We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd think this was their first week in business......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williams
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Canyon Railway RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked here mainly because they have a dog kennel for the day we took the train ride to the Grand Canyon. While the park is convenient, clean, nicely laid out and attractive, we no sooner go there than the problem began. At no time during the reservation process was I told I had to have a shot record or health certificate for my two mini dachshunds. Also the price was outrageous. $25 for the first dog and $19 for the second dog. $44 a day!! is a bit much. However they agreed to call my vet and have a shot record faxed to them. When it arrived they called me and told me that my dogs were not medicated for "kennel cough". ?Hello? Now what???? Oh yes they have that med available for only $15 per dog. The costs would now be damned near as much as a train ticket to the Canyon! To say that we decided to pass on that would be an understatement. So our puppies stayed in the RV for 9 hours while we were on our day trip. (They were both good boys while we were gone). We could have stayed at another nice park for far less money had we known about the nonsense we were expected to go through with the dog kennel. Then after all that, the wifi is so slow in the park, a 2400baud modem from the 80s would be faster. Sheeesh! If we ever come to Williams, AZ again we will NOT stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Grand Canyon Railway’s RV Park and Pet Resort. In terms of the vaccination requirements at our Pet Resort, this is a standard request at a majority of Kennels across the country. The exact vaccinations we require are posted on our website, and all of our reservations agents are trained to mention the details when booking via telephone. As for our Wi-Fi, speeds do vary depending on the specifications of your wireless receiver and computer. Our Wi-Fi service is provided by Global Gossip which includes toll free, 24/7 tech support for all of our guests. We invite you to stop by again in the near future, and to please contact our Public Relations office so that we may personally assist you in making your reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 234 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great location for Grand Canyon trips and the train ride (which is fun). The park is new and very clean. Great access for big rigs; we had 40' class A RV. Laundry room immaculate, showers great, even had free shuttle to hotel with a good pool. Good for kids and reasonable rates. Trees are still young so not much shade, but a really nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbkhenders0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Like a big Walmart parking lot without the shopping carts. Nice pull through lots for the big rigs. Has a shuttle to the train depot if you don't want to walk. No shade. No view. No ambiance or character (but it is an RV park). The people were the hilight. Beware, the trains have to sound their horns in the middle of the night--a nice touch for insomniacs. Plan on arriving late afternoon, use nice laundry facility and minimize expectations. Great if you are planning to use railway to canyon and need to park RV for the day or night!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankieWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here specifically because we were taking the Grand Canyon Railroad. The staff were helpful and very friendly. The campground was pristine and the bathrooms clean. The view isn't much but we stayed here for a specific reason. The main part of town is within easy walking distant. They also have a free shuttle service within the hotel/RV grounds. The train station is also very easy to walk to also. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

On our way home from Texas, we stayed at the Grand Canyon Railway RV Park. We'd stayed there before on a visit to the Grand Canyon. Park is clean and staff is friendly and very helpful. No shade trees, so our patio area was hot in the afternoon. But still a great RV park and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfor2and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our first campground of our first RV experience. We have two young children and chose this park as we were riding the train. Grounds were very clean and quiet. (although a freight train came thru town very early on sunday morning). Shower and toilet facilities were very nice and clean. Camp store has the very basics.

The main hotel, of which the park is associated, is a bit of a walk. Be prepared for that. Breakfast buffet was good! We walked to dinner in Williams.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank JeromeSied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised as to how this park is efficiently managed. With it's simple check-in, friendly front desk person, and perfect location, the rv park was the perfect place for our "base camp". After an all-nighter trekking down and up the Grand Canyon, we had a quiet place to rest our weary 50+ year old bones. Definitely return here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brake4moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#3 of 30 in Williams
825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#10 of 30 in Williams
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Grand Canyon / Williams KOA
28.1 mi away
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
#23 of 30 in Williams
604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway RV Park

Address: 601 W Franklin Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-1909
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Williams
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Rv Park Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing