a trailer. Fortunately did not bark all night.

The place is a little shabby and could use landscaping and a general tidy up: there was standing water in an adjacent creek teeming with mosquitos.

Price was not bad but probably too high at $86.00 for a location outside of town: there are several motels in the town that charge about the same and you don't have to drive to the restaurants. One pays for the experience of sleeping in a vintage train car: it had charm and I did not look at the vintage rooms. There is a small general store in the office area that is open until 10PM.

Room tip: I would try one of the vintage rooms furthest from the RV park.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joiemacadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked well in advance & therefor committed, as quirky (where else can you stay in an ex railroad car?) as expected but nothing really to recommend it although the staff we met were friendly enough although we had little contact for the period of our stay. Small very basic room, best description I can think of is adequate at best.
Perhaps it is classic you get what you pay for but I would much prefer to pay more for better.
Definitely too far away from the Grand Canyon to make it the ideal base - my fault there - stay in Valle or Tusayan.
In my humble opinion this is suffering the typical problem of countless small Motels where major investment is needed if they are to stay in business - being quirky itself isn't enough, neither is relying on non-returning clientele such as us.
On the plus side, Williams is a nice Route 66 town with some good eating places.

Room tip: All of the lodgings appear to be far enough away from the road for noise not to be an issue so can't really give any meaningful comment.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We (family of 4, 12/14 y/olds) were looking for a unique place to stay for a night on the way to the Grand Canyon, and we found it. We chose a caboose (No. 2), as it is not shared with any other guests. The caboose has its own area across the creek bed from the rest of the motel. It has a double bed in the front area when you enter, as well as mini fridge, microwave and small TV up on the wall. In the back there are three train beds - an upper and lower on one side, and an upper on the other side. You can see out the top windows from the upper beds, which are adult length, and there is a little black and white TV as well. The small bathroom is in between the front and back (you walk through the bathroom to go from front to back). It was clean, and the owners have done a good job putting as many amenities in a small space as possible. Of course, that leaves little room to move around. The office has a small store with sundries and souvenirs, and there is an indoor pool (we did not use it). The location is okay, a couple minutes outside 'downtown' Williams. We chose this spot because it is different and thought the kids would have fun with it - they did initially but the novelty wore off quickly. So that was probably a miscalculation on our part, as they certainly would have liked it more four or five years ago. So this is a difficult stay to rate. If the interior space was in a regular room, I'd give it a 2 or 3 rating. But the uniqueness of the caboose pushes the grade up. So this would be great for younger kids, but not so much for older ones. Btw, we were glad we spent a night in Williams. The gunfight show was fun (and free). And while the short main Rte. 66 drag doesn't look like much in the afternoon daylight, it's pretty cool when it gets dark and all the old neon signs come to life.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews