We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to see Grand Canyon!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williams
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Canyon Railway RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great way to see Grand Canyon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Canyon Railway RV Park in Williams, AZ, for two nights. From there, we took the train up to the Rim of Grand Canyon. We boarded the train right by the park and had a beautiful 2.5 hour trip to the Rim, during which we were serenaded by a guitar-playing folk singer. We spent 3 hours at the Rim looking, eating at a great restaurant, and looking some more. Then we came back down to Williams on the train. Did I mention we were interrupted on the way back by a TRAIN ROBBERY? It was fun. The RV Park is very clean and has a great shower house with laundry area. They also have a big public pavilion with grills and picnic tables for campers' use. It's especially nice if you have pets as they have a gravel walkway around the perimeter; we don't, but other people's were no bother to us. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway RV Park, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    66
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
78
76
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here on our way to the Grand Canyon and on the way back. It is a very clean, level padded RV park. If you don't like the sound of trains, don't stay here. We love trains so it didn't bother us. They don't go by that often anyway. We loved the ability to walk to downtown Williams which is a historic Route 66 town. Great stores and restaurants. Upon registration we received a discount card for the attached hotel's restaurant. We went to happy hour at the hotel bar and took advantage of the park shuttle service. They pick you up at the RV park and take you to the hotel and back, of course. We are Good Sam members so received the discount at the RV park, and the price was very reasonable. We would stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LunchWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

SETTING:
This RV park is in Williams, AZ (the gateway to the Grand Canyon) a short distance from I-40. It is associated with the (Hotel, Restaurant and Station) complex that supports the passenger railroad to the Grand Canyon. It is very exciting being there when the passenger trains arrive—a nostalgia experience from yesteryear with bells and whistles!

QUALITY OF THIS FACILITY:
This park greatly surpassed my every expectation. There is nothing slip-shod about this park. The owners strive for and achieve excellence! This is a very clean, functional, and modern new park. If you like quality, aesthetics and cleanliness, then this could be the park for you. It was truly the park for me and I had a wonderful experience/stay there! And the buffet meals in their restaurant were excellent and reasonably priced!

AMMENITIES AND AESTHETICS:
The park has very clean bathrooms, showers, and a very nice heated indoor pool and jacuzzi (usable through all weather conditions), and an exercise room, The roads and individual RV sites are all paved supporting very clean camping. There is some adjacent Railway noise audible at this park at times, however, I slept very soundly and peacefully. I actually was very excited with all the fanfare when the passenger trains arrived related to the Grand Canyou excursions! And of course this facility also boasts a very large and modern buffet dining facility with reasonable prices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is very personable and helpful making the stay there incredibly enjoyable. They have a very large covered patio area to accommodate large groups and also an adjacent group fire pit. An Airstream Trailer rally was building up at the time I arrived. People with very nice and large RVs seem to choose this RV park. This park has no unpleasant surprises. They even have a kennel for those needing to leave “Fluffy” while they enjoy a train adventure to the Grand Canyon.

RECOMMENDED IMPROVEMENTS:
I can’t think of anything that the owners missed in creating this very nice and clean park. Everything is strictly first class. It is both a functional park with full hookups, and is an aesthetically pleasing park. I hope you find my review to be accurate and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here when going to see the Grand Canyon. Only were going to stay one night but stayed 5. Good place to base your exploration of the Grand Canyon

Used Passport America and was a real bargain.

Room Tip: Depending on the time of year afternoon sun can be tough. BEst to get a site facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PWSmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days in September. The check in was a breeze, they had our reservation ready and they were expecting us. The sites are paved with lava rock between them. Sites are long and accommodate longer rigs with slide outs well.
Yes, you are staying at a train resort, and the tracks are close, and trains do come by at different hours, so you hear them. But we did not find this a problem.
A special note about the dog kennels on site. They are new, roomy, and exceptionally clean. The employees at the kennel are exceptionally friendly, helpful, and loving to the dogs. We are particular where we keep our dogs, and I would leave them at this facility any time. You can leave the dogs overnight if you opt to take the train to the Canyon and stay over night.
I will stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: They also have a hotel on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here. Nice, clean park, paved sites. And they recycle--a huge plus in my book. We got there at a decent hour and had time to really relax and enjoy our evening. There is a hotel here as well and park guests get access keys to use the pool and fitness center which is nice, but, silly us, we didn't take advantage of either. We really just wanted a nice base to explore the Grand Canyon.

Adjacent to the store, where you check in, is a kennel. The ride to/from Grand Canyon was just long enough that I thought my dog would be happier in a place where she was free to go outside when she wanted. It only cost $23 for the day and that got us our choice of kennels, medium or large. Of course I went for the large so my baby didn't feel too cramped. They're very conscientious about caring for the animals--at check-in and even as you go to drop them off. They make you step on a mat and then a towel to dry your feet so you don't bring in any outside contaminants that may harm the animals. I took a tour before leaving my dog there and felt very comfortable leaving her.

The staff was very nice to us and our dog. Would definitely stay here again simply for the train. However, there's not really anything in the town itself. If you need more hustle and bustle, drive another 30 or so minutes to Flagstaff. The location was just right for our needs, though, and the price reflected the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stef2dotoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Rv Park is located in downtown Williams. Easy access to restaurants, shops, groceries. Your stay incl. a pass for the GC Hotel across the street to use the pool and other activities. The sites are level asphalt spaces and well maintained. Plenty of long pull thru sites. Our rig overall is almost 67' (website says 65' max length) - we had no problem fitting in our site. We pull an enclosed trailer w/ 2 Harleys and a samurai. They are mc friendly. Their prices beat 2 local KOA's - we have a KOA card but even with our discount both were much higher. The only con with the whole park would be there really are no grassy area's for dogs that I saw. But when your in the desert (even high desert) this is kind of the norm. I would stay at this park again - no hesitation. Met some really nice people as well....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway RV Park

Property: Grand Canyon Railway RV Park
Address: 601 W Franklin Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-1909
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williams
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Rv Park Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing