We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”
Review of Grand Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2013

After staying in a series of motels, it was refreshing to stay somewhere with character. The rooms are all different, furnished with antiques and very welcoming. In the centre of town, so convenient but a little noisy. Staff very friendly. Only downside for me was having to share a bathroom, but the bathrooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room, if you think the noise will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 467 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a charming authentic hotel from the earliest days of Williams and of the Arizona frontier. As such, it has all of the benefits (and deficits) of such a lodging, so if you can't live without the features of a Comfort Inn or similar generic motel-chain, this place is not for you. However, IF you appreciate the character of a 140 year old building that has witnessed the frontier period, the turn-of-the-century, and the joint births of the automobile and the highway (including Route 66, which ran right by the front door!), THEN you will ENJOY staying here.

The rooms are clean, and most have bathrooms; the couple who run the hotel are friendly and helpful; each room has a separate 'theme'; the hotel's location is exactly in the center of town, and probably not more than 4 minutes away from the dozen or so in-town restaurants. Excellent brewed coffee is served each morning, and small bottles of beer and wine are available 24 hours. The large lobby on the first floor has two areas--the front room has couches, and a view out the window to the street (Route 66), and the back room has more couches, a TV, and a 'public' refrigerator. Wi-Fi is free, but is problematical at some times of the day (By the way, the signal is strong in the nice Thai restaurant around the corner!).

Problems? This is an old hotel, as mentioned, so you need to be prepared to put up with: no in-room TVs; small rooms with smallish beds in most of the rooms—see the rooms first before selecting, or contact the hotel in advance to explain your needs; no air-conditioning (but not generally needed in the cool Williams summer evenings); lack of closets, hangers, or dressers in nearly all of the rooms that we saw.

In short, this hotel is an authentic (positive) experience that you will remember for the rest of your life, long after the memory of a generic hotel/motel fades away. However, if you must have air-conditioning, king-sized beds and king-sized furniture, large closets, large deluxe bathrooms, free breakfasts, no-stair climbing (all rooms in the main hotel are on the 2nd floor), and everything NEW, then this hotel is NOT for you--stay away!

But if you are a connoisseur (or want to be one), and treasure proud old buildings with character and history, or if you appreciate staying for a reasonable price at a nice place, in a great location in an interesting little town, then by all means come to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front (on the main street, formerly Route 66) have more of a view--of street activities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShadowOfBucephalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great historic building with a both genteel and rustic character. Great location in the center of town on the historic main street (route 66). The front rooms, which face the street, can be a bit noisy on weekends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a road trip
Good points - Perfect location in Williams and for local sightseeing, its the oldest hotel in williams so you get a bit of history, welcoming staff, clean and tidy, ceiling fan did the job in warm weather
Not so good bits - The walls are thin and the trains are noisy through the night - the hotel could do with free earplugs in the rooms.
Loved Williams, its great place!

Room Tip: The Blue room has an en suite with a shower, and great views of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have been here last summer, it was our honey moon or something like that. we didn't really plan anything that day and we end up going to LV and get married, so we booked the hotel in last minute and we arrived there very late.
The owner she was waiting for us and we got a very warm welcome at the hotel. The location is perfect when you have to go to visit the Grand Canyon.
I wish to come back here sometime soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonTesoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago and came back again - I think that's about the highest recommendation that I can give a place. We had a nice room with a queen bed and a shower. The desk staff helped us take our bags upstairs.
The downstairs lounge and shared fridge was convenient. I loved talking with the international guests helping them figure out where their next stop should be. I chatted with folks from London, Switzerland, Sweden and Kansas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sffan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

While visiting the Grand Canyon we spent two nights in this very quaint, well appointed old hotel. In fact it's the oldest hotel in Williams and has lots of history. We stayed in the Carriage House, a separate building located behind the original hotel. We had a nice king suite with a fireplace and a big new Jacuzzi tub for two in the bathroom. The place was spotlessly clean and cheerful, with a king sized bed and a futon. New flat screen TV and DVD player. The building also has a Queen suite but there's a common area between the rooms so we weren't aware of our neighbors. Very, very quiet and peaceful off the main drag of Williams. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent value for the price, I didn't want to leave! Only drawback was that there were no proper window coverings, and the light came in too early and woke us up. If they added blackout drapes it would be perfect, but if you don't mind AM sun you'll be okay.

Room Tip: Stay in the quiet, private "Carriage House" as opposed to the more communal main hotel if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisavann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
1.1 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#10 of 30 in Williams
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Hotel

Address: 145 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: $81 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing