We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY, BUT”
Review of Grand Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2013

nice friendly people, quirky hotel rooms. be there about 2:45p.m. or so when they re-open the door for checkin, to get first choice of the room you want. they give you a list of available rooms in your classification, you then go upstairs and look at the rooms on your list and pick the one you want. stay back from route 66, and the café/bar noises will be less, if you want that stay on the front of the building. there are rooms with no windows, if you like. the mistake I made was picking a room on the side street [16] which could be connected to the room next door. when there was somebody in that room, you could hear every word they said. the second night ruined my stay, as I had to get up early for a 500 mile drive and the noise ran until close to 1a.m. there is really no excuse for having one old panel door as the only barrier, between rooms.

Room Tip: be careful of the room you select, if you aren't a nite owl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 458 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were very excited to try something different than the chain hotels. The online photos seemed to fit the bill. Although the history is amazing, the property itself appeared run down and poorly maintained. We stayed in a suite next door, which was a bit surprising, as we thought it was in the main building. The the entry was a hodge-podge of furniture, most of which was old and tired. The room itself was clean and had much potential, but the detail work and finish was just awful. And sadly, the bathroom was worse. Mis-matched colors, and very sub-standard construction/maintenance were evident throughout. The shower floor actually felt unsafe. The fact that the personnel were very friendly and helpful does not in any way detract from the poor overall condition of the property. A thorough face lift would restore the charm to this once proud property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collegetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bianca V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here with friends from Germany while visiting the Grand Canyon. It it a charming, " funky" hotel right on famous Route 66. Williams was actually fun to walk around. The Grand Canyon railroad is right down the street.
The hotel is simple yet very functional. We had a room with private bath. There's free parking out back, and a living room with coffee, Internet, and a refrigerator to store food and drinks. The hosts are both pleasant and interesting, and they get a lot of foreign visitors.
One caution if appropriate - there's no elevator, but that didn't cause us a problem.
We'd highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a unique experience and you have a spirit of adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWandererYeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is unbelievably 'homey', each room has a different theme (we got Giraffe theme :)), and is extremely comfortable. Nicest hotel staff I have ever come across (especially at the front desk!) VERY accommodating for all nationalities. Also, very interesting and a lot of history behind it. Great prices!!!

Room Tip: You will have a choice of rooms (if there are enough available). So choose one that is applicable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! The rooms all have different themes and you are given a choice of rooms on arrival.
The owners are absolutely lovely and very friendly.
They have flags on reception of all the nationalities staying at the hotel - which is a lovely touch.
The rooms are small but very clean and definitely comfortable, we truly had a lovely time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really wanted to like this hotel - it's unusual and looks the part but we had a terrible night's sleep.

The lobby looks great, you can grab a drink and watch the world go by on Route 66. The rooms however, although quirky, are not up to scratch and small. The bed we had in our room wasn't even the size of a UK double bed, so one of us had to sleep on the floor. The place is noisy, we could hear the people next door talking very clearly and the A/C unit was next to the head of the bed. This place has the feel of a hostel rather than a hotel.

We made the mistake of booking two nights in advance. On the second night I explained the problem with the room and asked for an extra pillow. I was told there were no extra pillows as they were fully booked! The gentleman on the desk was very rude and couldn't care less.

If you are using Williams as a base for the Grand Canyon then avoid this place, you don't want to be walking round bleary eyed after a rubbish night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Hotel

Address: 145 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: $36 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing