We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planes of Fame Air Museum

Planes of Fame Air Museum
Ranked #7 of 36 things to do in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the intersection of Highways 180 & 64 at Valle-Williams Airport, south of south rim of Grand Canyon, the museum is open daily 9-5 except Thanksgiving and Christmas Day. Nearly three dozen warbirds and classic aircraft are on display including the Lockheed C-121A Constellation which was General Douglas MacArthur's personal VIP transport. For more information about the museum, the annual Warbird Fly-in in June or special membership programs, visit our website.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

If you're a fan of airplanes, you'll love this museum. If you're a fan of WARBIRDS, you'll go BANANAS! An amazing collection of old planes. A must-see for aviation buffs!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank katerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    56
    17
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good aeronatical history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Small museum staffed by a lovely couple who were very knowledgeable. Call in on your way to the Grand Canyon.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank knowhowtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun road side stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stopped here while visiting the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. We have been to the other Planes of Fame in Chino Ca a few years ago so we stopped here to see some more planes. This is a smaller version then Chino but it still was well worth it. The kids enjoyed looking at the planes and we were also lucky enough to see an owl sitting on it's nest with babies while we were there. The lady at the front was very friendly and full of information.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank gardenmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orosi, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great Air Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We found this great air museum on the way home from the Grand Canyon south rim on Highway 64, north of Williams. Outside in front is the C-121a Constellation used by General Douglas McArthur during WWII. Inside is a fantantic assortment of planes from WWII and pre-war avation all in grate shape. You will see P-38 lightings, BF-109 Messerschmitt, Navy Trojans, Douglas Skyraider, and a B-26 Invader as well as many other beautifuly restored planes. The staff is very frendly and offer coffee and snacks as well as clean bathrooms. The gift shop has great books and photos as well as avation patchs and pins. A great place for the whole family. AAA discount available.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fyreslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
394 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Amazing Planes and Cars - Museum Displays Are Lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

So we were driving to the Grand Canyon and we saw an old airplane on the side of the road advertising the museum. It was just before you see the big Fred Flintstone. My husband was interested but we were on our way to the canyon and we didn't actually see the museum. While we were up at the canyon he found a brochure for the museum so we decided to stop in on our way out of town.

We walked in and the front desk was unattended. It turns out the nice lady who works at the front also doubles as a janitor, she was in the back cleaning the bathroom. She was very sweet and said that we could go through the museum and then just pay her on the way out.

The museum has really cool stuff. One neat feature is that families and former airmen have donated their uniforms, flight suits, flight logs and other memorabilia that is on display.

It also features Japanese WWII fighter planes, German WWII fighter plane, many experimental air crafts, and even some classic cars. There were about 20-30 full size airplanes and many parts including instrument panels and engines.

My husband was over the moon to be able to be so close to the planes and all of the parts. I really liked the personal side that was on display with the mementos and there was also a display highlighting women pilots.

The displays could use a sprucing up. Not every display has information and some displays are just empty. There were random brooms laying around, it just needs a little TLC.

After we toured the museum we came out and paid for our admission and then also bought a neat t shirt. Admission is $6.50 for adults.

I would highly recommend this museum for anyone interested in history and/or aviation.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Columbus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planes of Fame Air Museum also viewed

 

Been to Planes of Fame Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing