We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Benton, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming !!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here from reading Tripadvisor ... They have updated the rooms fully even to have enough outlets for all your smart phones to charge at once. Yes the rooms are "small" BUT they worked to keep the vintage feel. I would say IF you are with small children then no i.e. small room and no pool BUT any and all adults would enjoy. The lady that works the evening shift is a wonderful energetic helpful person!! Easy walk to most anything in Williams you would want to do.

Room Tip: 117 is on the corner .... awesome jacuzzi tub !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLTLRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    179
    46
    14
    7
See reviews for
125
232
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had wanted to stay closer to the Canyon entrance but everything was booked so we looked at Williams, about an hour away on the old route 66. We were surprised to fine a great motel and a charming town with some pretty tasty food options.

Beware: there are two Rodeway Inns. We saw the sign for the other one and went there first. Then we found the one ( ..& Suites Downtowner) we were really booked into. Phew. Thank heavens! This place has a faded "Rodeway Inn and Suites" written on the backside of the hotel if you are entering Williams from the East and a lit marquee sign saying "the Downtowner" on the front if your are driving in from the West. You have to sigh in across the street at the sister motel " The Lodge".

The room was fashionably decorated if a little too decorated and the bathroom was super modern with great towels etc... The bed was spacious and very comfortable and overall it was very quiet. I didn't hear the train at all and I usually hear everything.

They have a complimentary continental breakfast--underscore continental-- and it has just the right things to get you back on the road or fired up for a morning of hiking. It would be great if they offered peanut butter for their toast and waffle options though!!

Two downsides: First, the tap water tasted HEAVILY of chlorine so I suggest you don't fill your water bottles with it ,and second, the parking lot is TIGHT. We woke up in the morning to find that our Honda Fit was practically wedged in between two HUGE Dodge pickups and we had to see-saw in order to pull out of the space. Getting out of the lost past about 5 other large trucks was a pain too as they also took up space lengthwise. When we stopped for gas a few hours later we noticed a deep dent in the side of our car too. That was a real bummer.

William has great breakfast, lunch and dinner options and it's a great place for a short evening stroll. It also has a Safeway.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We loved this wee hotel - it was super clean, lovely bed and bathroom, and quirky enough to be interesting. We chose it from the reviews here, and weren't disappointed - until the trains started to come through! This motel is close to the railways, and the trains blast their horns several times on their way through the town. The first night it was just after midnight, around 4.30am, and again around 6.30am. As exhausted travellers who were also struggling a bit with the altitude, that information would have sent us off in another direction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Easy 1 hour drive to Grand Canyon, South Rim. Audrey, the Manager, very helpful suggesting good pizza restaurant 5 minutes walk from motel. Room good size {two queen beds} for two girlfriends and myself and clean bedding and towels, although bathroom small. Good for one night stay. Breakfast across the road was good, with waffles etc. Friendly, helpful staff at breakfast. Williams an interesting town to visit on Rte.66 with train going straight to Grand Canyon if you preferred not to use car. Many ecletic shops with memorabilia of the 60's to spend the time looking around.
Having stayed in Williams before at another motel, I would definitely recommend Rodeway for cleanliness and room size. Outside bench ideal for early morning coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bez9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at Rodeway. The good: quiet, within walking distance to the train, shopping, and restaurants, clean rooms. The not so good: the complimentary breakfast - just head down the street to a cute little diner for some local flavor, teeny, tiny rooms which is not a biggee as it is a renovated motel and we didn't mind the vintage feel, but a ginormous bed that completely dominated the space such that there is really no place to put our stuff or walk, but the thing that stands out is the indifferent staff and lack of hospitality that we encountered. We will try another place when we return to Williams.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross Ca.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This inn looked really great on the hotel's site so I booked a room for a one night stay on the way to the Grand Canyon. It's not like this inn was dirty or not well run. The rooms were clean with new fixtures and beds. The problem is that in fact this is still just an upgraded motel with some window dressing applied to the rooms. They were very small so I figured the photos had to be taken from outside the door to make the room look a LOT larger than it really was. The breakfast was not that good. I do not want to sound like a major complainer, but this property was not that great a value for $ 119.00. I guess that since it is very high up on the list in Williams in terms of ratings, the rest of the town must be pretty bad. The dinner down the block a ROD'S steakhouse was very good and a fun place to eat.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayDowntownerMgr, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your time in reviewing our property. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our desire in purchasing this property and completing a total renovation was to salvage a historic Route 66 motel and provide our guests with a totally modern experience within the rooms. While the exterior received some changes, the interior received extensive renovations. Many walls were moved and everything down to the studs was remodeled. However, because it was an older motel, we were limited in the size of the rooms. Even though the rooms are on the smaller size, the rooms are totally new with modern amenities and decor. This combined with our excellent location within walking distance to the shops and restaurants in the historic district are enjoyed by many of our guests. We are glad that you found the rooms to be clean and new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolah Valley, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed here on numerous occasions, driving from the southwest to the west coast. I am picky about where I stay but here, the staff all know me now and I have a room I particularly like and only once have I not been able to have it but they're always made sure it's a room that I'll like. You can't go wrong in Williams here at the Rodeway - kudos to everyone there!!!

Room Tip: They're all nice 'n quiet so you can't go wrong'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diverinnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Address: 201 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williams
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated. Flat screen TV's. Luxury linens. Located in the heart of Williams, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 Hotel Williams
Rodeway Inn And Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Rodeway Inn Williams
Williams Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing